We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic motel, just one thing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Golf Club Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic motel, just one thing...”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is about as modern and shiny as it gets in the bush (if Toowoomba qualifies as "the bush ???). Everything you would expect in a city CBD ****, no need to list it all. Except, it is apparently not within walking distance from the associated golf club and therefore no room service meals. A courtesy bus is available to take guests to the club for a meal there, and the staff are more than happy to do this, but this doesn't really suit me. Not really management's fault, rather a serious planning failure I think. A shame as I rate everything else here about as good as I've seen anywhere.

Undercover parking a plus, breakfast good but a bit pricey, staff happy and helpful. I had a front (street-facing) room which was very well sound-proofed, slept welI. Some traffic noise penetrated next morning but thats just a free wake up call, right?

One tip- when drying synthetic-fibre underwear, use the lowest setting on the microwave, and no more than 90 seconds at a time.

I'll return, but will plan ahead for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllvisPresley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    60
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
70
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved our one nighter stay. Booked 3 hrs prior arrival.
Friendly staff.

Was surprised by the luxury of the room ( standard) 2 queen bed. Although our room was facing the street we couldn't hear the cars once the patio door was shut.

Well stocked bar fridge

Internet. Free wireless that works.

Beds. Very comfy, fluffy pillows additional fluffy warm blanket In Cupboard

Bathroom: excellent water pressure in shower. Loved the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel dispenser as well as body lotion shaving cream and hand soap dispenser. Excellent if you forgot yours.

Had to keep a point off from service as only one 1 bath towel was found for 3 occupants. Got additional towels after asking reception.

All very clean all round

Please note breakie at Golf Club (south st) round the corner finishes at 9.30am

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliseandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Have stayed in quiet a few places in Toowoomba even 5 star but this one is a TREASURE Very clean rooms, bathroom ,modern a big selection of teas and decaf coffee as well. Beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious even with 2 double beds in it, and will stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68syl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mothar Mountain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

For an overnight stop this motel was great. Bit of a drive to town for dinner, but overall a great stop for the night. It is on a main road but the rooms are wonderfully sound proof, did not hear anything! Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuckooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the City Golf Club Motel for 2 nights in May along with all of our wedding guests. The service was outstanding. I can honestly say that the hotel went above and beyond. We also had comments from several of our guests about how great the accommodation was. I would recommend this motel to anyone staying in Toowoomba and look forward to going back there myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Two of us stayed in a 1 b/r unit for 3 nights. We walked a short distance to the Golf Club for our dinner at night and found that to be great value. Even though the motel was full most of the time we were there, we had no bother with anyone else and had no trouble getting our sleep on their comferble beds. We found the unit very clean and conferrable.

Room Tip: Facing the Golf Cause is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Researcher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed with my wife for 2 nights to attend a wedding. Overall the Golf Club Motel was a really nice place, a relaxing stay and overall quite a surprise given this is just a "MOTEL".

Location: The Motel is on Ruthven street just down the road from the city centre. It is a little drive away but not too bad. We had a room at the back facing the golf course and had zero street noise during our stay - you wouldn't even know there was a main road 50mtrs away.

Check-In: Fastest Check-in experience I have ever had - worldwide - the hotel had all our information and it was literally - sign the form and here is your key.

Room: The rooms were really well appointed, with modern furniture and really funky colours and stylings. The toiletries were really good quality which is something you really appreciate in a hotel.

The only room for improvement would be the shower head - our shower head kept dropping down while you used it. So it was a bit annoying but if you fiddled with it a bit you could get it to stay up.

The motel will also provide a complimentary shuttle service to the Golf Club which is really handy.

Overall I would definately return to the motel again, whilst it is not the cheapest place in town I think it is definately a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Golf Course are a little further away from the road, so will be a bit quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaverickRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
1.5 mi away
MAS Country Platinum International
1.3 mi away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#6 of 43 in Toowoomba
274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#8 of 43 in Toowoomba
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
216 reviews
3.1 mi away
Altitude Motel Apartments
Altitude Motel Apartments
#3 of 43 in Toowoomba
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
#4 of 43 in Toowoomba
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Golf Club Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Golf Club Motel

Property: City Golf Club Motel
Address: 775 Ruthven St | New England Highway, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Golf Club Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 45 rooms in various configurations, all with stunning new designer effects and decor. Most rooms have balconies,with some overlooking the championship golf course. Interconnecting rooms can be used by families and there are several two bedroom apartments for those who are looking for something extra. Whatever the reason for your stay, we are sure there is something just right for you. You will not be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your City Golf Club Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing