We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too well hidden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste Matters - CLOSED

Taste Matters
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Too well hidden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I never would have found Taste Matters without having read about it online. It's a nice little café/deli with not enough traffic around it. The prices are far too reasonable (cheap) and they could charge much more for breakfast/lunch menu items. The coffee is good and I'll be back to try out the breakfast menu soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAUREN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grasstree Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mmmm' Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

If you want old fashioned service? The Taste Matters is the place for you, the menu is different and original, gluten free no problem. In the Mackay CBD I will be back, well done ladies. AAA+++

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PMGALEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant selection of fresh ingredients on the menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great value, friendly staff and a menu that would excite the most discerning critic - we will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwoo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty food nice coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious lunch - the wraps were fresh and full of flavour. Probably not a place to take toddlers or young children.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cynno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deliciously different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

‘Taste Matters’ is a quiet deli/ Café in Mackay that has won my praise for being able to get the hard to reach gourmet items. I have only the highest praise for both their service and their prices. The service is high and they are one of the few in the area who actually contact you when your order has arrived and the price of several goods that I am fond of keeps dropping!

I recommend ‘Taste Matters’ to all lovers of gourmet food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Matters also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing