We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant firefly on fire!”
Review of Firefly cafe - CLOSED

Firefly cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe located 100 Russell St
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant firefly on fire!”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Setting is edgy as is the dynamic duo who own and run this fabulous restaurant. Meals, setting and wines all different and they mingle fabulously for a great experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The cafe embraces values of healthy eating, supported by its talented chef, manager and wait staff. It is very vegetarian friendly also, an increasingly important characteristics of the food industry-fulfilling needs of a range of customers. Since moving to its new location next to Wray Organics (a couple minutes walk from Grand Central), there seems to be a significant improvement in all aspects of offering a fine dining experience.

Having been there twice since their relocation, I have been pleasantly impressed and satisfied with their food and drinks. I had 'Roast pumpkin, crushed almonds, spinach, poached egg, herb pesto' for breakfast on a previous visit and 'Grilled vegetable salad w sweet & kipfler potato, zucchini, house mayo, dukkah & lemon' today for lunch. They had a great balance of flavours, ingredients and texture. On both occasions I had chai latte, which was the best I have ever had in my life. My friend had the 'House-made spiced beans w organic wood fired sourdough & sambal' which was slightly too sweet and the bread too thin and crisp, but that was a minor shortcoming. The hot chocolate she ordered, according to her, was good but was a slightly smaller serving.

The open interior design with influences of industrial chic also makes it an great choice for a casual meetup with friends and family. Today (27/08/14), in a slightly unfortunate condition, with hails, the noise was quite loud. However, on a previous visit with just rain, there was no such problems. With only a couple of customers around today, it only took something like 3 minutes for the meal to be served.

The price there is reasonable compared to other cafes, with lunch meals costing around 18 dollars and breakfast around 16 (from memory).

They offer 4 parking lots at the front of the shop. With the parking next door limited to their own customers, my friend and I once had to park at a nearby metered carpark just up the street and walk there (it was not far away though.)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, beautiful tasty food and the coffee is second to none”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had lunch here on the weekend - I had the most beautiful roast vege salad - I love salad at the best of times but this stomped all over any other salad Ive had
I always love the flavours that the chef puts together - it's great to watch Asher the Chef work - he is so calm and organised.
We've been a number of times and always find the service to be cheery and prompt.
Really loving the new venue - it has a great vibe.
Coffee is best in Toowoomba.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maysiem78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very slow service- nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Very slow service. Standard 20-30 minute wait for meals and drinks.
Good energetic vibe. Food good but not great.
Slow service is the stand out. Need more staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Needs to step up to previous performance”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Recent move to new location has challenged this normally pleasant breakfast favourite. Too few staff for the table numbers. No maitre de service so disorganised and a bit grumpy under the pressure. No strategy for moving tables through when they want to order extras - so you just have to wait 30 minutes for a cup of tea. Which then just holds up the table for more customers. Needs better system and better training of staff to cope.
Food ok but has been better. Coffee is shocking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly cafe also viewed

Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing