We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B in Mackay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 20 Mackay B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Mackay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our enormous (belated - sorry!) thanks to Noreen - who took in two weary travellers who'd been driving for 14 hours and gave us our choice of two beautiful rooms and guided us to a local store for a much needed bottle of wine that we drank watching the sunset in her stunning garden. We were up again early and on our way down the coast but not before she gave us a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended - we only wished we'd had longer to stay and relax in this tranquil spot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaschaHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed for only one night but what a wonderful stay. Noreen and Terry were wonderful hosts. The choice of bedroom was ours and both were perfect. The one we chose had a magnificent bed which was so comfortable. The deck, gardens and view were fantastic. Great breakfast and our hosts were so informative and great to speak to providing some wonderful for our trip north. If you want a drop of paradise then stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calstockphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We really liked this spot, it was or first time at a bed & breakfast. Beautifull house, with a beautifull garden and fieuw. We just stay for 1 night and the lady let us feel that we were home. Mackay is a Nice town on the beach and we where traveling to the north. Hopefully we Will come back any time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roelie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbados
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

You feel it as soon as you walk through the front gate and it just gets better as you go through the house with all its interesting paraphernalia and then wow. The veranda, the gardens, the palms, the beach, the view. You've got it all.
Your hosts are very warm, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was healthy.
My only regret is that we cannot give an excellent rating without ensuite bathroom and with a bed that is too big for the room. I know that change in this area is imminent and I hope we can return one day and find perfection but that would have to include a reversal in architecture. The bedrooms should be facing the water and the bathrooms streetside.
Still do yourself a favour and experience the peace and serenity of beachfront.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbadosBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Not easy to find on line but easy to find just outside the town of MacKay. This was well worth the extra effort of sending e-mails to over reviewers to get details.
We were both made to feel very welcomed by Noreen who let us choose which room we wanted as both were free. Information relating to the town was made available which was good as we only had one day/night there.
Breakfast while watching the ocean ease over the sands was delightful, nothing was too much trouble for our host and if we were to travel back that way again we would most likely look to stay here again.
Thank you for a lovely stop over.

Room Tip: book in advance as there are only two rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is like a home away from home but without the housework. You can bring meals back or there is a kitchen so you can cook but the cleaning is done for you. Sitting out the back, relaxing overlooking the ocean enjoying a beverage. Breakfast is supplied so no hassles in the morning. The host is really nice and spoiled us. I was working for the week but felt I was on holidays in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldfellatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were visiting Mackay for a wedding and trawled the web to find a B and B for our stay. What drew us to Beachfront was that it had a video and review on there from a travel programme. The house itself is in a great location, right on the Coral Sea and we sat in the garden by the beach on the first evening and watched the sunset. It was nice to have a stroll along the beach too. Very tropical, of course with big coconut trees. The house itself has a Balinese theme with many items brought back from Indonesia.

When we arrived in Mackay we were a little alarmed to find that Slade Point was far out of town (about a 40 min journey) yet we had no need to be worried. Noreen was kindness personified. She offered to drop us off for the wedding (back in town at the Botanical gardens) and the next day she dropped us off (very early I might add) for the Greyhound bus to take us to Airlie Beach, our next destination. She was a really great host and nothing was too much trouble.
There were two rooms downstairs with bathrooms opposite for each. These were a bit dated but Noreen was having builders in that month to update. The rooms weren't overly big but they were nicely furnished and had a TV in etc. Breakfast in the morning was lovely fresh produce and there is a restaurant down the road for the evenings if you haven't got a car.
We would recommend it to anyone and, in fact we came back after our Airlie beach trip and stayed another night.

Room Tip: We chose the room nearest to the main part of the house due to a better view from the window but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paullaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.7 mi away
Seabreeze Hotel
Seabreeze Hotel
#26 of 34 in Mackay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dolphin Heads Resort
Dolphin Heads Resort
#30 of 34 in Mackay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.5 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park
6.6 mi away
EconoLodge Beachside
EconoLodge Beachside
#1 of 20 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
#1 of 1 in Blacks Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Ocean Ave | Slade Point, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique, tropical Bed and Breakfast in Mackay is just a short stroll to the shops, tavern, bowls club, wet lands area and the Mackay Marina shopping precinct. Bus stops are at the door and the location is private yet only 10 minutes from the central business district. Island trips, rainforest, National parks, eco tours and deserted beaches are all nearby! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing