We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for a one night stopover.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

For a stop over in Toowoomba we wanted good accommodation with a comfortable king size bed and with a restaurant attached. The Best Western Plus Ambassador Motor Inn seemed to fit the bill. The rooms were renovated in recent years and our king room with spa was pleasant enough but a little dark. There was only room for one small couch (for one person) to sit and read and inadequate lighting (no light over or near the couch/chair) meant meant that after dark the only place you could read was in bed. Instead, we took our books to the bar/restaurant to relax before dinner with a drink, which was pleasant. Free Wifi is always appreciated. Although breakfast was included in our tariff, it turned out that it was from a menu to the value of $20 which was a little strange, rather than the usual buffet. Overall, we felt that at $215 for B&B it was a little expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear 'Rainman37'

Thank you for offering feedback.
Our aim is to impress our guests and to improve where ever we can in order to achieve this.

We have gone with an intimate feel & look in our rooms. Our two seater open ended sofas were specially designed to suit the modern amenities of our newly refurbished rooms. We apologise that you were disappointed with the lighting. As you are aware we do have three lamps & main light in the living/bedroom area however if you ever require more or a stronger reading lamp we are only too happy to assist.

Due to customer requests we have gone away from buffet and now offer our guests choice of anything off the a la carte breakfast menu. All our accommodation/breakfast packages include $20 value per paying guest, therefore you would have been entitled to $40 value for two guests. If this was not the case then please contact our Manager Peter directly so that he can investigate.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 177 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Quick weekend away and booked in at the last minute.
Friendly helpful staff, excellent service.
Lovely restaurant with great service and meals.
Clean, modern furnished room and bathroom, quite with no road noise.
Excellent location close to the city, but not too close.
We will return for sure, thank you Peter at reception, we are so glad we choose your motel.
** 5 Stars **

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank texrgb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear 'texrgb1'
We're so glad you stayed with us too!

We simply love it when guests take the time to offer their feedback.
Always sincerely appreciated...from Management through to our amazing team.

We'll certainly welcome you back when next you return...hopefully offering you yet another weekend experience.

Wishing you all the very best.

Kindest Regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My mother and I were in Toowoomba for the Carnival of Flowers Festival and stayed at the Best Western Plus for 1 night in a King Spa room. The room was spotlessly clean and well furnished. The bed was a little firmer than expected but overall the stay was fantastic. The Season's restaurant is also excellent. We had both dinner and breakfast and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the presentation is top notch. I wouldn't have wanted to eat anywhere else. We were so happy that we booked to stay here and we wouldn't hesitate to re-book here again when next in Toowoomba.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear 'Pepi2010'

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to comment on our property and restaurant.

What a great time of year to visit. There's always so much to see & do at the Toowoomba Carnival of Flowers Festival. I do hope you managed to find the time to enjoy a spa bath.

Our NEW Menu is as colourful and fresh as the Spring flowers. We're thrilled you think so too.

We look forward to welcoming you and your mother back again soon.
Until then. Take Care

Kindest Regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I needed to book 2 rooms at this establishment - 1 queen and 1 queen with a single. The online booking system was not flexible enough to do this so I called the Ambassador direct. The staff could not have been more helpful and processed the booking for me. I requested an early check in and they asked I call them in the morning of the booking day.....no problems, rooms were available to come along any time.
Extremely friendly staff, clean serviceable rooms and good value. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hello 'Donna V'
Our sincere appreciation. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It is so pleasing to know we could accommodate your family and that we lived up to your expectation...both in service & facility.

We are currently working with many of the websites to expand the room types we offer online. As you've experienced booking direct allows us the ability to match the style of room that best suit a guest's needs. You also avoid possible online booking/cancellation fees etc. and yes allow us to offer early or late check outs where possible.

Should you be travelling with family next time it might be an idea to consider our very spacious 2 bedroom Family suit. This is often reserved in advance so best to book early.

We look forward to having you stay as a return guest.

Kindest Regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn for 4 nights September 3 - 7 2013 on recommendations from Trip Advisor. This Property is one of the best we have stayed in in Queensland over the last 12 months. Staff were excellent, rooms spotless and everything worked. The restaurant was excellent, and service brilliant. The grounds of the property were extremely well maintained and presented. Could not fault it at all. Congratulations to Peter and his team.

Room Tip: We didn't notice any traffic noise inside the unit even though the traffic along Ruthven Street...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hello 'Lesley D'

What a pleasure it is to read such a wonderful review like yours.
I'm thrilled your stay was not only comfortable but one to remember.

Thank you sincerely on behalf of our Managers - Peter & Tadd and our extraordinary Team.
They never cease to amaze me either.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon at 'Toowoomba's Hidden Treasure'.

All our very best.

Kindest Regards
Penny Eccleston
OWNER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very friendly and professional staff, our host Peter was great and you can see why everything runs so smoothly. I highly recommend staying here for Business or Pleasure. Why go out for dinner or breakfast when the "Seasons" restaurant is right there. Again the food was so fresh and refreshingly prepared in lighter combinations with a great wine list to match.

Room Tip: The SPA room is excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you 'Michael C' for your lovely comments.

It's such a delight to know our guests are being taken care of in every way.
I agree our new Spring Menu is proving to be a real hit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our King Spa Suites soon.

Penny Eccleston
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here several times in 2012-2013 in several types of rooms and cannot not think of a fault, except being a bit pricy. The rooms are very clean and tidy and of good size.
The king suite with spa is the best. just relax in the spa and you will forget everything.
Staff are very friendly and attentive. Only had breakfast abd dinner at the restaurant and both were pretty good. Wish the dinner size was a bit more decent.

Room Tip: If you are after a quiet room you need to ask them as some of the rooms are very close to Ruthven st...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello 'Matt G'
Your feedback is truly appreciated. Thank YOU!

Our entire Team are so proud and passionate about the role they play at the property and it's heart warming when this is acknowledged by our valued guests.

Please be sure to let our restaurant staff know you have a hearty appetite. They will gladly advise you on what to order from our delicious NEW Spring Menu. Don't forget we have the Mid Week Specials too.

We always look forward to welcoming back our repeat guests.
Until next time...All our very best.

Penny Eccleston
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
1.9 mi away
MAS Country Platinum International
2.0 mi away
Best Western Tuscany On Tor Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 43 in Toowoomba
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
224 reviews
2.1 mi away
Altitude Motel Apartments
Altitude Motel Apartments
#2 of 43 in Toowoomba
78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
#4 of 43 in Toowoomba
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn

Address: 200 Ruthven St | cnr Ruthven & Robinson Streets, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range: $98 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn is located on the corner of tree lined streets and is the perfect option for business or leisure accommodation in Toowoomba. The property boasts a convenient location close to the Empire Theatre, Cobb & Co. Museum, beautiful Queens Park, St Vincent's Hospital & St Andrews Hospital.Best Western Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn has 34 newly refurbished rooms to cater for large groups, families, couples, singles or corporate travellers. The motel offers clean, comfortable and non-smoking rooms and spa suites with king-size beds, Foxtel cable TV, FREE NBN Fibre internet and 24 hour check in. Enjoy dining at 'SEASONS on Ruthven', our licensed on-site restaurant and wine bar, and relax by the outdoor swimming pool. With a reputation for its excellent cuisine, SEASONS ON Ruthven Restaurant & Wine Bar is the ideal venue for all occasions from business breakfasts, dinners and conferences to the romantic dinner for two. Open for dinner Monday to Saturday from 6.00pm until late the SEASONS ON Ruthven Restaurant & Wine Bar offers a relaxing "a la carte" dining experience with an extensive menu. SEASONS is also open for breakfast 7 Days Mon-Fri from 6.30am - 9.30am & Sat-Sun 7.30am - 10.30am. Don't want to leave the comfort of your room? No problem...in-room service is also provided - simply ask at reception for details.AWARD WINNING Best Western Australasia – 'Special Commendation – Most Improvements & Upgrades Award 4 STAR Property 2011';'Best PLUS Property 2012';‘Best Staff Member 2012';'Best Western International Quality Award 2012 & 2013; ‘AAOA Achievers Awards – Apprentice/Trainee of the Year 2012’;'High Commendation - Sales & Marketing Champion 2013';'President's Award 2013'. Reservations Appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing