We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place”

The Old Station Tea House
Ranked #2 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A vintage railway station surrounded by tropical gardens. Menu selection includes homemade cakes, light lunch options, tea/coffee and our world famous scones. Wood fired pizza is available on weekends. We are also dog friendly and wi-fi is available. We also take reservations but drop in custom is welcome.
Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

this is a lovely Tea House set in a pretty garden, They make the best scones, and the cake slices are huge, The service is good, very friendly, great way to spend a sunny afternoon

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank handbagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    4
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I joined a group of friends here around 10am and I was hoping for coffee and some brunch. Unfortunately they do not do breakfast/brunch, just cakes and coffee. So I decided on some freshly made carrot cake and a cappuccino. I actually saw the cake being iced behind the counter so I know it was fresh and it was delicious - one of the best carrot cakes I've eaten. The coffee however was terrible. It is in such a beautiful location and it would be great to bring visitors to the Tea House to show it off, but the coffee needs to be improved!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAUREN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

So glad we have come across this place. Beautiful surroundings, great food and service. Lovely atmosphere and we could have stayed much longer. The gluten free pizza was very nice. Since we didn't have cake or coffee, we will need to go back - will do this sooner rather than later! And we are also keen to dine under the fairy lights with the brazier on a Friday night.
A true hidden gem!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErrolBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spectacular gardens, great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This place is set in the most beautiful gardens. The passion fruit cheesecake was divine. The scones were great (bit light on the jam, but we asked for more and they were happy to oblige)
The setting was so beautiful we decided to stay for lunch. The wood fired pizza was delicious. The waitress that served us was very happy and lovely, the coffee was a let down, but apart from that highly recommend!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kunegunda2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Devonshire teas.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

A wonderful, bushland setting to enjoy a meal, or morning tea. It was so relaxing, sitting listening to the birds etc. The homemade scones were great & the jam was so delicious. The pot of tea was just great !!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Station Tea House also viewed

 
Mackay, Queensland
 

Been to The Old Station Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing