We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such ashame”

Sofra Turkish Cuisine
Ranked #2 of 303 Restaurants in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sofra Turkish Cuisine the place where angels gather ... we are FULLY LICENSED From the moment you step inside, Sofra Turkish Cuisine will embrace you with its warm spirit and Ottoman Charm. Situated in the very heart of Toowoomba located at 164 Margaret Street ...SOFRA TURKISH CUISINE provides the perfect setting for anyone looking to dine at one of the most romantic restaurants in the Darling Downs. Noted among the best restaurants in Toowoomba for a deliciously diverse menu selection, impressive wine list, and friendly helpful staff, magical atmosphere, colourful entertainment Sofra Turkish Cuisine has been the setting for countless romantic dinners, work functions , fundraisers and parties..
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such ashame”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We had our Christmas party at sofra's, we booked months in advance. Our table was large 20 people, so we thought we would order the delux banquet, to ease the pressure. I will cut to the chase, the service was appalling!! The drinks were slow! Constantly wrong, forgetting whole bottles of wine, over charging us and then the food.... We had to ask for menus, there was an hour wait between each course and when asking the wait staff twice no one could be bothered to tell us, not enough food... They missed a plate (left hungry)!!! After spending $1400 and the service we had, we were all left a bit shocked.... It's not what it use to be!!! Sorry Sofras, you disappointed 20 people that night... Way to many !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    195
    38
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highfields, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out!!!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went to celebrate our daughters birthday. It was fantastic. The food so yummy, the atmosphere totally fabulous and fun, the bellying dancers were great, the men on the the guitar and violin superb. The people who work there were friendly and obviously enjoyed their job. Great service slow at times but that only allowed for more table talk. Would recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joekate1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What Service?”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We returned to Zofras having previously enjoyed a meal with overseas guests some time ago. We arrived just after 1.30pm for lunch. We were seated, given water and the menus. 15 minutes later we walked out having been seemingly ignored for this time. We then went elsewhere for a delicious lunch where we shall return - but never to Zofras.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moyalia T, Owner at Sofra Turkish Cuisine, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Christine,
On behalf of Irfan and myself can we offer our sincere apologies for this incident that occurred when you visited Sofra Turkish Cuisine. We always pride ourselves on forming long lasting relationships with our guests - and for this to happen to you was totally unacceptable . I take full responsibility for this and would like to extend our sincere apologies and ask that you may at some stage accept our invitation to return for a complimentary lunch for two. There are no excuses for this lack of service.
Sofra Turkish Cuisine has a philosophy that we welcome every like family so I am personally very disappointed that we did not treat you with the respect you so deserved .
At the Front of House reception we will have a voucher that you may redeem at any time - Under the name Christine W ..
We appreciate that you took the time to write the review- its not often that we receive such negative feedback ... I cannot personally remember you as guests that day but give my promise to make it up to you ...

In good faith
Irfan and Moyalia Tokmak
OWNERS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
“Great food,great atmosphere and welcoming staff.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a lovely experience at Sofra. The food and service was great. It has a great atmosphere and the music and belly dancers are like nothing else you can experience in Toowoomba.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank springtimelove0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dean”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

wonderful service, very friendly and happy staff, great food and just the best atmosphere for any occasion would recommend this restaurant to everyone

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dean_051989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofra Turkish Cuisine also viewed

 
Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Been to Sofra Turkish Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing