We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel at least three time so far this year. This is a lovely hotel located on the Marina at Mackay. It is of an international standard with a great restaurant and fantastic views. The rooms are modern and well appointed, and the staff are extremely customer oriented and friendly. It is probably the best hotel in Mackay.

The hotel has good facilities with a nice pool and a gym. Out the front of the hotel is a lovely walk way along the marina, and if you continue walking for about 5 minutes you come to the beach front where you can walk forever.

If you don't want to eat in the hotel you have a choice of italian, thai, a steak house, a fantastic fish cafe and take away, a lovely little general cafe or a pub. All these restaurants and cafes have great food and are very well priced. All of them are less than a 3 minute walk from the hotel.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough. If you want to treat yourself stay here next time you are in Mackay! Just make sure you book well in advance because it is regularly booked out.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view! I have only ever had water views but just check to make s...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ButtonsLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 401 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

Clarion Mackay has it all right.

On arrival we were greeted by the owner of the hotel (Shane Bowman) who made it obvious he appreciated our business with a friendly conversation and a free Crown beer. Shane has run this Clarion property from day one.

The hotel offers free internet and stunning rooms. The rooms are clean, modern and if you are lucky, offers an excellent view of the Mackay Marina.

A few restaurants are within meters of the hotel which offer various choices in dining, however the Clarion offers it's own restaurant (which is a bit expensive but you get what you pay for).

I would suggest having a hire car as the shops are not within walking distance.

If I had the choice I would stay here everytime I visited Mackay.

Thank-you Shane Bowman and your team for an excellent stay! So many hotels could learn from you and it would be great to see more of this standard of service. 10/10 in my books.

Room Tip: Ask for the spa suite and Marina view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottWooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Clarion is a great hotel to unwind after a big week. The supporting amenity out at the Mackay harbor really makes it a resort feel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boots8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed back in April and have been a little busy to write a review until now. I wanted to comment, because out of all the hotels in Australia, this was the best. The manager Shane Bowman was the perfect host. All the staff were friendly, including the kitchen staff who cooked some prawns I picked up at Coles. If you want a place to stay for business or pleasure, you should look no further than this hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oakwood69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Room 7010 on the top floor - views for miles even though it was lightly raining! We looked over the hotel pool (too cold for swimming when we were there), the marina, and out to sea all the way to Hay Point where the huge long wharf is. Room was not large but everything was there and spotlessly clean. We chose not to but we could have cooked a meal in this room. Pots, and pans, small oven/microwave, small fridge, cutlery, crockery etc. Shower only, no bath in ours, good long vanity for putting toiletries on, serviced well - nice towels!

The restaurant was full the night we arrived so we couldn't eat there - it did look nice and the Menu was good - maybe a bit pricey but until one sees the portion sizes it is hard to judge.

A short walk along from the hotel we found George's Thai restaurant and then the next night Angelo's on the Marina (Italian). Both worth a visit - good food and service.

Clarion seem to pride themselves on being a cut above the rest. Check Out and In was speedy. Do check your bill though. We had prepaid but were charged again - easily sorted out.The room compendium says local calls xxc for 30 mins. Our bill for a ten minute local call was $4.00. Again easily sorted out but should this happen?

Mackay is an interesting place - a mining town, but in spite of some raised eyebrows when we said we would spend two nights there, we did enjoy the place. Everything is expensive here and it seems the reason is - because people will pay it!The best piece of advice we received before arriving - do not leave your accommodation until you get there - prebook!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor and north facing!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaikatoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in march 2011, and we found it to be in excellent condition, in a lovely quiet location with great views of the Marina. The staff were more than helpful in every aspect of our stay, with the general manager Shane Bowman treating us to an upgraded room and even taking time out to show us some of the local attractions. All in all a very pleasant 8 days were spent at this hotel and have already highly recommend to friends and family. John and Margaret Heron from Glasgow Scotland.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sheron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Your basic average hotel at above-average prices. Everything was quite acceptable but not worthy of the price tag. Room was clean but musty, even after airing out the old 1970s motel room smell did not go away. Chair provided at the desk was uncomfortable and not functional as a work chair. No furniture on the balcony. Nice bathroom with high pressure shower and really hot water. Lifts slow and small so if the hotel is busy you may have to wait a while to catch one. Room service and breakfast were average quality but overpriced. Overall a clean, decent place to stay but only if you can find a discounted rate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kilat_Goby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
3.2 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#8 of 34 in Mackay
218 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#26 of 34 in Mackay
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
117 reviews
4.5 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
126 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina

Address: Mulherin Drive | Mackay Marina, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackay
#2 Business Hotel in Mackay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range: $105 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina is considered as Mackay's premier hotel. Located on the relaxing waterfront setting of the picturesque Mackay Marina, the hotel is only a short drive from Mackay's city centre and 20 minutes from Mackay Airport and is Mackay's only hotel with marina views over the tropical blue waters of the Coral Sea. The 4.5 Star hotel provides a selection of high quality accommodation rooms, from Deluxe Studio rooms and 1 Bedroom Apartments through to Executive Suites and Superior Spa suites. All rooms are superbly appointed with all the modern conveniences you would expect to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible including; i-pod docking stations, flat screen televisions, fully appointed kitchenettes and private balconies providing fresh sea breezes and views over the marina setting and out to sea. Our onsite Latitude 21 Bar & Restaurant provides modern Australian cuisine and is open for breakfast daily and dinner Monday to Saturday, room service menu is available daily. The Mackay Marina, voted Australia's number 1 marina precinct, is also right on the doorstep providing a choice of bars, cafes and restaurants including George's Thai, Angelo's on the Marina Italian, The Deck Steakhouse and Mackay's famous fresh seafood at The Lighthouse. Harbour Beach is also just a short stroll providing long stretches of golden, sandy beaches. Other facilities include 24 hour reception and on-site security, secure parking, swimming pool, fitness room, complimentary guest laundry on each level, fully air-conditioned hallways as well as unlimited FREE guest WiFi. The Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina provides the perfect setting for conferences, meetings, functions and weddings providing a number of versatile and high quality function rooms and breakout areas. Our dedicated function staff can help tailor an event to suit any occasion. The hotel provides a range of excellent guest services that have built a strong reputation with business travellers and holiday makers and has been awarded best hotel in its category by Choice Hotels Australasia and AHA's Best Superior Accommodation Australia. Our waterfront location and comprehensive facilities combined with friendly and professional service will ensure your stay in Mackay will be comfortable, enjoyable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Mackay
Mackay Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing