We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top place!”
Review of Abacus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abacus Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mount Isa
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I recently stayed at The Abascas just after the transition of NEW ownership and management and found the staff to be friendly and helpfull in everyway. The food at the restaurant was the best feed i have had in a long time, i love the country feel of the place. Rooms were clean, price was reasonable for a mine town I though. welcomed feed back and suggestions. Good luck guys cant wait to see it at its full potential, we will be back for sure :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Abacus Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

The sheets and floors are filthy, do not look under the bottom sheet as the stains will scare you away, not to mention the dirty glasses and fridge. If you get you meal delivered to your room check it for everything you ordered and for cutlery as the service is very poor and not at all helpful ( esp the owner). The room I stayed in had a phone but wasn't connected to the wall so it was useless. DO NOT try and watch TV the few Austar channels they do have are not worth watching cause the reception is crap. I tried to watch the football and couldn't see the ball. Overall for the price I was very very upset.

Room Tip: Away from the hyway as possible.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacusTeam, Owner at Abacus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Hi navma01, We apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you had at the Abacus Motel in September 2012. We'd like to inform you that we purchased the motel on the 25th September 2012, so it is now a family owned and family run Motel. We took all of the reviews into consideration and we have worked very very hard to bring about the changes that were needed to bring it up to a much higher standard. We have replaced the T.V.s with larger flat screens, you also now have more channel options and we have addressed the problem with the reception. We have replaced a lot of the bedlinen, towels etc etc and as customer service is our number one priority I guarantee that you will not find more friendlier helpful staff and managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

my husband and i moved to mount isa but had spent 6 weeks apart and when he arrived up we went to the abacus for a 'romantic' eveing in. he booked the spa room and asked them to put champagne on ice for us. we werent expecting anything very flash after all it is mount isa but we were quite disapointed.
there was champagne in the fridge like asked. but we had to drink it from tumbler glasses that smelled a bit funny and were old n stained. there were marks and stains on the sheets and blankets. the air conditioner was noisy and we didnt sleep a wink that night, spent it tossing and turning on the hard bed. in the morning we went for breakfast, which cost us about $20 each, it was nice, i enjoyed it but my husband hated it, he didnt eat his. then we went to pay the bill and instead of being $150 like they discussed they charged him $175 and then another $150 for the champagne. it was a small bottle of moet, so they made a nice100% profit on the champers. a little mean we thought.
the spa was nice though but not worth the $400 he forked out for it in the end. so, my advise is to get everything in writing before you go there or simply stay else where.. it was our only motel experience in mount isa and has scarred me for life of mount isa motels from now i think :o)

Room Tip: ask for spa room
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antsinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacusTeam, Owner at Abacus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Hi antsinwonderland, I would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you had at the Abacus Motel in 2011. The motel is now a family owned and family run motel as we purchased it in late 2012. We have made a lot of drastic changes and I'm quite sure that if you stayed with us again your previous stay would be but a distant memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

On our whole trip from Darwin to Townsville, this was by far the worst and most expensive place we stayed at.
I understand that cockroaches are difficult to eradicate, and I could probably forgive that. However, the filthy disgusting state of the bed line, cannot be forgiven at all. When we pulled down our covers to get into bed the huge and various amount of stains on the mattress protector underneath were clearly visible. We quickly pulled the covers back up, put our own towels down, and got out the spare blankets. The spare blankets were just as bad as the mattress protector, with numerous stains, of various sizes and colours. I cannot see how they can justify their prices, when they obviously don't make much of an attempt to keep the place clean.
Never again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BelindaChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbacusTeam, Public Relations Manager at Abacus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Hi BelindaChen, I apologize for the bad experience you had while staying at the Abacus Motel in 2011. I would like to let you know that very late in 2012 we purchased the motel and have worked very hard and made some drastic changes. It is now a family owned and managed motel and I guarantee that if you stayed again you would definitely notice the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Isa hotels
1.8 mi away
Burke & Wills
Burke & Wills
#4 of 13 in Mount Isa
65 reviews
1.9 mi away
RedEarth Hotel
RedEarth Hotel
#7 of 13 in Mount Isa
72 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
#6 of 13 in Mount Isa
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cityside Accommodation
Cityside Accommodation
#11 of 13 in Mount Isa
14 reviews
2.2 mi away
Copper City Motel
Copper City Motel
#1 of 13 in Mount Isa
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fourth Ave Motor Inn
Fourth Ave Motor Inn
#5 of 13 in Mount Isa
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacus Motel

Address: 163 Barkly Highway, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mount Isa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mount Isa
Price Range: $108 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abacus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Abacus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing