We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay if in Mount Isa on business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Central Point Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Mount Isa
cairns, qld
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place to stay if in Mount Isa on business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I was going to wait until the end of my stay to do this review but there is no need to as I have stayed one night and now complete this review with confidence.

The motel is situated right in the heart of town with Coles and Kmart a stones throw away. For those who want fast food KFC and macca's is also within a five minute walk.

The rooms are perfect for staying for work. It seems that the managers have thought of everything, including the little things (like even a spray bottle to help with ironing). There is everything you need in the room for a comfortable stay as well as Foxtel Channels to keep entertained.

The room was serviced to high standard with honesty as, unbeknownst to me I had dropped money on the floor and I returned from work to find the coin on my desk with the room made up.

Book with confidence

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
16
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Last visit Nov12. This visit Mar13. Exactly the same :) I can see this property becoming my regular bed when in Mt Isa. This time went exploring and found excellent walk up the hill to the lookout right behind the motel. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Good clean comfortable room with everything you need when making a short trip to Mount Isa. Good sized room, with fully equipped kitchenette. Very good bed, lovely hot water. Effective air-conditioning. Right in central Mount Isa. If you want a break from self catering there is a good pub across the road they have a meal deal with too. It was a real pleasure after the disappointing accommodation on the road between Charters Towers and Mount Isa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

i stayed at this motel last week and i found the rooms very clean and quite large - even though the rooms are a bit dated the owner maintains them very well. i only saw one staff member during my stay which i think was either the owner or the manager and i found him very pleasant to deal with.the only negative i have which is not the fault of the motel is there is a fair ammount of road noise as it is located on the main road. overall its a good place to base yourself and it is walking distance to the shops and the Buffs club

Room Tip: i think all rooms would be equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imanaussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had a one night stop over in Mount Isa following a job interview in the area. The motel was very central and close the everything.

The room was very clean, the owner was very friendly and helpful.

The room had everything you could need for a short stay, microwave, fridge, iron etc. I would have happily have stayed here longer and would have no hesitation in staying if I happen to be in Mount Isa again.

The price was very reasonable given the local market.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The motel is small set back from the road centrally located across the road from a Shopping Centre, Restaurants and the Buff Service Club. Show your motel key at the Buff club and your first beer, wine or soft drink are free. The motel has all mod cons, spotless, a very comfortable bed and a small kitchenette with microwave. Outside is a BBQ is a shaded area in the gardens and outside pool. The owners are very friendly and helpful. A budget price motel that is great value for your dollar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
361 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night (wish we had stayed longer). The motel is small, yet has everything including a pool. It is opposite K-Mart near the centre of town. The room was nice, clean, comfortable and everything worked well. The owner was helpful and friendly and went to the trouble of finding us a good place to eat and other helpful suggestions. The price was very reasonable. Somebody recommended this place to us saying it was a hidden gem! They were right.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Isa hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
#4 of 13 in Mount Isa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cityside Accommodation
Cityside Accommodation
#11 of 13 in Mount Isa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.4 mi away
RedEarth Hotel
RedEarth Hotel
#5 of 13 in Mount Isa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burke & Wills
Burke & Wills
#6 of 13 in Mount Isa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copper City Motel
Copper City Motel
#1 of 13 in Mount Isa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fourth Ave Motor Inn
Fourth Ave Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Mount Isa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Point Motel

Property: Central Point Motel
Address: 6 Marian St, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mount Isa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Mount Isa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Point Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing