We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch specials”

Sorbello's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 197 Restaurants in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sorbellos is a vibrant, fully licenced Italian Restaurant with a a vast menu including Steaks, Seafood, Main Meals, Pasta, Pizza, Desserts, Coffee & Gelato. Dining options are available for Gluten Free, Vegetarian & other dietary considerations. Full menus are available on the Sorbello's Italian Restaurant website - Main Menu, Lunch, Function/Group Deals, Takeaway, Catering. There is an extensive wine cellar, cocktail menu and a huge selection of beers and spirits. . Please reserve your table as busy nights are often booked out. Phone ONLY for reservations - no emails please. Special Events are held at Sorbellos, such as "Jazz Lunches", Wine Dinners & Lunches, Melbourne Cup Day & Italian Lunches. With the Jazz & Italian Lunches live music is played throughout the lunch. Check the website or facebook page for details on Events.
Macleay Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great lunch specials”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Good food is all ways on the menu at Sorbello's....
I have eaten there quite a few time recently and every time the dish I have had has been good.
I have been there for lunch as I reckon the prices for the set menu are very reasonable and the choice is varied enough to not have to eat the same dish twice (well not unless you loved it sooooo much and couldn't go past!!) if your in Mackay, you should try this one out.
I reckon you won't go wrong.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bergerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    206
    81
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Calamari I have EVER had!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The owners are super friendly and welcoming, and the service is great. They run a tight ship, but maintaining a smile at the same time. The calamari MUST be tried, it is melt in your mouth delicious, the best I have ever tried (and I've tried a lot!). Beautiful gnocchi made on site, this place has plenty of personality, and is a great family-run business. Will definitely visit again next time I'm in Mackay! :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starlet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, the biggest menu you will ever see!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The atmosphere is friendly, but too impersonal. The tasty food makes up for what is lacking in atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dinner with Friends”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Food was delicious and the wine was great, although on the pricey end. It was a very busy night and we had to ask one of the passing waitresses for a drink initially but the service picked up after that. A very enjoyable night had by all.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsKK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor man's italian restaurant”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Was reasonably excited to go to this place as it seemed to be the most bustling in Mackay on our short stay. On the night we went, the restaurant was packed.

On a positive note, they have a small space set aside for couples away from the action of the larger groups, so the noise doesn't become overbearing. A general plus.

I've never seen a menu like this one before. There must be about 3,000 items on the menu (not kidding) and it stretches along about 30 pages. We were convinced it was formatted using M'Soft Excel. Every product line had about 15 variations.

As for the food. We ordered the antipasto platter for 2 as an entree. From what we could tell, it was all essentially from jars and had been slapped on the plate. It was ok, but not spectacular. For mains, we ordered the chicken salad and prawn salad, both costing around $25.00 each. The food was quite poor given the price. There was 3 prawns in the salad which were cut in half to make 6. There was slightly more chicken in the other salad. The salad itself was basic and must have been drowned in mayonnaise. Suffice to say it was an underwhelming experience.

Service was fast. Our waitress introduced herself and offered us both the menu and daily specials. We were also provided tap water without request. The meals arrived within about 20-25 minutes.

This would be a good place if you'd like to attend a bar with a wide variety of wines and beers. The bar sits in the back corner, but is of a decent size and well equipped.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinny_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorbello's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Mackay, Queensland
 

Been to Sorbello's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing