We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Clarion is a great hotel to unwind after a big week. The supporting amenity out at the Mackay harbor really makes it a resort feel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boots8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    97
    52
    20
    19
See reviews for
70
121
15
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed back in April and have been a little busy to write a review until now. I wanted to comment, because out of all the hotels in Australia, this was the best. The manager Shane Bowman was the perfect host. All the staff were friendly, including the kitchen staff who cooked some prawns I picked up at Coles. If you want a place to stay for business or pleasure, you should look no further than this hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oakwood69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Room 7010 on the top floor - views for miles even though it was lightly raining! We looked over the hotel pool (too cold for swimming when we were there), the marina, and out to sea all the way to Hay Point where the huge long wharf is. Room was not large but everything was there and spotlessly clean. We chose not to but we could have cooked a meal in this room. Pots, and pans, small oven/microwave, small fridge, cutlery, crockery etc. Shower only, no bath in ours, good long vanity for putting toiletries on, serviced well - nice towels!

The restaurant was full the night we arrived so we couldn't eat there - it did look nice and the Menu was good - maybe a bit pricey but until one sees the portion sizes it is hard to judge.

A short walk along from the hotel we found George's Thai restaurant and then the next night Angelo's on the Marina (Italian). Both worth a visit - good food and service.

Clarion seem to pride themselves on being a cut above the rest. Check Out and In was speedy. Do check your bill though. We had prepaid but were charged again - easily sorted out.The room compendium says local calls xxc for 30 mins. Our bill for a ten minute local call was $4.00. Again easily sorted out but should this happen?

Mackay is an interesting place - a mining town, but in spite of some raised eyebrows when we said we would spend two nights there, we did enjoy the place. Everything is expensive here and it seems the reason is - because people will pay it!The best piece of advice we received before arriving - do not leave your accommodation until you get there - prebook!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor and north facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaikatoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in march 2011, and we found it to be in excellent condition, in a lovely quiet location with great views of the Marina. The staff were more than helpful in every aspect of our stay, with the general manager Shane Bowman treating us to an upgraded room and even taking time out to show us some of the local attractions. All in all a very pleasant 8 days were spent at this hotel and have already highly recommend to friends and family. John and Margaret Heron from Glasgow Scotland.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sheron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Your basic average hotel at above-average prices. Everything was quite acceptable but not worthy of the price tag. Room was clean but musty, even after airing out the old 1970s motel room smell did not go away. Chair provided at the desk was uncomfortable and not functional as a work chair. No furniture on the balcony. Nice bathroom with high pressure shower and really hot water. Lifts slow and small so if the hotel is busy you may have to wait a while to catch one. Room service and breakfast were average quality but overpriced. Overall a clean, decent place to stay but only if you can find a discounted rate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kilat_Goby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Not a bad hotel - not far from Mackay CBD (about 15 minutes by car).Rooms are good. Great view of thye Mackay marina.The manager was very helpful but most of the girls on the front of house and in the restaurant must have been having a bad week. Blonde on the front desk was very cranky .Breakfast coffee was luke warm and when we asked for a hot cup we were told they weren't going to make any fresh as there it wasn't worth it .
One of our party was still in her room well before checkout and they tried to move new guests into her room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Snapper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Stayed for one night. Lovely room - clean, spacious and well equipped. Room had own laundry facilities - great as we had been travelling for over two weeks and therefore needed them. If you need a good place to stay in Mackay on your way up the coast stay here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tudorfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
3.2 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
208 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
109 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#20 of 34 in Mackay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
195 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#16 of 34 in Mackay
100 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina

Property: Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Address: Mulherin Drive | Mackay Marina, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackay
#2 Business Hotel in Mackay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina is considered as Mackay's premier hotel. Located on the relaxing waterfront setting of the picturesque Mackay Marina, the hotel is only a short drive from Mackay's city centre and 20 minutes from Mackay Airport and is Mackay's only hotel with marina views over the tropical blue waters of the Coral Sea. The 4.5 Star hotel provides a selection of high quality accommodation rooms, from Deluxe Studio rooms and 1 Bedroom Apartments through to Executive Suites and Superior Spa suites. All rooms are superbly appointed with all the modern conveniences you would expect to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible including; i-pod docking stations, flat screen televisions, fully appointed kitchenettes and private balconies providing fresh sea breezes and views over the marina setting and out to sea. Our onsite Latitude 21 Bar & Restaurant provides modern Australian cuisine and is open for breakfast daily and dinner Monday to Saturday, room service menu is available daily. The Mackay Marina, voted Australia's number 1 marina precinct, is also right on the doorstep providing a choice of bars, cafes and restaurants including George's Thai, Angelo's on the Marina Italian, The Deck Steakhouse and Mackay's famous fresh seafood at The Lighthouse. Harbour Beach is also just a short stroll providing long stretches of golden, sandy beaches. Other facilities include 24 hour reception and on-site security, secure parking, swimming pool, fitness room, complimentary guest laundry on each level, fully air-conditioned hallways as well as unlimited FREE guest WiFi. The Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina provides the perfect setting for conferences, meetings, functions and weddings providing a number of versatile and high quality function rooms and breakout areas. Our dedicated function staff can help tailor an event to suit any occasion. The hotel provides a range of excellent guest services that have built a strong reputation with business travellers and holiday makers and has been awarded best hotel in its category by Choice Hotels Australasia and AHA's Best Superior Accommodation Australia. Our waterfront location and comprehensive facilities combined with friendly and professional service will ensure your stay in Mackay will be comfortable, enjoyable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Mackay
Mackay Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing