We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Team Trekker on the road to Cairns”
Review of The Park Mackay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Park Mackay
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Team Trekker on the road to Cairns”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nice place to stay.. Unfortunatelly we spent there just one nigth, but all next morning we worked on our competion stuff in nice tidy kitchen, great place in the shade for work on our computers. Team Trekker of Escape 2 Adventure.

Room Tip: We slept in our comfortable provided camper van.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTrekkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tiaro Qld
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Upon arrival there was no one even at the reception, we had to phone them (how's that for service) which they unwillingly had to come down for (such lovely people NOT!) very rude, had no time to even show us around the park nor show us our site. We went for a walk the afternoon and everyone around are living in filth and will evil eye you the whole time! The BBQs look like they haven't been cleaned since new. The showers where COLD!!! Freezing cold! The laundry closed early so I couldn't do any washing!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breezy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Manager at The Park Mackay, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here and was quite surprised to read your review as we do have a lot of happy repeat customers.

However, to address your complaints, our reception is open 7am until 6pm and we are available 24/7 via the direct dial phone on the reception balcony. We also can arrange for late check in with prior bookings. If you arrive later and without a booking you have to pick up this phone to get attention as our staff quarters are not attached to the office. We don't physically take you to your site but provide you with clear directions on our site map, pointing out amenities etc. The Park is well lit so it is easy to follow these directions.

I apologize if a previous staff member was discourteous to you and have had discussions with our current staff regarding keeping up the friendly service (even at dinner time after a long day).

We have a Rennai Gas Hot Water System in the amenity block so never run out of hot water. I can only think that perhaps you didn't wait the 30 seconds it takes to feed through as explained on the notice in the shower room.

Our tourist sites are quite separate from our longer term sites so our residents were possibly wondering what strangers were doing in their area and just watching out for security reasons. Our permanent residents are lovely people but their vans are their private homes so we don't instruct them on their housekeeping. Some are extremely house proud and take great pride in their gardens etc.

Our laundries are locked at 8.30pm out of respect for surrounding campers who like a good night sleep uninterrupted by night owls doing their chores late and the laundries are open again at 6.30am.

The public barbeques are routinely cleaned every morning and there is a sign asking guests to clean up after themselves in between times.

Thank you for your feed back and again, I'm sorry you were unhappy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My two children I recently stayed here for a single night on our way down the Queensland Coast to catch a flight to Singapore. What a nightmare! The lady was friendly enough when she took the booking over the phone but when we showed up, she wasn't very welcoming and a little dismissive. Not to worry, we can all have an off day.

My suggestion to the owner/manager of this park is to take the time to spend a night in various cabins around the park. For almost $100 a night for a basic cabin, I would expect some level of basic cleanliness.

The stench coming from the bathroom drain was nauseating to say the least, but the adult and baby cockroaches were an especially horrifying find. Big cockroaches can fly into even the best looked after premises, but when they start having families where I'm paying good money to camp the night, I'm inclined to take the view that there is a certain lack of quality control about the place.

I understand that Mackay is a mining city and accommodation can be scarce and somewhat pricey, but as the mother of a teenage girl, I was at a loss as to why the very basic, non-landscaped pool (complete with orange tape to prevent people from walking on the grass where I'm thinking that one day they might build a BBQ or some other enticing amenity) is completely surrounded by what is obviously the work men's quarters. I'm sure all the fellows are a good upright bunch of blokes, but in all honesty I wasn't about to risk this not being the case with my 14yo girl and her 12yo brother spending any unsupervised time in their swimwear in the pool area.

Well, I was hoping that by soon finding myself in a sleep-unconscious state, I could forget all our woes, including our freeloading roaches. Alas, it quickly became apparent that the air conditioner was hosting it's own ?death-metal concert and there would be no quiet and peaceful slumber in this cabin of horrors. The solution was to turn the cooling off, but the ceiling fans were just as clattery and no-one wanted to swelter and wake up in a pool of sweat, which I am not entirely sure wouldn't have enticed the vermin to get up and personal.

We had a long road trip down the coast the next day and it was a relief to get on the road way before the sun was even thinking of rising for the day. Breakfast in Rocky, anyone???

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelady74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Manager at The Park Mackay, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I am sorry you had an unpleasant stay. We are often congratulated on our cleaning standards so not sure what happened there and only wish you had brought the matter to our attention when you checked in so we could rectify the problem immediately.

As you said, in Queensland cockroaches can fly into rooms and are only active at night so although we do our best to control pests, it helps if we are alerted when they are seen .

Our pool area was under construction when you visited - hence the orange tape. We did concreting that week to create a dry area for the tables and sun umbrellas. The pool has been totally re-surfaced and has been very popular over the summer with singles and families alike. The "work men's quarters" you refer to are our new studio units which are available for women as well on a nightly/weekly basis. The pool area is also clearly visible from the managers quarters but as in any public area, if you want to be 100% sure of your children's safety then you do need to supervise them - especially around water.

We do take any feed back we get very seriously and thank you for your time. The $85 cabin which you stayed in remains our best seller with en suite and cooking facilities, all linen supplied. We feel it is good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Called in to see if cabins or camping spots available, as the previous time I'd looked for a campsite here it had been very wet so partially closed off along with most places in Mackay. Couple of luxury cabins left but all the budget ones had been booked out, although two parties hadn't arrived but we needed to wait and see if they turned up. The 'basic' ones were $40 cheaper, but we wanted somewhere to unpack and go meandering about, so took a luxury one.
Well, they are pretty flash and $120 is really the top end of what we can afford for a nights accommodation, but you'd be hard-pressed to find a better room in a motel or such for that price.
The lady on reception gave us keys to each of the rooms so we could have a gander, and even though she said the older/cheaper ones maybe need a bit of TLC, there was nothing apparently amiss with them. Maybe a bit dated for decor, but certainly clean, roomy and with good facilities. In fact the next time we need a spot in Mackay we'll try to book one of these in advance.
Possibly the only advantages of the luxury ones is they're a bit brighter and maybe have better insulation and glazing, but for a day or two couldn't see it being a concern. It was very comfortable and the buildings all seem quiet - no thumping and donging noises.
The only things that did catch our ears was the speed-bump outside our cabin, although traffic was very well behaved, and some intruding noise when outdoors from construction/roadworks outside the campground area. This is a problem a lot of people around here face however, it is now a growing industrial service area and there is a lot of highway reconstruction happening. For all that though there was no intrusive noises in the evening and overall the camp was quiet. Keep in mind too that the airport and railway station aren't far off, there is a new shopping complex about 3 minutes drive away, and apart from the left-handed Chinamans design with intersections and traffic islands the Bruce and Peak Downs Highways all fairly easy to get onto.
Also it is a few miles from the city centre so be aware of that if you don't have wheels, but all-up no complaints.

Room Tip: Maybe try to get one not next to a speed bump or intersection, but it's a full place and the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in one of the deluxe villas. They are pretty new and well equipped. It's one of the few places that I've stayed in where the rooms were better in reality than they were in the photos.

Although the rooms are a good size the bathroom is a little tight. The frige is big but possibly because it is a standard model rather than a small hotel room style unit, it does make a little noise.

Room Tip: Deluxe villas are probably worth the extra few dollars as they aren't that expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
2.0 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
209 reviews
3.8 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
112 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Coral Cay Resort
Coral Cay Resort
#17 of 34 in Mackay
168 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park
6.1 mi away
BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Mackay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Mackay

Property: The Park Mackay
Address: 284 Farrellys Road | Paget, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Mackay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off the highway on the south side of Mackay with a short drive to Mackay CBD, airport and beaches. The Park offers guests fully self contained stand alone cabin accommodation complete with en-suite and cooking facilities. We also have caravan and overnight camping sites available with a fully equipped camp kitchen, free gas barbeques and laundry facilities. The complex has a large salt water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Mackay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing