We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Applegum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Applegum Inn
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed here recently for business in a standard queen room. The room was what you would expect for the price. Furnishings and bathroom were old and outdated, although clean. The bed was quite comfortable and the small flat screen tv worked well.
The room service I ordered for dinner from the hotel restaurant was delicious and delivered within a reasonable timeframe.
The pool area and gardens looked lovely and are well maintained.
As the title indicates, the Applegum was adequate for my needs and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joshane615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wow! The gentleman who attended to our needs last night saved me! Our previously booked accommodation was not satisfactory. My husband was really grumpy as it looked like we were going to have to drive 300kms home! However we were able to stay here - beds so comfy and whole place totally spotless. Wonderful service - especially at 9 o'clock at night. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillyo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had always stayed next door at the Grammar View, but because of a disagreement with choice, and good service from the rewards at Best Western we thought we would try it.
As I said it is next door, it looks slightly smaller and older, however the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, I was having a medical procedure that morning, and they assured me the room would be ready early, and it was. Instead of the usual flat lounge, there was a very nice leather recliner, which allowed me to snooze off the drugs.
The room and the whole motel was incredibly clean. We did not dine at the restaurant but instead had dinner room service. The meal was excellently cooked, delivered fresh and on time. Breakfast likewise was room service and was excellent as well

Room Tip: All seem OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenterfieldrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I was booked into a hotel by my employer and at the last minute was changed to Applegum. My employer only puts us up in 3 and a half stars was I was a bit nervous. I shouldn't of been. I will now be asking to stay here each time. Clean tidy rooms, free wifi, comfy bed, good customer service and when I asked about the price it was quite reasonable. Good for single or couples or one child families.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We were just passing through and needed a safe quiet place to have a shower and sleep. Very quiet location, friendly staff on arrival. Nice clean room. Would absolutely recommend and would stay again no problems

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NTnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Located at the end of the tree-lined main street, Applegum Inn is a mid-market motel in a very leafy large regional town. On the day of our booking, there were several major events and the town was “fully booked”.
We were allocated a room at the back of the Inn, which was very quiet. It had been freshly painted and the room was clean and tidy, with an effective air-conditioner and modern flat screen TV. The receptionist helped us by retrieving and printing documents.
The tariff was reasonable, breakfast is available in-house at a reasonable price and the Inn met all our needs – easy check-in, clean, quiet room, warm shower and comfortable bed. It was not a 4 star establishment, but in terms of meeting our expectations it was a 4/5 experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had two nights in a deluxe queen room and couldn't have been more pleased. The kitchen was very well equipped and we loved the big walk in shower.
Bedroom was spacious, bed comfortable & with a small tv in the bedroom & a big flatscreen tv in the lounge, any spare time was well catered for.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the motel was within walking distance of the beautiful Queens Park, and the city centre.
For us, best of all was they accepted Bartercard & didn't put the price up when we used it
Great stuff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annenewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#8 of 43 in Toowoomba
187 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Glenfield
Comfort Inn Glenfield
#26 of 43 in Toowoomba
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Violet Motor Inn
Blue Violet Motor Inn
#37 of 43 in Toowoomba
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel Glenworth
Motel Glenworth
#24 of 43 in Toowoomba
29 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
1.7 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegum Inn

Address: 41 Margaret St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Applegum Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range: $89 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Applegum Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegum Inn features all ground floor motel rooms with undercover parking at the door. We are located in a beautiful leafy street in East Toowoomba only 5 blocks from the CBD and 3 blocks from Queens Park. All rooms offer reverse cycle air conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, minibar, free wifi, Foxtel TV channels, desks and breakfast served to the rooms daily. Our on-site restaurant offers dinner Monday to Thursday and we offer dinner to the rooms Monday to Friday. We have Family Rooms, Twin Rooms and Queen Rooms and offer quiet accommodation with country style hospitality well away from highway noise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Applegum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Toowoomba
Toowoomba Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing