We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai food fan”

Thai Royal Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 309 Restaurants in Toowoomba
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Thai Royal is an authentic, family owned Thai restaurant in Toowoomba, Queensland.The business has been established for over 10 years and has become a favorite haunt for Toowoomba diners craving traditional Thai food.All of our dishes are freshly prepared from scratch by our experienced chefs with the greatest of care and attention to detail. Our menu offers a range of dishes to suit all tastes and preferences.The superior quality and flavor our the food we serve is no coincidence - Our chef, who is an owner of the business, was one of the first Thai chefs in Brisbane. He has over 30 years experience as a chef - 10 years in Thailand and 22 years in Australia.The restaurant is located at Southtown Shopping Centre, on South St at the corner of Ramsay St. Our customers can choose to dine indoors or on our extensive patio.Our restaurant is BYO-only, so we invite our guests to bring their favorite bottle of wine to enjoy with their meals.Whether you are looking for a romantic dinner for two, or a large function booking, we invite you to come and experience our traditional Thai food which we know you will enjoy.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
“Thai food fan”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Having family up from Sydney where they dine often at authentic thai restaurants, we didn't know where to take them. Trip advisor made the decision quickly for us. I have been there a few times in in the past. We were ok with the service with water straight up, I loved that. the food was great in flavour (had to ask for more rice, thought the servings were small for the price of the food) there wasn't too many people in there being a Monday night, was surprised that I had found it difficult to get staffs attention for requests. I would still go back again as well as the visitors. Yes they asked us how we found them, yes we said trip advisor

Helpful?
Thank Mumof2kiddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    44
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thai food subtly adapted to Europeans tastes”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Lunch menu is about 15 tried and tested favourites ranging from $10 to $15. Dinner, you need to book and the food is spectacularly good. Chef's creed is:fresh, high quality ingredients plus subtle use of spices. BYO helps keep the price down. Staff make you feel welcome and always check on progress. Lunch or dinner you can't miss.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

After reading previous reviews decided to try the place. Best decision ever! The staff are friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic and served hot. We had the mixed entre, garlic calamari, seafood combination and coconut rice. The seafood was exceptional which is saying something for Toowoomba. Loved the coconut rice highly recommend that little add on. We will return with out a doubt.

Helpful?
Thank Janene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap and authentic- one of the best.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My mother and I have eaten multiple times at this establishment and have nothing but praise. Firstly, the food is fresh and very flavourful with minimal sweet, syrupy sauces you typically see in other asian restaurants. This actually tastes like thai food and not some pre packaged Maggi marinade mix. They also make a very chilli hot laksa, and they have accommodated my mum's preference for real asian hot with no qualms. Really nice little shop with friendly service and authentic cheap food- pretty much one of the best in Toowoomba. With their generous lunch special, a no-brainier.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We ordered take-away to be delivered from here, coming close to and hour of waiting I called Thai Royal enquiring about our order. I understand by comments and reviews that it is a busy place but our order was small and simple (mixed entree and pad Thai). The lady on the phone put me on to someone with more knowledge, he was great, said that our order hasn't been lost/ forgotten, it's on its way and he'll call the driver. About 3-4 minutes later a little car pulled up will our delivery. 2 minutes after that I got a phone call and it was that guy saying the driver is on his way. I said, yep we just got it thankyou for chasing it up for us. The food was very average, spring rolls were good and chicken satay skewer, but the beef satay skewer, battered prawns, and fish cakes were not nice and also the same with the pad Thai, bland, no nuts, no fresh lime to squeeze on. Disappointing feed after waiting and hour and being excited when we first ordered.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Royal Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Royal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing