We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely outdoor area, quality food.”
Review of Cafe Valetta

Cafe Valetta
Ranked #7 of 328 Restaurants in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Valetta is one of Toowoomba's well known heritage icons. The restaurant provides seating inside the beautiful heritage surroundings or outside in the manicured gardens, on the veranda or pergola overlooking Queens Park. You will be stimulated by a presence of the past and will enjoy the splendour of this magnificent building's origin. The relaxed dining ambience is popular with tourists, business clients and local customers.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The food is always good quality and a nice spot for lunch. Not the cheapest place for a sandwich, but you really are paying for the view and the ambience. Try the New York Reuben - though you may want to share as it's quite large.

Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 311 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

When busy you may have to wait awhile but the coffee, though on the above average price, is worth it. The menu is simple and easy to read and the food is always enjoyable. I was a little disappointed with the the scones - were warm but a little rubbery so I assumed the staff may have slightly microwaved to warm rather than in an oven and used cream from a can as it had no body to it. You can't beat the ambience of this older style home with the leadlight windows, decor, intimate courtyard and an outlook to Queens Park. The lady owner is always calm and friendly even during real busy times eg. Saturdays.If visiting Toowoomba make sure this is on the top of your list to visit, you will never be disappointed. The staff are genuine and not pretenious like some of the cafes in Toowoomba.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iknowMtlofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We've been visiting Valetta intermittently for the past 7 years. We've found the food consistently of a high standard, and the service quick and generally friendly. Unfortunately the owner/ manager has, on occasions, been unfriendly. On Sunday, 3/11/13,my wife and high visited Valetta for a coffeee and a slice of fruit toast. After scrutinising the menu, we realised that there was only an item that included two slices of fruit toast and cooked pears costing $10.50. The friendly waitress that was taking the order informed us that we could order the fruit toasts as a separate item, one with jam and the other with butter. When we paid our bill I noticed that we were charged $10.50. When I queried the charge for the two fruit slices I was told very unsympathetically that, whether I wanted only the toasts or the complete dish I would still be charged the full amount. I tried to convince the cashier that weren't informed about having to pay the full amount when ordered the toasts only, the cashier assertively persisted that I would have to pay the full amount. $10.50 for two slices of raisin bread with some butter and jam is a rip off! How sad!

Thank Armando D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Owner at Cafe Valetta, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

At Cafe Valetta we do have certain rules in place when it comes to meal alterations. If you would like to swap something on the dish with similar items we are more than happy to accommodate which is what our waitress has done. We do not reduce meal prices, instead we let the customer choose in your case other condiments. I am not sure what price you were expecting to see as yours and your wifes fruit and nut loaf came to $5.25 each. Im sorry you feel as though the service wasn't up to its usual high standard but as the owner and manager i can assure you i did not handle this situation.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent breakfast - with unusual twist - salmon terrine balls rolled in quinoa served with poached egg and toast. Staff is extremely pleasant, attentive and quick with delivering the coffee to order. Have breakfasted here before and will gain.

Thank Silver_Budgie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Owner at Cafe Valetta, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your great review and glad you enjoyed your breakfast - we love hearing feedback from our new Spring menu. Look foward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Granted I only enjoyed Devonshire coffee at Cafe Valetta but the experience was all I was hoping it would be; 2 morning fresh scones, genuine chunky strawberry jam and lashings of light fluffy cream. The coffees were right up to par also. Very good value and the staff were excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Simon-in-Civic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Owner at Cafe Valetta, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you Simon for your wonderful feedback - you can't go past our lovely home made scones baked fresh each morning. See you again soon.

Cafe Valetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Valetta also viewed

Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Been to Cafe Valetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing