We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A RedEarth Renaissance!”
Review of RedEarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
RedEarth Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mount Isa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wow – what a makeover. I am referring to the transformation of the former Boyds and Isa Hotels in Mount Isa. As a fairly regular visitor to Isa over many years, I was shocked that I was unaware of the changes that have occurred.
A bit of history – I remember as a young cowboy in the late 60’s walking in to the bar at Boyds during the Isa Rodeo. The image will stay with me forever – there was a full-on brawl in progress in the bar with bodies on the floor and the crowd yelling for more – literally, like something from Dante’s inferno. I bolted, and have not been through the doors since, until my recent visit when my usual hostlery was fully booked. What a stroke of luck!
Back to the present – the refurbishment has been top class and very tastefully done. My room was well fitted out with a patio overlooking the Isa mine – it was 40 degrees so it did not get a lot of use on this occasion. Fronting the street was not a problem as traffic noise was zero. The room was large, with a good bed and fittings, a large flat screen TV, a good shower and air-conditioning. All major boxes ticked. Importantly, the room and bathroom were spotless.
I wondered about the cuisine as Isa is a long way from anywhere but they have it covered – the Redearth Restaurant is well laid out and has a good ambience with a menu that seems to have something for everybody, staffed by keen, efficient kids that were on the ball. I chose the Barramundi - a good call with a tasty Risotto and salad, preceded by grilled scallops. Enjoyable with a chilled quaffer!
Breakfast was a walk through to the Isa Hotel next door - no problems.
I HAVE A NEW HOME WHEN IN ISA!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grjayBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 76 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

This review is for the Red Earth Restaurant, not the hotel accommodation. I recently had a birthday dinner here, choosing the venue as a result of a review on Urbanspoon.
The food and service were very high quality. Really the restaurant could be in any major centre. It's quite a surprise that it is located here in Mount Isa!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank stevejohnson_4870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This review is for the Isa Hotel, not the more expensive Red Earth Hotel.

I stayed here a couple of years ago and had a central facing room which seemed to overlook a central service core. This time however I had an outside facing corner room with a lot of windows which was a much better aspect. I had a couple of issues with the toilet leaking (which was fixed the next day) and I also lost the power in my room which was quickly restored. I like the location of the motel which is well away from the main roads which are noisy at night and it is only a short walk to Woolworths. The steak restaurant downstairs serves good meals although it can get busy at night so recommend you try and get there by 6.30pm. You'll fund a lot of tables reserved for larger groups.

Room Tip: Try to get an outside room, not those in the centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scowler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Having travelled to Mount Isa for the past 9 years I recently booked to stay at the RedEarth Motel after a recommendation by friends following renovations. I booked months in advance and actually paid a month in advance however when we checked in, my wife and I were not put in the RedEarth motel but an adjoining hotel called Isa Hotel.
This second rate pub accommodation at $259 per night with its water stain and paint peeling ceiling, a TV that did not even get free to air reception, a jug that had to be put on the floor so the cord could reach the power point, a view out the window of another brick wall one metre away, a manager who couldn't be bothered to meet with me to discuss the booking (that was probably what got up my nose the most) and pub music right below that went till 3am. Sorry almost forgot about the sliding wardrobe mirror door that fell of its rails.
I booked for the RedEarth Hotel but was shuffled to the adjoining Isa Hotel ... make sure your receipt shows the correct hotel but either way the Verona (opposite) may be old but at least they have good service.
Overall RedEarth / Isa Hotel is over priced and over rated.
RedEarth / Isa Hotel does not get my tick.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alby060356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

For a comfortable room and friendly service I recommend this hotel complex in the centre of Mount Isa. Boutique rooms are updated from an old hotel with spacious verandahs and period decor. I stayed for a conference visit in a less expensive room in the adjacent Isa Hotel that shares a central management and reception desk. The two hotel complex offers a range of eating options including a relaxed outdoor deck area. The menu includes local specialties - giant steaks and local Barramundi, but prices are high due to the cost of transporting food to this remote location.

Room Tip: Some of the Isa hotel rooms are designed to cater for flyin/flyout mine workers wanting to sleep dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the first hotel I have ever seen that does not have a window. At the end of the room there are curtains where you would expect to find a window, but behind the curtains there is nothing but solid wall. The room itself is ordinary, especially for the price (although mining towns are often expensive like this).

I stayed in the Isa Hotel side, but had to find reception on the Redearth side to check in and out.

Room Tip: Its a mining town so book early to get a room midweek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We weren't expecting much in Mount Isa when we turned up late one afternoon after 10 days camping in the bush, but the RedEarth Hotel was a real find.
Very comfortable (and spotlessly clean) room with a super bed and one of the quietest nights ever! We ate in the restaurant which, although feeling like something of a throw-back to the 1980's, was really rather good.
Friendly staff and a great CBD location make this the place to stay when you're feeling like some luxe in The Isa!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Isa hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
#4 of 13 in Mount Isa
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burke & Wills
Burke & Wills
#3 of 13 in Mount Isa
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spinifex Motel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copper City Motel
Copper City Motel
#1 of 13 in Mount Isa
85 reviews
0 mi away
Isa Hotel
Isa Hotel
#2 of 7 in Mount Isa
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fourth Ave Motor Inn
Fourth Ave Motor Inn
#5 of 13 in Mount Isa
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RedEarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedEarth Hotel

Address: Rodeo Dr, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mount Isa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mount Isa
Price Range: $112 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — RedEarth Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RedEarth Boutique Hotel is one of the finest and most prestigious accommodation hotels in Australia being awarded QHA Best Superior Accommodation Hotel, offering luxuriously appointed accommodation with fully refurbished rooms ranging from Executive to the Presidential and Spa Suites, each room fitted with the finest quality fixtures matched with antique furniture and completed with silk quilt covers and white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your RedEarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing