We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
mackay
1 review
“An Excellent Experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at the Clarion Hotel. Service was next to done, the staff were willing to assist at all hours. The room was very clean and modern, with all assessories i required.

With excellent views of the harbour. I will return....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Great to hear you liked your stay.. Hope to see you again . Please stay safe and thank you for your feedback .. The Clarion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    95
    52
    20
    19
See reviews for
70
119
15
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The beat views in Mackay. Spend the money on a good room with a view that changes across the day. Balcony is good. Spa room very nice. Huge rooms with all you could want. Good service at bar. Pool looked good. Location for walk on break wall. Very close to food options to suit everyone . Try the seafood place on the end for very good options and take outside and eat watching the marina movement. Get a cold beer next door. Good for everyone. Very popular so come early.

Room Tip: Spend the money and go a good room eg spa suite with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMark824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spent 6 nights here. Our room was beautifully presented and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem. Special thanks to Shane for the extra special attention we received from him. Would return in a heartbeat. Leave your watch behind as you wont need it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melindaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words... Please tell all the folks in Melbourne what they are mssing out on ..However your are correct in saying you do not need a watch up here ... there is no trains No buses... no trams ..and absoultely no rush... We just work on Mango time and beer O'clock

Remember it is easy & cheapy cheap cheap to fly up on Tiger direct ...if you ever are thinking visiting us again ...

The Clarion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My fishing trip was cut short from the cyclonic weather. Clarion offered welcome relief soon after hopping off the ship. My room on the 6th floor was very clean, spacious, well appointed, and overlooked the marina. Free WIFI in the lobby. Staff are friendly and accommodating to your needs. Location is fantastic if you need to be near the marina. The marina is several minutes drive from Mackay CBD. Good selection of eateries at the marina. I chose to have breakfast in the Clarion. Pre-pay for the buffet breakfast voucher ($20) at reception desk a day ahead, otherwise it will cost $27.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Mackay & The Coral Sea is one of the hidden gems of Queensland fishing ... you "sometimes" just about need to hide in the your cabin when baiting up ( the Fishing is that good) ..

Sounds like the Qld tropical low turn into a Tropical high ... once you got here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Qld Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay here regularly to get our fix of a water view! The staff are always helpful and friendly. Rooms are spotless. No seating on balconies which is a bit disappointing. Room service is excellent. I recommend glass of champagne in hand and a good soak in the spa!

Room Tip: Spa suite above the 4th Floor and on southside of building Excellent!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klasegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times for business over the last year but unfortuntely no longer travel to Mackay & this is the one thing I miss.
Great location especially if you like an early morning/late afternoon walk or run as the marina & seaway offers a great place to get your exercise. Views from the rooms (try to get a high floor) are superb over the Marina.
Staff are lovely, always keen to offer great service (restaurant always seems to be open for a coffee). Even during the recent renovations to the restaurant area they made sure basic food was available - I was super impressed when they phone me the month before to let me know that the restaurant wouldn't be open during the week I was staying & was I still okay to stay. Good options closeby for other food.
Sorry I won't be travelling to Mackay in the near future but I certainly recommend this hotel to friends & colleagues.

Room Tip: try for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah4341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We were given a very friendly welcome with a generous upgrade offer. We had a very refreshing relaxed couple of days.
It was great to stay where everything was good quality. The king size bed was very comfy as was the luxury linen.
Great to stay where it was quet away from the city traffic & the views are just brilliant.
Not the cheapest motel in Mackay but certainly the best, you get value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
3.2 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#21 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#11 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina

Property: Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Address: Mulherin Drive | Mackay Marina, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackay
#2 Business Hotel in Mackay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina is considered as Mackay's premier hotel. Located on the relaxing waterfront setting of the picturesque Mackay Marina, the hotel is only a short drive from Mackay's city centre and 20 minutes from Mackay Airport and is Mackay's only hotel with marina views over the tropical blue waters of the Coral Sea. The 4.5 Star hotel provides a selection of high quality accommodation rooms, from Deluxe Studio rooms and 1 Bedroom Apartments through to Executive Suites and Superior Spa suites. All rooms are superbly appointed with all the modern conveniences you would expect to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible including; i-pod docking stations, flat screen televisions, fully appointed kitchenettes and private balconies providing fresh sea breezes and views over the marina setting and out to sea. Our onsite Latitude 21 Bar & Restaurant provides modern Australian cuisine and is open for breakfast daily and dinner Monday to Saturday, room service menu is available daily. The Mackay Marina, voted Australia's number 1 marina precinct, is also right on the doorstep providing a choice of bars, cafes and restaurants including George's Thai, Angelo's on the Marina Italian, The Deck Steakhouse and Mackay's famous fresh seafood at The Lighthouse. Harbour Beach is also just a short stroll providing long stretches of golden, sandy beaches. Other facilities include 24 hour reception and on-site security, secure parking, swimming pool, fitness room, complimentary guest laundry on each level, fully air-conditioned hallways as well as unlimited FREE guest WiFi. The Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina provides the perfect setting for conferences, meetings, functions and weddings providing a number of versatile and high quality function rooms and breakout areas. Our dedicated function staff can help tailor an event to suit any occasion. The hotel provides a range of excellent guest services that have built a strong reputation with business travellers and holiday makers and has been awarded best hotel in its category by Choice Hotels Australasia and AHA's Best Superior Accommodation Australia. Our waterfront location and comprehensive facilities combined with friendly and professional service will ensure your stay in Mackay will be comfortable, enjoyable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Mackay
Mackay Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing