We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic piece of Toowomba History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Toowoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic piece of Toowomba History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

An authentic piece of Toowoomba history. Beautifully restored and maintained house and rooms with a real sense of history. An eye for detail meant that wherever the eye was cast, it was happy. Yummy breakfast - the slow cooked porridge was a real treat even in summer.

Room Tip: We chose the suite #1 (Emperor) which as at the front of the house and therefore there was slight tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wello09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    52
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
48
124
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife has always wanted to stay in Vacy Hall so on our recent trip to Toowoomba instead of staying with relatives we deceided to stay at the Vacy Hall Historic Guesthouse. The owners were very pleasant. There was lots of parking areas for the cars. The place has a lot of history, which can be found out in the guests room information section, and was once a bording house but now has less rooms which are done up well for the peroid of the original residence. The room we stayed in was pleasant apart from the pillow, but I found the bed was nice and comfortable to sleep in. The ensuite was adequate albiet a tad small. It was nice getting a light breakfast on the verandah and reading the papers afterwards prior to what was a dreadfully slow trip back to Brisbane due to the current massive road works. We would stay here again as we found the place very relaxing and quiet.

Room Tip: get an ensuite with your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here on business in August 2013 and found it a pleasant, restful place to stay. The property is quite unique (at least for the places I've stayed in) in that the individual guest rooms are inside an old country manor. The furnishings in the rooms are all period, even down to the brass bed, which was surprisingly comfortable. The bathroom is a little small, but completely functional for an overnight stay. My room opened out onto the verandah, and it was there in the morning sun that I was able to enjoy breakfast in the peace and quiet of Toowoomba. Vacy Hall is very close to the centre of Toowoomba, but set back far enough from the road that you don't notice any noise or traffic. More than happy to recommend Vacy Hall as a place to stay and hope to be back some time.

Room Tip: Choose to have breakfast on the verandah for a pleasant start to the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I specifically booked Vacy Hall for a romantic weekend away during Toowoomba's flower festival. It did live up to my expectations. I requested the room I wanted (info on their website) and got exactly that. It was a beautiful old Victorian style room with lace, 4 poster bed, fireplace and all the comforts you needed. It is obviously a very old home with creaking floor boards and a rich history. Everyone else that was staying there were nice and quiet thankfully as it is a b&b style accomm so easy to hear others in the hallways etc.
The fireplace was all set and ready to be lit (which we did) and curling up on the soft comfy bed with the fire crackling and watching a movie on the tv was really lovely. We didn't actually spend a lot of time there as there was too many gorgeous flowers and garden to go and see but next time I'd like to stay there more than one night so I have time to read and take in all the history that Vacy Hall has to offer.
Very helpful and friendly staff. We didn't eat here so can't comment on food. However on my experiences with eating out in Toowoomba I would definitely try the food at Vacy Hall as I have had quiet a few bad experiences with culinary 'not-so-delights' in Toowoomba.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Lavender and Lace' room. It is a queen ensuite room right on the corner o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiiFii84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My pet hate is when you order a $30 steak and your told after it arrives its another $3 for salad and $3 for sauce, Vacy hall is in the same league, as advertised $155 for room with fire place and not until we arrived at the room did we read an additional $25 a night for " firewood and cost of chimney sweep] if you want a fire, "chimney sweep" ????? . Try including in your advertising you intend charging for the fire place use, don't hide the fact.
Overall nothing outstanding with Vacy Hall, over a 5 day trip in 5 different accommodation houses the other 4 were less in cost and far better value for money. we did not stay for breakfast after reading continental breakfast inclusions, suggest management study up on what constitutes "continental breakfast" toast, juice and coffee falls far short.
After reading other reviews and the response from owner it appears making excuses is more important that correcting visitors complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trapper97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamAlfred, Owner at Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Trapper97

Thank you for your feedback.

The fireplace policy is displayed on our website as part of the introduction in the ‘Rooms’ section however in the light of your comments I will review the copy for specific rooms to best ensure that potential guests factor the fire usage charge into their considerations when making a selection.

Your description of the complimentary continental breakfast (included as part of your mid-week stay) and which you chose not to avail yourself of thereby foregoing the opportunity to make a first-hand assessment, does not do it justice. Semantics aside, had you had that experience you would be aware that far from "just coffee, toast and juice", the breakfast on offer included a delicious homemade muesli with generous amounts of macadamias, cranberries, dates and pepitas; an equally substantial porridge soaked overnight and slow-cooked for over an hour; as well as a selection that includes breads, cereals and croissants served with home-made jams, a choice of juices, whole leaf teas and freshly brewed coffee.

Best wishes
Graham Higgins
Resident Host and Director - Vacy Hall Pty Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 nights at Vacey hall and both wish we could have to stayed longer. We loved the old world charm and found the staff to be amazingly helpful and friendly. The rooms were presented beautifully and the verandah with its may cosy spots to enjoy a cup of tea or glass of wine are something you don't often find when travelling. We also enjoyed a full breakfast with yummy home made holandaise sauce that was delivered to the table right outside our room. We are just looking for another reason to return to Toowoomba so we can visit vacey hall again. Thank you to all the staff and the owner for a truly enjoyable experiance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyblacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We hired the whole of vacy hall for a wedding our family and friends stayed. it was a great time every one loved the place.If you want to take yourself back in time then this is the place for you.The staff are very friendly and if you like a history lesson they will tell you all about the house.Just letting you no at night it is a little bit spooky.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GHIRALDML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#6 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Platinum International
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tuscany on Tor Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Toowoomba
Quest Toowoomba
#1 of 20 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 135 Russell St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia (Formerly Vacy Hall Historic Guesthouse)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacy Hall is like a time capsule that offers guests the opportunity to step back in time to a space where things were slower and less complicated, people had more time for each other and the world was more gracious. Built as a wedding present for the daughter of a wealthy squatter and pastoralist in the 19th century, Vacy Hall now provides travellers with a romantic experience reminiscent of the glory days of the 'squattocracy' with the convenience of a CBD boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing