We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Toowoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We hired the whole of vacy hall for a wedding our family and friends stayed. it was a great time every one loved the place.If you want to take yourself back in time then this is the place for you.The staff are very friendly and if you like a history lesson they will tell you all about the house.Just letting you no at night it is a little bit spooky.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GHIRALDML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    52
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
48
124
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you're looking for a standard modern beige motel/hotel keep walking; nothing to see here.
For everyone else - Wow! Do yourself a favour and stay here. it's truly unique with a wonderful sense of time/place and loverly people.
I woke up this morning (after a wonderfully comfortable night's sleep), opened my window and walked out onto the verandah to have a loverly breakfast. Where else can you do that?

Basically it's quite different to the normal but thank goodness.

Room Tip: I specifically picked a room without an ensuite (my private bathroom was across the corridor). So t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Podfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The accommodation was lovely and first class. The breakfast that was included was really nice and presented first class.

The king size bed was the best bed I have ever slept in.

The only negative I have has already been written and that is for the price the fire place should be included. I know insurance is expensive but that should be taken into the price that we paid to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Graham, our very helpful and happy owner of the establishment greeted us in the car park and from the first moment we felt very much at ease. He was helpful without being intruding, and incredibly accommodating to our very large group.

We had 7 couples staying to celebrate our 15th anniversary in business and to say that we felt privileged to stay in such a magnificent home is an understatement.

All 14 people that stayed enjoyed the atmosphere, the open fires (and yes there is an additional charge of $25 for this but we were happy to pay it), the romance of the house and the wonderful breakfast served in the morning. All round - highly recommended. We will be back for another romantic evening. Barry, Janette and all the GCI personnel.

Room Tip: We had 7 of the rooms and all 7 were beautiful and all individually themed. We had the main king ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janettebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Touristdreamer
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Vacy Hall is one of the finest properties I have visited. The staff, the breakfast, the surroundings absolutely first class. The property has been lovingly restored to it's former glory with great attention to detail. The rooms were warm and spacious, with adequate ensuites or full bathrooms. The fresh flowers throughout the house added a lovely touch. As soon as one entered the property it seemed to envelop you in it's ambience and it was akin to stepping back in time. The owner of the property was amiable and took time to chat and happily enlighten us to the history of the house. I loved it and felt very much at home. The property is within walking distance of the town centre and restaurants and even though it was very cold outside we still managed to enjoy brekkie on the veranda. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The suites have a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Touristdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We loved the old world charm of Vacy Hall and enjoyed the stay in the large and lovely twin suite. However, a number of things detracted from this. Firstly, we decided to make ourselves a coffee shortly after arriving but found that both coffee mugs were filthy with dried on granules. Although Graham apologised and brought us new mugs, it wasn't a good first impression. Having to pay extra for the biscuits that are provided we thought was a bit skimpy for an up market B&B.

The suite was fairly expensive at $220 per night not including breakfast, but it was advertised as being large with a nice fire place so we thought we would go for it. It was a bit of a shock to find that to use the fire we had to pay an additional $25. We haven't seen this before and thought that if a B&B advertised as having a fire place, it would be included in the rate.

Overall Vacy Hall has a lot of atmosphere and charm, but it is not value for money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamAlfred, Owner at Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear James

I am sorry that you did not think your stay represented value for money.

Regrettably an historic building with a Heritage Listing such as ours is a very expensive establishment to maintain and it is an economic really that those costs must be re-couped in the tariff. The fireplace is a perfect illustration. This convenience imposes a levy of inordinate proportions on our insurance premium. We think it fairer that those who enjoy the benefit of a crackling fire make a contribution rather than increase our rates across the board to compensate or the alternative is to prohibit the use of the fireplace and deny our guests this luxury. The $25 contribution is actually absorbed just in the cleaning and re-stocking the fire-place after use.

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologise for the state of the coffee mug, hot chocolate can be stubborn to remove, and we will be more vigilant in future about checking for this when the mugs are removed from the dishwasher.

Best wishes
Graham Higgins
Resident Host and Director - Vacy Hall Pty Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here on the 28th June. We specifically booked it because of the fire place. When we walked into our room the first thing we noticed was the placard saying there's a charge to use the fire place. There was an extra fee for our son to sleep in the bed in the single bed in the room. And the breakfast wasn't included in the hefty price (we booked a Large Luxury Emperor Suite for $245 + $38 for the extra bed). To be perfectly honest I think this is very overpriced for what you get; when I booked I must say I assumed breakfast was included as I my search was for a B&B in Toowoomba. The shower lacked pressure and the bathroom was freezing - a miserable experience, showering in the cold. The wall paper was peeling off the walls in the bathroom and was cracked down one side of the wall in the room.
Graham, the host, did comp the fire place fee when we brought this up with him. But otherwise I found this guesthouse a bit overpriced. I found all the extra charges a bit frustrating - definitely took away the joy of a weekend away.
On the plus side, the entry into the house is beautiful. There's a swing set for kids to play on in the garden. There's nice swing seats on the balcony to sit and enjoy the gardens. The restaurant oppisite, Gipps, does nice food (also expensive $40+ mains) but was delicious.
I thought Toowoomba was a bit less expensive (being out in the country) and when I was booking a $250-$300 room - I was expecting more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fruit_tingle_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamAlfred, Owner at Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Fruit_Tingle_82,

I am sorry if your expectations were not met during your stay.

Vacy Hall is an historic property with a Heritage Listing and like many a grand old lady is prone to cracks and the need for constant maintenance which because of her great age is a lot more costly than that of her modern counterparts. What might be perceived by some as expensive is appreciated by others as the economic reality of being able to share in the beauty and the grandeur of a glorious past.

Graham Higgins
Resident Host and Director - Vacy Hall Pty Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#6 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Platinum International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tuscany on Tor Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
Quest Toowoomba
Quest Toowoomba
#1 of 20 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 135 Russell St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia (Formerly Vacy Hall Historic Guesthouse)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacy Hall is like a time capsule that offers guests the opportunity to step back in time to a space where things were slower and less complicated, people had more time for each other and the world was more gracious. Built as a wedding present for the daughter of a wealthy squatter and pastoralist in the 19th century, Vacy Hall now provides travellers with a romantic experience reminiscent of the glory days of the 'squattocracy' with the convenience of a CBD boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing