We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual closing time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Valetta

Cafe Valetta
Ranked #7 of 291 Restaurants in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Valetta is one of Toowoomba's well known heritage icons. The restaurant provides seating inside the beautiful heritage surroundings or outside in the manicured gardens, on the veranda or pergola overlooking Queens Park. You will be stimulated by a presence of the past and will enjoy the splendour of this magnificent building's origin. The relaxed dining ambience is popular with tourists, business clients and local customers.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unusual closing time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have eaten at this cafe at different times over a number of years and though it is reasonable food though a bit overpriced I find it puzzling that their closing time is 3pm. A while ago they took our order about 2.15 pm we got our order about 2.30 and everything started to get cleaned up around us so much so I felt extremely uncomfortable and left. Until asked we were not told the closing time was 3pm which is a bit strange as there is the Parkhouse Cafe only a few doors down the block and they are open till later. It is a cafe and it seems funny they are not open at afternoon tea time, with a huge popular park across the road and schools nearby seems very strange. A couple of years ago I organised a lunch for myself and some friends and the strangest thing happened they kept my credit card in the till until I paid and we left, never had that happen before.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah d, Owner at Cafe Valetta, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Jane,

Our trading hours are 8am to 2:30pm Monday to Sunday - after 9 years of trade we have found this is the most suitable trading times for our customers. Your previous visit a few years ago was not table service which was the reason for our policy for holding credit cards. We are now happy to let you know we are full table service and look foward to your visit again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    97
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Menu prices were slightly expensive but great food and coffee. Beautiful room with stained glass windows if sitting inside and nice outside area as well. Will definitely be back next time I am in Toowoomba.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gorgeous architecture but breakfast is expensive and does not have a great range.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Cafe Valetta is in a beautiful old period home with ornate ceilings of pressed metal and beautiful stained glass windows over looking Queens Park. Breakfast is lovely but it is expensive and does not have a great range on the menu. For example - if you are after a hot breakfast of bacon and eggs or pancakes you are well catered for. However if you are after something lighter like a bircher muesli or fruit platter or yoghurt they do not cater for that end of the market which is a shame. Coffee is strong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Puckawidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
131 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Perfect for an indulgent Sunday morning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

1) The atmosphere of the Valetta is just awesome if the weather is good and you can sit outside. The fountain, the music, the architecture and the plants - it is just alively setting, probably the best Cafe setting in Toowoomba (together with the patio/garden of the Kingfisher)
2) The food is great! Well-cooked breakfast using fresh ingredients. The defrosted hash brown pattie is a no go though and did not fit everything else.
3) It's pricey! Expect to spend $25-$30 per person. Still, with the nice setting, it's worth the money on a Special Sunday!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nitework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of Toowoomba's Best cafes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great Cafe, lovely food and the service is very good. You are greeted with a smile and nothing is a problem they will help make your dining experience an enjoyable one. PLUS the coffee is one of the best! Ps you have to try their scones too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Valetta also viewed

Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Been to Cafe Valetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing