We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location next to all shops. Downstairs is a nice restaurant although you get more for your money at the hotel restaurant a few doors down. There's also a TAB a couple of doors down with a tavern/pub. Lots of clothing shops and a yummy Gelato store nearby.
Rooms were clean and kitchen was accommodating. Overall a pretty good stay. My husband stayed for a week and he and his co-workers enjoyed it there. I joined him for 2 nights. No issues with staff, they were fine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarns29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert6210, Manager at Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thankyou for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    96
    56
    21
    18
See reviews for
54
63
6
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed with Toowoomba Central Plaza for a business trip at the start of October and had an excellent time. Reception staff and management staff were very helpful and provided me with all the essential information I required. My room got serviced daily and I found the hotel to be very clean and in the centre of town, which was excellent for me, as I had to work just down the road.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Toowoomba.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert6210, Manager at Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Like many others they enjoy this complex,location and its facilities. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Central Apartments as we were attending a wedding in Toowoomba. The hotel was nice, room was a good size and well equipped, the air con didn't work and it could have been cleaner but not bad – now for the BUT!

Check out is 10am. At 10:01, the house keeper banged on the door asking when we were checking out, I asked when check out was, she replied 10am and I then said that I didn’t think it was that time yet, she said it was and we needed to leave, I told her we were just packing and would bee out in a minute, she then tutted and left.

We then left the room at just before 10:15, getting scowled at by the housekeeper that knocked on our door and a male one further down the corridor.

When we got to reception to check out, I asked if it was standard procedure to bang on peoples door at check-out time. The lady got up and told me that yes it was, they have over 100 rooms to clean and they need them to be vacant at 10am?! I told her that I thought it was rude and that the way the housekeeper had spoken to us was rude also. She told me that it wasn’t rude and the housekeeper wasn’t rude. What happened to the customer is always right? All I wanted was, I am sorry you felt this was, we have a lot of rooms to clean. Her attitude and manner towards us was disgusting.

I worked in hotels for 10 years and for the last 7 years worked as a travel agent, so have travelled well and stayed in many hotels. I have never, ever, seen a hotel that thinks it is acceptable to bang on someone’s doors before they are even late to check out and then for a receptionist to argue with a guest and tell them they are wrong.

I have stayed at the Burke and Wills, The Platinum Motel and the Comfort Inn Grammer and would strongly suggest that you try there instead. At least there, the staff are nice and you are not going to get a mouth full from them.

I don’t write complaints on here very often as I feel that everyone deserves a chance, but this place is a joke and seems to be run by idiots.

Room Tip: Stay next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerriebatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert6210, Manager at Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that we could not give you an extra early check-in or a very extended late check out. I am also sorry to see that personal opinions had to be used to try and validate your claims. I also see that you have stayed at many other properties in Toowoomba and that expectations could be the issue here. I always have the motto of the customer is always right in the first instance but there is a way a perceived issue should be handled. I wish you all the best for the future, especially your travels and may they be a relaxing time for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toowoomba hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for one night and had two rooms. One for grandparents and one for a family with 2 children. The reception staff were professional and prompt. There is undercover secure parking. The lifts are very slow and wobbly. We were on the 6th floor. The room was clean and spacious. There is a kitchen and laundry area which we didn't use. We had a balcony. The cost of the room was a bit high although we were there during the carnival of flowers and were lucky to get one of the last rooms available, everywhere was booked out. Checking out was fast. The only negative was the noise from the pub underneath with their guests making a lot of noise in the early hours of the morning. There is a restaurant in the pub which serves breakfast. This was nice.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back of the hotel would be a bit quieter. They also have interconnecting rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tklj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

for the money they charge this place is sadly poor value.
A/C hardly worked and there was no separate split system for the bedroom, the lounge system could hardly cool the lounge area. so bedroom was very hot. In spring!
The carpets were in desperate need of a clean, so much so that our feet were black from walking around bare foot!! quite disgusting when you want to shower after walking on the carpet.
Cannot adjust shower head and it points in your face, not down.
Pod coffee machine didn't work well.
Toilet brush was terrible dirty and gross. Hand soap dispenser didn't work. Room also had a terrible smell from the air conditioner.
only good point was central location and the bed was reasonable. very disappointed overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandKadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Average rooms, average price and terrible showers (can't adjust the shower head and water went everywhere. But the location was excellent and it is the best hotel in the CBD. The rooms were large with plenty of space. They were clean and had everything we needed. Will stay there again but would love it if it wasn't so pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lcj8485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

For $180 a night for a studio apartment for one person I had pretty high hopes but was sadly disappointed.

The bad points - a shared balcony (yes - I had to share a balcony with the room next door to me! Quite a shock when you're out there in your PJ's in the morning!), shampoo and conditioner containers empty (supposedly you can ask them to fill them but it's a bit late when you're already wet in the shower!), whole room stunk of curry (thing it was coming through the air vents from another room), awful staff checking you in - never even said welcome when I arrived or asked me how my stay was when I left, duvet had no cover and was stained yellow - had to take it off and sleep with a sheet only.

The good points - location and secure undercover parking.

In summary - I would rather sleep on a park bench than waste my $180 here. Stay elsewhere - there has got to better places in Toowoomba surely!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.0 mi away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#6 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Platinum International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Toowoomba
Quest Toowoomba
#1 of 20 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athena Motel Apartments
Athena Motel Apartments
#2 of 20 in Toowoomba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laguna Serviced Apartments Toowoomba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel

Property: Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel
Address: 532-544 Ruthven St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel is the premier accommodation experience in the region. This elegant establishment offers a CBD resort style experience where guests can choose from modern studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartment suites and penthouses. Guests can also enjoy the heated pool and spa, gym, BBQ area, conference facilities and day spa. Free continental breakfast is available daily in the corporate lounge except for public holidays. This 4.5 Star establishment is located in the heart of Toowoomba CBD and is directly across the street from the Town Hall. There is an array of eateries and shops at the doorstep and the historic Empire Theatre is very near. Each apartment suite is fully equipped and stylishly furnished. Dine in or dine out - the choice is yours! Toowoomba Central Plaza offers FREE Wi-Fi , FREE FOXTEL and FREE SECURE UNDERCOVER PARKING. Toowoomba Central Plaza is the perfect venue for a quality meeting, conference or event as the in house facilities are modern and contemporary. The 4.5 star facilities offer a choice of two function rooms for up to 350 delegates with fully integrated audio visual equipment, data projector, screen, broadband and DVD/HiFi Stereo. Toowoomba Central Plaza has proven to be the accommodation of choice for many captains of industry, politicians, leading show business personalities and very many bridal parties seeking a wonderful experience for that one special day. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing