We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful step back in time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Toowoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 nights at Vacey hall and both wish we could have to stayed longer. We loved the old world charm and found the staff to be amazingly helpful and friendly. The rooms were presented beautifully and the verandah with its may cosy spots to enjoy a cup of tea or glass of wine are something you don't often find when travelling. We also enjoyed a full breakfast with yummy home made holandaise sauce that was delivered to the table right outside our room. We are just looking for another reason to return to Toowoomba so we can visit vacey hall again. Thank you to all the staff and the owner for a truly enjoyable experiance.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyblacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 287 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We hired the whole of vacy hall for a wedding our family and friends stayed. it was a great time every one loved the place.If you want to take yourself back in time then this is the place for you.The staff are very friendly and if you like a history lesson they will tell you all about the house.Just letting you no at night it is a little bit spooky.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHIRALDML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you're looking for a standard modern beige motel/hotel keep walking; nothing to see here.
For everyone else - Wow! Do yourself a favour and stay here. it's truly unique with a wonderful sense of time/place and loverly people.
I woke up this morning (after a wonderfully comfortable night's sleep), opened my window and walked out onto the verandah to have a loverly breakfast. Where else can you do that?

Basically it's quite different to the normal but thank goodness.

Room Tip: I specifically picked a room without an ensuite (my private bathroom was across the corridor). So t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Podfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The accommodation was lovely and first class. The breakfast that was included was really nice and presented first class.

The king size bed was the best bed I have ever slept in.

The only negative I have has already been written and that is for the price the fire place should be included. I know insurance is expensive but that should be taken into the price that we paid to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Graham, our very helpful and happy owner of the establishment greeted us in the car park and from the first moment we felt very much at ease. He was helpful without being intruding, and incredibly accommodating to our very large group.

We had 7 couples staying to celebrate our 15th anniversary in business and to say that we felt privileged to stay in such a magnificent home is an understatement.

All 14 people that stayed enjoyed the atmosphere, the open fires (and yes there is an additional charge of $25 for this but we were happy to pay it), the romance of the house and the wonderful breakfast served in the morning. All round - highly recommended. We will be back for another romantic evening. Barry, Janette and all the GCI personnel.

Room Tip: We had 7 of the rooms and all 7 were beautiful and all individually themed. We had the main king ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janettebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Vacy Hall is one of the finest properties I have visited. The staff, the breakfast, the surroundings absolutely first class. The property has been lovingly restored to it's former glory with great attention to detail. The rooms were warm and spacious, with adequate ensuites or full bathrooms. The fresh flowers throughout the house added a lovely touch. As soon as one entered the property it seemed to envelop you in it's ambience and it was akin to stepping back in time. The owner of the property was amiable and took time to chat and happily enlighten us to the history of the house. I loved it and felt very much at home. The property is within walking distance of the town centre and restaurants and even though it was very cold outside we still managed to enjoy brekkie on the veranda. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The suites have a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touristdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved the old world charm of Vacy Hall and enjoyed the stay in the large and lovely twin suite. However, a number of things detracted from this. Firstly, we decided to make ourselves a coffee shortly after arriving but found that both coffee mugs were filthy with dried on granules. Although Graham apologised and brought us new mugs, it wasn't a good first impression. Having to pay extra for the biscuits that are provided we thought was a bit skimpy for an up market B&B.

The suite was fairly expensive at $220 per night not including breakfast, but it was advertised as being large with a nice fire place so we thought we would go for it. It was a bit of a shock to find that to use the fire we had to pay an additional $25. We haven't seen this before and thought that if a B&B advertised as having a fire place, it would be included in the rate.

Overall Vacy Hall has a lot of atmosphere and charm, but it is not value for money.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamAlfred, Owner at Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear James

I am sorry that you did not think your stay represented value for money.

Regrettably an historic building with a Heritage Listing such as ours is a very expensive establishment to maintain and it is an economic really that those costs must be re-couped in the tariff. The fireplace is a perfect illustration. This convenience imposes a levy of inordinate proportions on our insurance premium. We think it fairer that those who enjoy the benefit of a crackling fire make a contribution rather than increase our rates across the board to compensate or the alternative is to prohibit the use of the fireplace and deny our guests this luxury. The $25 contribution is actually absorbed just in the cleaning and re-stocking the fire-place after use.

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologise for the state of the coffee mug, hot chocolate can be stubborn to remove, and we will be more vigilant in future about checking for this when the mugs are removed from the dishwasher.

Best wishes
Graham Higgins
Resident Host and Director - Vacy Hall Pty Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Tuscany On Tor Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
MAS Country Platinum International
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 43 in Toowoomba
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Potters Boutique Hotel Toowoomba
0.7 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel

Address: 135 Russell St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia (Formerly Vacy Hall Historic Guesthouse)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Toowoomba
Price Range: $110 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With historical authenticity and soul, Vacy Hall is a small and charming hotel with beautifully decorated rooms and a delightful collection of artworks. Set in over an acre of exquisite gardens with many large old trees, Vacy Hall has a fabulous quiet inner city location, close to major retail outlets, traditional pubs, restaurants, quirky cafes, and antique and art galleries. For the last 5 years Tripadvisor has awarded Vacy Hall an Annual Certificate of Excellence as one of the best places to stay in Toowoomba. Come and see why Vacy Hall is regarded as one of Australia's great historic hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing