We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad - Isa Hotel”
Review of RedEarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
RedEarth Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mount Isa
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not too bad - Isa Hotel”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This review is for the Isa Hotel, not the more expensive Red Earth Hotel.

I stayed here a couple of years ago and had a central facing room which seemed to overlook a central service core. This time however I had an outside facing corner room with a lot of windows which was a much better aspect. I had a couple of issues with the toilet leaking (which was fixed the next day) and I also lost the power in my room which was quickly restored. I like the location of the motel which is well away from the main roads which are noisy at night and it is only a short walk to Woolworths. The steak restaurant downstairs serves good meals although it can get busy at night so recommend you try and get there by 6.30pm. You'll fund a lot of tables reserved for larger groups.

Room Tip: Try to get an outside room, not those in the centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scowler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
12
2
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Having travelled to Mount Isa for the past 9 years I recently booked to stay at the RedEarth Motel after a recommendation by friends following renovations. I booked months in advance and actually paid a month in advance however when we checked in, my wife and I were not put in the RedEarth motel but an adjoining hotel called Isa Hotel.
This second rate pub accommodation at $259 per night with its water stain and paint peeling ceiling, a TV that did not even get free to air reception, a jug that had to be put on the floor so the cord could reach the power point, a view out the window of another brick wall one metre away, a manager who couldn't be bothered to meet with me to discuss the booking (that was probably what got up my nose the most) and pub music right below that went till 3am. Sorry almost forgot about the sliding wardrobe mirror door that fell of its rails.
I booked for the RedEarth Hotel but was shuffled to the adjoining Isa Hotel ... make sure your receipt shows the correct hotel but either way the Verona (opposite) may be old but at least they have good service.
Overall RedEarth / Isa Hotel is over priced and over rated.
RedEarth / Isa Hotel does not get my tick.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alby060356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

For a comfortable room and friendly service I recommend this hotel complex in the centre of Mount Isa. Boutique rooms are updated from an old hotel with spacious verandahs and period decor. I stayed for a conference visit in a less expensive room in the adjacent Isa Hotel that shares a central management and reception desk. The two hotel complex offers a range of eating options including a relaxed outdoor deck area. The menu includes local specialties - giant steaks and local Barramundi, but prices are high due to the cost of transporting food to this remote location.

Room Tip: Some of the Isa hotel rooms are designed to cater for flyin/flyout mine workers wanting to sleep dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the first hotel I have ever seen that does not have a window. At the end of the room there are curtains where you would expect to find a window, but behind the curtains there is nothing but solid wall. The room itself is ordinary, especially for the price (although mining towns are often expensive like this).

I stayed in the Isa Hotel side, but had to find reception on the Redearth side to check in and out.

Room Tip: Its a mining town so book early to get a room midweek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingil Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We weren't expecting much in Mount Isa when we turned up late one afternoon after 10 days camping in the bush, but the RedEarth Hotel was a real find.
Very comfortable (and spotlessly clean) room with a super bed and one of the quietest nights ever! We ate in the restaurant which, although feeling like something of a throw-back to the 1980's, was really rather good.
Friendly staff and a great CBD location make this the place to stay when you're feeling like some luxe in The Isa!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Booked this room about 2 months in advance, and having worked in the hotel industry before, I asked the receptionist specifically how much it would cost to stay for 2 nights - she gave me a price of $220. I thought this was a bit cheap, so I double checked with her if it was a PER NIGHT rate or if it was the total cost, all up for both nights. She assured me it was the total for both nights. I never recieved my email booking confirmation so I called again a week later, again double-checking the price, and was given the same amount. Upon check in, my partner handed over his credit card for a pre-authorisation of $544. Then when checking out, we were charged another $438. I queried the price, as I had been assured on 2 occasions that it would be much less, and the receptionist said there was nothing she could do, and that the manager would give me a call. 5 days later, the pre-auth still hasn't been refunded to my partner's credit card. I spoke to the manager and she said she, "Doesn't feel comfortable doing a refund," and that she could give me a discount on my next stay. Seeing as I live in Brisbane and won't be returning to Mount Isa anytime in the foreseeable future, this is absolutely no help to me. Refunds aren't hard to do. Trust me, I've worked in many jobs (including hotel reception) where refunds have been made. Train your staff better so they understand the difference between 'per-night' or 'total stay', or reduce the price of your nice (but well over priced) rooms. I hope everyone who goes to Mt Isa chooses to stay elsewhere, instead of being blatantly ripped off by your hotel. I also hope that the Hakfoorts (owners of the hotel and many more businesses) read this review and decide to appoint new, more competent management and reception staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed for three nights on business in March. Great check-in, friendly staff, clean and well appointed room with aircon that worked without too much noise. All in all a great stay.
The lobby bar is busy and plenty of chatter, especially if there is footy on the TV.
The lobby restaurant served great food, but, as a North American in Oz, I found everything very expensive. The restaurant at the adjoining hotel is used for breakfast, but I found the service there to be slow and often inattentive - "A pineapple juice, please" turned into two apple juices, and for some reason it took twenty minutes to poach two eggs. I suspect they got the order wrong. At dinner, this restaurant is a cafeteria style - you order your food from the cash, and pick it up when your little electronic flashy thing starts to beep. Different, for me anyway. Dinner is often busy, so you may have to wait a bit for your food once you have ordered it.
I would recommend it to anyone, with the caveat that the restaurant will seem expensive for North Americans (but then Oz is expensive if you are coming from North America), and you may have to wait for your breakfast. The bar is great, friendly staff, and the room / service is very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Isa hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
#7 of 13 in Mount Isa
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burke & Wills
Burke & Wills
#4 of 13 in Mount Isa
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spinifex Motel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Isa Hotel
Isa Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mount Isa
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leichhardt Accommodation
Leichhardt Accommodation
#3 of 13 in Mount Isa
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copper City Motel
Copper City Motel
#1 of 13 in Mount Isa
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RedEarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedEarth Hotel

Property: RedEarth Hotel
Address: Rodeo Dr, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mount Isa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mount Isa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — RedEarth Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RedEarth Boutique Hotel is one of the finest and most prestigious accommodation hotels in Australia being awarded QHA Best Superior Accommodation Hotel, offering luxuriously appointed accommodation with fully refurbished rooms ranging from Executive to the Presidential and Spa Suites, each room fitted with the finest quality fixtures matched with antique furniture and completed with silk quilt covers and white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your RedEarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing