We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant experience,”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

we stayed in for one night, I booked king bath room with free breakfast buffet. First impression was nice, friendly receptionist. The room is very clean with beautiful finish. We love the bed, was very comfortable with good quality of pillows. The bathroom is very clean. The only thing that a bit disappointed that the liquid shower gel was empty and we have to use one small bath soap for bath and shower. The room is quiet, a little bit small for my taste. I was hoping there is balcony to sit outside but our room was on the second level that dont have the balcony.
The buffet breakfast also a bit disapointing eventhough the service was excellence. The restaurant is georgous, beautiful. The varieties of food is ok, there is lots room of improvement, because small things like that can attract more customer to stay.
Afterall, the quality is very good but slightly overpriced, but we stayed when the flower festival is on, so is understandable that the price is high. I will consider to come back if the price is slightly lower and definitely recomendded this acommodation to anyone out there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinahiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Vinahiggs,

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Our Breakfast buffet was restocked 3-5 times each morning over the Carnival of Flowers weekend. We are always looking to improve so if there are particular items you would like to see on the buffet, we would really appreciate hearing from you again.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. The groundfloor Terrace Rooms are very popular, as the glass doors open out to overlook the pool. There's also a small table & chairs for you to relax.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 07 46376800.

Kindest Regards
Penny Eccleston
Owner/Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    53
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
50
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
465 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is located on Ruthven Street but in the suburbs so it is pretty quiet, except for the odd train. The rooms are recently renovated and are tasteful. Good size. Seasons Restaurant is a little over priced but food is good. Reception staff are friendly. Microwave and study desk in each room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Yvettesaf,

We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on our Motel & Restaurant.
It's so rewarding when guests notice the attention to detail and effort our staff always put in.

We are proud to see the complete transformation on all of the 34 motel rooms, and regulars comment on how spectacular our restaurant's facelift looks. Did you notice the glass closed in deck area?...perfect for alfresco dining...no matter what the elements.

I'm so pleased you sampled the flavours of SEASONS. Under the guidance of our home grown Chef Jarod Gleeson,the kitchen prepares everything on the premises, using the freshest locally supplied produce to showcase their experience and talent in each handcrafted dish.
We source the regions' quality produce (i.e. Gooralie Farm Free Range Pork & Bacon) while honouring traditional cooking methods and techniques.

We often have specials on offer throughout the week. Every Friday night we offer Tapas (6) Sampler Plate + Glass of Wine or Beer for only $20. It's great value, fun & becoming very popular.
We just hosted our first ever 6 course Degustion Dinner & Wine Appreciation Night last Friday. What a shame you missed this. The feedback was fantastic.

I truly hope we will have the pleasure of you staying with us again soon.
All the very best

Kindest Reards
Penny Eccleston
Owner/Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Its clear from your intial contact with the staff of the Ambassador that your dealing with most beautiful hearted people with a genuine can do attitude. The owners are "hands-on" & take great pride in the daily operations of this sucessful Motor Inn. This is reflected in the style and elligance depicted in the layout of the entire establishment. The lavishy furnished rooms gives one a sense of being well and truly spoilt. The impeccable tastes and cullinary delights presented before you from one heck of an amazing chef will tickle your taste buds and leave you wanting more. Not only do they have access to theeee most beautiful fresh vegetable produce and fruit from the surrounding region, but if your meat lover look no further - this is the place for you. All this is topped off with the service provided by the wonderful staff from Meg in recepetion to Jason and the Ladies in the restaurant. Thank you I will be back thats a promise!

Room Tip: Your car can be parked less than 2 metres away from your room. Your 5 minutes away from the city and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear 'Isabella M'

Thank you for your wonderful comments. You've just made our day!

It is so rewarding to know that we are on the right track & that the high standared of service & comfort we aim to provide for our guests is being noticed. We're thrilled that we have lived up to your expectations.

Yes we're never bored when it comes to the delights prepared at our restaurant SEASONS on Ruthven. What we enjoy most is everything from the tapas, pasta, delicate sauces & even the smooth ice-cream are handcrafted on the premises. Throw in the creativity of our chefs & it's proving to be a winning formula.

I will pass on your wonderful comments to all of our staff, but especially to those mentioned.

We love to welcome our repeat/regular guests back each and every time. We trust you will treat our establishment as your home away from home. "Isabella M' we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Penny & David Eccleston
Owner/Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proserpine, Australia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here one night and I can not complain about the service from the staff. The rooms are quite large with the rear doors giving access to a nice garden area with each room having their own table and chairs. The rooms were clean and well maintained, it looks like they have only been refurbished recently. I had friends staying in another room at the motel and their room was the same standard and finish as mine. I would recommend this motel for both couples and families. Had a great night sleep.

Room Tip: The staff advised that the family rooms were on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaintm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear TraciBproserpine,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a comment on our property.
I will certainly pass on your friendly remarks to our great staff, particularly housekeeping.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Our Executive Terrace rooms are also very popular with guests staying more than one night. You'll be pleased to know that these rooms have been partially refurbished with updated furnishings due to arrive this June. I'm so excited to see the final outcome. This will add a whole new dimensions to these already stylish rooms.

Just in case you are planning on visiting with family, we have several options available on ground level too. (i.e. 1 Bedroom Apartment & Interconnecting Suites) The only rooms on the first floor is our 2 Bedroom Apartment...sleeping up to 6pax. Advanced bookings are advised.

We look forward to having you stay with us again shortly.
All the very best.

Kindest regards
Penny Eccleston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The staff are amazingly friendly and can't do enough for you, the rooms are always clean and well presented. My partner and I have stayed their several time and will continue to go back. Quiet location and recommend the little extra for the King Rooms which have a great relaxing spa bath. Love it love it love it!

Room Tip: Go for the King Room which includes the spa bath your body will thank you later. Room 4 has a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear SarahW,

Thank you for your lovely comments & feedback. It really does brighten up our day.
We feel our staff are pretty special too and are so pleased this is reflected in your experience when staying with us.

I noticed you particularly like Room 4...it's very popular. By all means request this room when staying with us next & we'll make every effort to grant your wish.

You'll be pleased to know that the Stage 2 refurbishment should be complete in the other King Spa Rooms June 2012. Always keep an eye out for special weekend & o/nite packages including dining voucher @ our onsite Restaurant & Wine Bar...SEASONS.

We look forward to pampering you again soon.
Wishing you all the very best.

Kindest regards
Penny Eccleston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great food and comfortable rooms. Will stay here again if ominous the area

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonoxymoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear 'Jonoxymoron',

We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our property.
Thank You!

It's extremely pleasing to know you enjoyed your stay and the newly refurbished facilities.
We are very proud of the recent transformation our property has taken on. With more to come with 'Stage 2' due for completion June this year.

I will pass on your compliments to our chef Jarod. He always produces the most delicous and exciting menu for our Restaurant & Wine Bar, SEASONS and of course room service too.

We look forward to to having you stay with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

All my very best & Kindest regards.

Penny Eccleston
Owner/Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highfields, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I recently stayed in a King spa suit. I found the room to be very clean and modern for a Toowoomba motel. Excellent bed and bathroom. Mini bar was well stocked, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Room service breakfast was excellent and right on time and the latte was to die for!
Only 2 complaits regarding this property. The internet cost me $11 per day and was unreliable at best. There also was a major black out in Toowoomba from a storm the first night i stayed, the suite i was staying in was up a very steep flight of stairs and there was no emergency lighting. Very dangerous and hard to manage in the pitch black using my iphone as a light source when i had to go out for dinner as there was no room service due to the black out.
Over all it was a very nice place to stay and i would return

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesnt face Ruthven st and spoil yourself and pay that tiny bit extra for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lildutchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E, Owner at Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear 'lildutchgirl'

We really appreciate the time taken to comment on our property. Through your feedback we're able to keep our standards high.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the spaciousness of the King Spa Suites.
We are thrilled of the recent transformation our property has taken on. You'll be excited to know that we are embarking on Stage 2 renovation in this section, due for completion June 2012.

We're pleased you enjoyed your Breakfast. Perhaps a little biased but I agree we do have a good blend of coffee. Perhaps when you visit next you'd like to try our NEW Buffet Breakfast, 7 days a week. This is also open to the public, so invite your friends to join you.

Your satisfaction is important to us.
The Power Failures/Blackouts experienced certainly did challenge us that weekend. It should have been called 'Saturday the 13th'.

I aplogise if there was any confusion regarding Room Service. Our Room Service & Restaurant & Wine Bar, SEASONS did continue to function as normal, however due to the unforseen circumstance we were forced to close a little earlier (9.45pm). We also always offer a light snack until 11pm.

Anyone who experienced technical difficulties with wireless internet on that particular weekend was refunded. Would you mind checking you Tax Invoice re: Internet charge.
For future bookings always check our last minute deals as these often include FREE internet (3hrs) with packages.

We are looking into why our regulation illuminated EMERGENCY EXIT lights are not throwing sufficient light in the stairwell area. I agree this would be difficult to navigate in the dark. We appreciate you alerting us about this.

We look forward to to having you stay with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.


All Our Very Best.
Penny Eccleston
Owner/Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
1.9 mi away
MAS Country Platinum International
2.0 mi away
Best Western Tuscany On Tor Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#6 of 43 in Toowoomba
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#8 of 43 in Toowoomba
175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
216 reviews
2.3 mi away
City Golf Club Motel
City Golf Club Motel
#2 of 43 in Toowoomba
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
Address: 200 Ruthven St | cnr Ruthven & Robinson Streets, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn is located on the corner of tree lined streets and is the perfect option for business or leisure accommodation in Toowoomba. The property boasts a convenient location close to the Empire Theatre, Cobb & Co. Museum, beautiful Queens Park, St Vincent's Hospital & St Andrews Hospital.Best Western Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn has 34 newly refurbished rooms to cater for large groups, families, couples, singles or corporate travellers. The motel offers clean, comfortable and non-smoking rooms and spa suites with king-size beds, Foxtel cable TV, FREE NBN Fibre internet and 24 hour check in. Enjoy dining at 'SEASONS on Ruthven', our licensed on-site restaurant and wine bar, and relax by the outdoor swimming pool. With a reputation for its excellent cuisine, SEASONS ON Ruthven Restaurant & Wine Bar is the ideal venue for all occasions from business breakfasts, dinners and conferences to the romantic dinner for two. Open for dinner Monday to Saturday from 6.00pm until late the SEASONS ON Ruthven Restaurant & Wine Bar offers a relaxing "a la carte" dining experience with an extensive menu. SEASONS is also open for breakfast 7 Days Mon-Fri from 6.30am - 9.30am & Sat-Sun 7.30am - 10.30am. Don't want to leave the comfort of your room? No problem...in-room service is also provided - simply ask at reception for details.AWARD WINNING Best Western Australasia – 'Special Commendation – Most Improvements & Upgrades Award 4 STAR Property 2011';'Best PLUS Property 2012';‘Best Staff Member 2012';'Best Western International Quality Award 2012 & 2013; ‘AAOA Achievers Awards – Apprentice/Trainee of the Year 2012’;'High Commendation - Sales & Marketing Champion 2013';'President's Award 2013'. Reservations Appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing