We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Waste of Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Illawong Beach Resort
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Emerald, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Waste of Money”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I should have read the reviews before going though, as the airport was extremely close and the noise was horrible. With a 7 month old baby and 2 otehr small kids it wasn't a pleasant experience at all. The beach was lovely but the low tides were a pain with the water going out at least a couple of kilometre making for an extremely long walk just to have a swim. The villas is very out of date and needs lots of attention. Our villa had an unpleasant smell in it, we tried everything to get rid of the bad smell but nothing helped. We had to sleep with the sliding door open and that took away most of the bad smell thanks to the loverly rain. The villa wasn't very clean, very dissapointed especially when we entered the bathroom and there were 2heaps of sands due to ants. I mean before someone book in please make sure everything is ready to go. We were there 2 hours before checking in just to leave the trailer there so that we could go shopping but the lady at the reception desk informed me that they just cleaned the villa and we're all good to book in.
It rained most of the time we were there though making it extremely hard to unpack the car. The car is not allowed to get park outside your villa it must stay in the carpark that was nearly 30metres away from the villa and we had to walk a few times to get the car unpack. We went with a trailor because my family from overseas were here and not even the trailor was allowed to get park outside the villa, it had to stay in the car park.The pool area is quit nice but nothing else to do for children especially in cooler days like now. It's too cold to swim. One other thing that I can mention is that the photos on their website is from an other angle but what I saw was something different.
This resort is not family orientated at all but catered more for contractors.

From all my experiences with accommodation in Oz this was the worst of them all!!! I will never ever refer anyone to this resort or stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose or ask for a room close to carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Doortjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    1
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moranbah, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Ok if you can get passed the not having the mod cons and undated furniture the actual location is pretty awesome i would return to this resort just for the fact that the villas are located right on the beach had a lovely view of the sea the rooms were very spacious the price was really good have stayed in other hotels/apartments in mackay and would choose this out of all good for families.......Didn't have any probs with the noise would have been really good if the restaurant was open was a bit of a let down as the shops are about 10 mins by car.The only gripe i have is that the staff need to tend to the reception area as we arrived no staff then finally signed in tried ringing recption no aswer went to the main office and door was locked.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1600088Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

A nice location is spoilt by the unprofessionalism of the Managers of this resort.
Their unscrupulous behaviour and lies have left a very sour taste in our mouth.
We secured our booking with an Amex card and were never informed that additional charges would be incurred for the use of this card. When attempting to checkout at approx. 7.30am, the male Manager advised that he was unable to process the account, he did not know how, and he would arrange for the girls to process the account when they arrived later from the booking details. Again no mention of additional charges. We have challenged the additional charges to which they will not relent. The male Manager has also now accused us of leaving without paying. How these people continue to operate a business giving false information and making false accusations is totally beyond comprehension.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank VeryUnhappyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I had read the reviews on this page before we went to Illawong beach and was very worried about what it would be like, however was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a cabin right on the beach front with a grassed area for the kids to run around safely. The beach was approx. 10 metres away, at low tide there are 1000's of soldier crabs for the kids to catch. There was lovely new linen on the beds and everything we needed for our week long stay. I would definately recommend Illawong Beach Resort to other families, but make sure you take plenty of insect repellent as there are alot of sandflies.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

The name sounded promising but when I got there, it was a bit of a disappointment. The place looks a bit dated and slightly run down. The new owners were lovely and did all they could to accommodate me but it was not very organised - they didn't have a room for me even though they had documentation that I was booked in, so I had to swap from one room to the next. They also had a bit of problem with their septic system, which they are trying to fix. The restaurant 'Muddies' was also closed due to the lack of a chef, which was disappointing as I was looking forward to the mub crabs. However, the rooms were clean and breakfast (if ordered) was plentiful. Packaged lunch was also available if requested.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and kitchen in the units
  • Disliked — Decor and lack of facilities
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Justanothertravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

Staff were extremely friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I should have read the reviews before going though, as the airport was extremely close and the noise was horrible. The spa wasn't heated and was too cold to go in, the pool wasn't heated either but the water was slightly warmer than the spa. The beach was lovely but the low tides were a pain with the water going out at least a couple of kilometre making for an extremely long walk just to have a swim. The villas were tastefully decorated with all the essentials. We ate at muddies restaurant on our final night there and wished we had of done the first night rather than going into town to other restaurants. The food was extremely good value and absolutely superb. The kids meals were HUGE.
It rained most of the time we were there though making it extremely difficult to keep the kids amused. We didn't find a kids playroom, am assuming it no longer exists as there were a lot of children there with parents as exasperated as us trying to keep them amused. Overall the resort was fair, although mackay itself was a big dissapointment with very few things to do when its raining.

  • Liked — Had everything we needed
  • Disliked — No things for the kids
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

The location of the resort right next to the beach is very nice. The Villa's are comfortable though I was disappointed that there was no microwave in the kitchen. I was also a little disappointed that there ws no TV or airconditioner in the bedroom. My main gripe was that you are many kilometers from any facilities and there is no shuttle bus into the city. The taxi fare was around $15. Even to get a newspapr (there was none available at reception) required a walk to the nearest corner store of almost 40 minutes (and I am a fairly quick walker). The pool and spa were also far too cold to use. I would have liked them to be heated. As the place is next to the airport be prepared for the sounds of jet aircraft flying just over your head though thankfully Mackay airport is not particuarly busy. Also don't be fooled that because the resort is close to the airport it is easy to get to. The route between the two is very convulted and it cost me $14 in taxi fares. Finally I was amazed that recpetion closed at 5pm weekdays at at 11am on Sunday. What's the caper with this? Sounds like penny pinching at its worst.

  • Liked — It was right on the beach but you cant swim cause of the stingers
  • Disliked — it was lacking basic services and facilities
  • Tips/Secrets — If you plan to stay here hire a car as you are a long way from anything
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shanesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
1.1 mi away
Ocean International Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#4 of 34 in Mackay
178 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Marco Polo Motel Mackay
Marco Polo Motel Mackay
#21 of 34 in Mackay
61 reviews
8.9 mi away
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
#1 of 1 in Blacks Beach
35 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mackay Motor Inn
Mackay Motor Inn
#22 of 34 in Mackay
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illawong Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illawong Beach Resort

Property: Illawong Beach Resort
Address: 73 Illawong Drive, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Illawong Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illawong Beach Resort is located on the beachfront of Mackay, QLD. The resort is minutes from the airport and a short drive to the Mackay CBD. The resort boast villa style accommodation within the tropical surrounds of the complex. There is an outdoor swimming pool and spa surrounded by palm trees to enjoy on those warm afternoons. Onsite management is available 24 hours a day. The Illawong Beach Resort has 37 fully self contained two bedroom villas overlooking the waterfront, or by the pool. Each villa can accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Illawong Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illawong Beach Hotel Mackay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing