We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably not again”
Review of Sizzler

Sizzler
Ranked #143 of 306 Restaurants in Toowoomba
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Probably not again”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Having to order our meals at the counter on entry really threw us off balance, granted had we known then that's ok but none of the 4 of us did. We all thought it was expensive and ordinary considering what else is on offer. Pleasing however to say that the Staff we very friendly and helpful. Probably will not return, ordinary would best describe Sizzler here. Perhaps more geared to Birthday parties.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodFoodTaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    13
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Once a beauty, steadily declining”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We always avoided Sizzlers ... used to refer to it as "the feedlot" due to the long lines watching those inside, while wistfully awaiting their turn to eat at busy times. Curious how folks could regard this as an entertaining night out!!

Now that we have kiddies we have made a bit of a return over the past two years, with our favourites being lunch and the Sunday brekkie. Started off well, but the decline is almost palpable.

They used to change their salads regularly, and the offerings were fresh and crisp ... now sadly the same old stuff on the menu, and limp and regularly flavourless.

We last ate there 10 days ago for brekkie, and one of our youngsters handed me a slice of fresh pineapple which was completely inedible and devoid of any flavour whatsoever- tasted as if it had been frozen. Never struck tasteless pineapple before. Watermelon similar. First time in my life (age 50) that I had ever thrown "fresh" fruit away!! Good one Sizzlers!!

Lots of empty containers ... many of which simply stayed empty. Surrounded by obese customers ... all coming back with plates piled high with bacon and potato gems .... awful surroundings for health conscious families. Who on earth would advocate having SOFT DRINK available as an option at BREAKFAST??!!

They always used to give you a little bowl of mints after the meal ... no more.

Sizzler gets kudos for having pricing according to the ages of children - not often seen these days. But loses points for pretending to give a damn about what you think. You are encouraged (via an offer of $5 off your next meal) to give feedback. We have done this quite a few times, and in virtually every feedback we have mentioned the foreign butter they steadfastly persist in stocking (product of Denmark).

Foreign butter ... in Australia where we make the best in the world!!! PLEASE!!!

Anyway I have challenged them to ring/e'mail us to advise when they will change to Aussie butter ... and also requesting country of origin of all of their food lines ... all totally ignored. They probably don't even read the feedback.

Sizzler is slowly losing us ... shame - good concept. Slowly burning out!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meawls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun family get-together”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Four generations of the family were meeting for lunch, so we settled on Sizzler and it turned out an inspired choice. The under 3s are free, seniors get a discount on food and non-alcoholic drinks are part of the salad bar, so it needn't be expensive. The cheese bread, potato skins and desserts are as good as ever, while the salad bar had some new offerings since we last visited. Our wait staff were friendly and efficient, even taking family snaps, and they didn't seem to mind the mess that three little ones can make. Thank you for making our reunion pleasant and hassle-free.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolJ436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This would be my last preference for eating out. I would choose basic pub food over here. It has no atmosphere and the food is basic at best and overpriced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoobylooTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best and only time to grab lunch at sizzler Toowomba is 11am when they open”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Found is fresh, pick of the restaurant tables and friendly welcome guaranteed at 11am by 12pm - car park is full, tables available is limited and service is fast to get you through and slow once seated.... So for a great experience plan an early lunch

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Knuddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sizzler also viewed

Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Been to Sizzler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing