We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service,clean and comfy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at the Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven in July 2013. Coming from the Crowsnest side of Toowoomba driving into Ruthven Street it was very easy to find just after crossing North St and before Bridge St. Entrance is by turning into Robinson Street on the left. Motel is actually located on the corner of Ruthven and Robinson Streets. Check-in was friendly and easy. The room was clean and modern...comfortable beds. We had a Queen Size bed plus a Single bed for our son. With the room we had, we could step out into a small court yard with table and chairs which runs alongside the fenced in pool area. The cleaning staff were helpful and friendly as well. The reverse-cycle air conditioner was great for taking the chill out of the air...being July in Toowoomba...but we found we didn't really need to run it for long. Overall it was a pleasant friendly stay with all the comforts that one needs and I would recommend it for anyone looking for accommodation in Toowoomba.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineGGoomeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear 'LorraineGGoomeri'
Wow!...How special it is to receive such favourable comments from our valued guests.
The Management & Staff's aim is to ensure all our guests have the best possible stay.
For this to be acknowledged is an added bonus for us.
We sincerely thank you for your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 185 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a gem of a place it has everything you could want from a hotel. We were greeted warmly by the staff when checking in and they were helpful at finding us directions to a nearby restaurant and other attractions. The rooms were well appointed with tea, coffee, microwave and mini bar. The beds would have been nicer with a doona (our preference) but the blankets did the job. We asked if the hotel restaurant caters for vegetarians and we were asked a host of questions on what type vegetarian food we would like, if we had any particular dishes in mind, what we did not like. My wife had a vegetarian omelette and I asked the chef to make me something vegetarian, he made the most amazing vegetable pasta with a light sauce that I have ever tasted. The deserts are brilliant as well.
Thanks to the chefs, Jamie, Peter all other staff members, they made our stay absolutely brilliant.

We have already booked for October and are looking forward our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vrav_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Vrav_13

We never tire of receiving such positive comments from our guests.

Such wonderful feedback for our helpful restaurant staff and also our new Manager.
I'm so thrilled they were able to cater to your dietary needs. With a little advanced notice the chef can always create something special.

Should you prefer a doona simply request this prior to your next stay & I'm sure our housekeeping staff will assist by triple sheeting your bed.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm Wishes
Penny Eccleston
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a great find on wot if . Had a conference so just needed a few night in place I had never been before .
Meet and greet very warm and cheery by Jess. Met new manager Peter who could not have been more accommodating and obliging.
The rooms are the cleanest motel types I have EVER been in . Spotless and well appointed .very roomy light and bright. Looks like all painted and fresh recently .
Very cold nights but nice and toastie in rooms and restaurant .
Owners were in residence at time and they too we met and were a delight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hi Flicky K

We really appreciate you taking the time to tell others of your experience at SEASONS on Ruthven. It's nice to know our guests both enjoy the quality of our food and notice the high level of our service. We are very proud of the efforts of our staff both front of house and in the kitchen.
We look forward to taking care of you again some time soon.

Warmest regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner/Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I would like to sincerely thank the staff at the Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven on a recent business trip to Toowoomba. I was greeted by the very friendly Peter and the check in was seamless and trouble free. The surrounds are kept spotless and the first thing you notice about the place is that it is very clean and neat! The staff who make up the rooms do an absolute superb job of keeping the inside beautifully presented. We had a standard queen room which was spotless, the tv looked fairly new and is a flat wall mounted model, the bathroom is a good size and had a really nice touch of dispenser soap, shampoo and conditioner mounted on the walls! The cleanliness was just fantastic! The room has a mini bar, small sink, microwave, tea and coffee making facilities and a reverse cycle air con which came in very handy with the recent chilly temperatures in Toowoomba. They also have an ironing board and iron on the rooms. We dined in the onsite restaurant which was quiet on the night but had nice food at reasonable prices. We also had breakfast room service and that was delivered on time and by a friendly host. The breakfast was huge and generous! Parking is just outside your room and undercover but if you have a large van it might be a tad tight if you like to have room. We did hear the nearby trains but not enough to disturb our sleep with the air con on during the night. Other than that it was very quiet and we didn't really hear the neighbours except when they were leaving the premises. Overall it was an extremely pleasant stay and I would highly recommend this place! Belinda was also fantastic when we checked out which was again seamless and efficient!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TashV1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Wow! Wow! Wow!
Natasha V...
You not only made my day but you've put a much deserved spring in the step of many of our staff. It's is so terrific to receive such positive feedback. We really appreciate your comments.

As they say "Nothing is perfect" however we certainly strive to give every guests an experience as close to perfect as possible.
Our wonderful guests should also be thanked. Our ability to shine is merely a reflection.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting Toowoomba.
All our very best to you.

Warm regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner/Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Located the Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn quite easily. The car park and Reception is via Robinson Street (they have a big sign indicating this). Upon checking in, we received friendly and helpful service.

Parked our car under the covered parking which was right outside our room - very handy.

The rooms are ground level and ours looked to be renovated recently and was tastefully done. There was a large flat screen TV on the wall, a desk and a couple a chairs, lounge chair, air-conditioner, along with a small selection of nibbles and drinks in the bar fridge.

Plenty of pillows and comfy bed. Didn't hear any traffic during the night.

Free broadband internet access was a plus - obtain password details from reception.

Negatives: Noisy fridge and shower recess leaked (which we reported).

We would return again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Brissy2

Thank you so much for your favourable comments.
Certainly lovely when guests take the time to give us their feedback.

Yes the Free Internet Voucher is proving very popular not only with our regular corporate clients but also those wishing to keep in contact during leisure trips.

Thank you for allerting us re: fridge & leak at base of shower recess. You'll be reassured our trusty maintenance has attened to these issues.

We look forward to having you return again soon.

Kindest regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent motel with totally renovated, stylish rooms. Flat screen tv, Foxtel channels, free wifi, a must for any decent hotel/motel nowadays (how can some managers not get this??), air conditioning, iron, free parking in front of your room, all you need when you're away for work. I had a room at the back and could hear road noise, but it was bearable, I shudder thinking of those facing the road. Unfortunately not a lot of choice away from main roads in Toowoomba. Good food at the restaurant, although a bit pricey. If you go for the 3 tapas, they are a very small serve so order a main as well or you'll go hungry. Also breakfast is quite a slow process so if you have an appointment allow at least 20 minutes from the time you place the order to when you go away. I'll go back provided there are rooms at the back available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away rrom the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Pipmas

We appreciate your feedback and like all guests to know that we do take your comments on board.

We're so pleased you had a comfortable stay. Surprisingly enough we have many guests request our rooms & suits at the front of the building. We have made every effort to sound proof the rooms the best we can but are always looking for ways to improve.

I'm thrilled that you were able to sample our delcious food items. All our tapas are individually handcrafted to add to the uniqueness of the menu. We are introducing our new mid week specials menu start June, so perhaps next time you visit this will be available for you to try.

We have been training our breakfast chef in recent weeks so I do apologise if you waited uneccessarily. I'm sure you will notice a marked difference next time.

Thank you once again.
Wishing you all the very best.

Kindest Regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was travelling with two of my mates on a motorbike tour for a few days. We were all very impressed with this Best Western. Its well located, easy to find and has been renovated to a very good standard. The rooms and bathrooms are of a good size and well appointed. The check in/out is handled efficiently and very friendly. Parking is great and undercover and it has a nice restaurant too. Generally god value for money.
We will definitely stay there again if we go back to Toowoomba...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 802RichardT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Wow! Thank you '802RichardT'

It truly makes it all worthwhile when we receive such favourable feedback as yours.
I will be sure to make mention not only to our reception staff but to our entire team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments. We hope to see you and your mates sometime soon when passing through on on of your bike tours.

All the very best
Penny Eccleston
Owner/Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
1.9 mi away
MAS Country Platinum International
1.9 mi away
Best Western Tuscany On Tor Motor Inn
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Glenfield
Comfort Inn Glenfield
#25 of 43 in Toowoomba
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
City Golf Club Motel
City Golf Club Motel
#3 of 43 in Toowoomba
236 reviews
5.7 mi away
Country Comfort Toowoomba
Country Comfort Toowoomba
#13 of 43 in Toowoomba
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn

Address: 200 Ruthven St | cnr Ruthven & Robinson Streets, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range: $98 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn is located on the corner of tree lined streets and is the perfect option for business or leisure accommodation in Toowoomba. The property boasts a convenient location close to the Empire Theatre, Cobb & Co. Museum, beautiful Queens Park, St Vincent's Hospital & St Andrews Hospital.Best Western Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn has 34 newly refurbished rooms to cater for large groups, families, couples, singles or corporate travellers. The motel offers clean, comfortable and non-smoking rooms and spa suites with king-size beds, Foxtel cable TV, FREE NBN Fibre internet and 24 hour check in. Enjoy dining at 'SEASONS on Ruthven', our licensed on-site restaurant and wine bar, and relax by the outdoor swimming pool. With a reputation for its excellent cuisine, SEASONS ON Ruthven Restaurant & Wine Bar is the ideal venue for all occasions from business breakfasts, dinners and conferences to the romantic dinner for two. Open for dinner Monday to Saturday from 6.00pm until late the SEASONS ON Ruthven Restaurant & Wine Bar offers a relaxing "a la carte" dining experience with an extensive menu. SEASONS is also open for breakfast 7 Days Mon-Fri from 6.30am - 9.30am & Sat-Sun 7.30am - 10.30am. Don't want to leave the comfort of your room? No problem...in-room service is also provided - simply ask at reception for details.AWARD WINNING Best Western Australasia – 'Special Commendation – Most Improvements & Upgrades Award 4 STAR Property 2011';'Best PLUS Property 2012';‘Best Staff Member 2012';'Best Western International Quality Award 2012 & 2013; ‘AAOA Achievers Awards – Apprentice/Trainee of the Year 2012’;'High Commendation - Sales & Marketing Champion 2013';'President's Award 2013'. Reservations Appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing