We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Star.... I don't think so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
White Lace Motor Inn
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Four Star.... I don't think so”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Paid $174 for the night for a queen bed room and expected much better for the price as this motel is rated four star. This is Mackay however and one would be forgiven for thinking that as a mining based town there is some pricing escalation.
Bed and pillows were hard, shower rose wouldn't stay in position, toilet would flush but continue to run, mould in shower recess, couldn't adjust aircon to warm, flyscreen door was broken and overall decor is showing its age.
Lady on front desk was very helpful and friendly.
Overall poor value for once what was a flagship motel in Mackay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffdb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele J, Manager at White Lace Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2015
As the new owners of White Lace Motor Inn we are endeavouring to let everyone know that service standards and guest satisfaction are our primary concerns. We took over on 5th December 2014 and are upgrading our facilities as fast as we possibly can. We regret that the former leases allowed the property to fall behind in the market, but rest assured that is being attended to and we will once again be up there with the best of our type. Michele Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    41
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
36
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at the White Lace on business trip in June 2013. I booked this sight unseen and was pleasantly surprised on arrival. Staff were very friendly and the facilities were clean and well presented. I took the opportunity of booking a spa room which at $170 per night was expensive, but then everything in Mackay is. The room had a comfortable queen bed and a single with ample room to move in between. The bathroom was well presented also with a 2 person spa and good water pressure. Just down the road is the local bowls club which was useful as the restaurant was not open on my stay (being a Sunday and not a lot of guests).

Located on Nebo Road, you are not within walking distance of the centre of town, but if you are in need of a comfortable clean room on the main road, I would recommend this one.

Room Tip: Lower ground floor spa rooms are great. Room 25 is right at the bottom corner with easy access onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This motel looks quite good from the outside and the inside isn't too bad either. A bit dated, sure but better than other motels I've stayed at in Mackay. My room had a queen bed (a bit too soft for my liking), small table and chairs, two sofa chairs and small coffee table, business desk with good chair, small fridge and coffee and tea making facilities, nice flat LCD Sharp tv with some Foxtel channels and free wifi, although a bit slow and not working when it rains... Bathroom was very clean and a nice touch was the shaving cream dispenser along with soap and hand and body lotion cream. I haven't tried breakfast or the restaurant here so I cannot comment on the food. What I can say is that unfortunately this motel is on the very, very busy Nebo Road, basically a section of the Bruce Highway, which means that there's a lot of road noise. On top of that it is located directly under the flight path. I slept with earplugs and I managed to have a decent night of rest until 5:20 when the traffic noise became too much even for them. All in all a decent motel but in an unfortunate location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PipMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is an excellent motel. When you book your room, ask for the internet cable. Unlimited internet at no extra cost with fast cable was a dream - I loved not having to get the credit card out or book only an hour. The room was big, and you could turn the lights/air con off next to the bed. The bathroom had unlimited shampoo, conditioner, shaving foam, moisturiser, which was great, given there were 3 of us and with long hair I usually use up a whole little bottle.
Each bed had two pillows (use to only one) and were clean. The staff were fast and friendly. It was the 3rd hotel we stopped at that night and it was only slightly more expensive than the other two that were much lower in quality. On a road trip where motels were the norm for us, it was our favourite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angirajurisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed one night, nice pool and pleasant reception. Ok room but showing its age and while ncie to not have to carry bag upstairs, little privacy with other patrons cars parked in front of room. Closing the curtain to get some privacy made it very gloomy.

Not super comfortable bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disappointedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were three blokes travelling together and very much enjoyed the owners of the Motor Inn who regaled us with stories about their larakeets. The room was excellent, and the restaurant associated with the Motor Inn is very good. As a yank, I needed to learn how to take off my cap, and the lady of the manor also took to straightening my collar. If that sounds a bit much, it really wasn't . I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zelda2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room we stayed in was nice and clean. Comfy bed, good inhouse movies and big enough. Most of the staff were wonderful - friendly and very welcoming; except for one woman who was quite rude and made me feel like I wanted to cancel my booking and go somewhere else (middle aged woman with short brown hair - seriously, if you hate people so much - don't work in tourism). Luckily, we only encountered her once!! I did find it strange that the rooms were non-smoking but there were ashtrays all along the corridor/verandah to get into rooms. So, while our room was 'smoke free' we had to walk past about 4-5 people smoking to get to our room and the smell tended to hang around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyPad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#9 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#13 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
2.2 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
8.2 mi away
Dolphin Heads Resort
Dolphin Heads Resort
#31 of 34 in Mackay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lace Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lace Motor Inn

Property: White Lace Motor Inn
Address: 73 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lace Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the iconic White Lace Motor Inn. Mackay Accommodation Best Motel Deals & Restaurant Discounts - Surf the web to your heart's content with very fast & free wifi (1GB daily) * Dine at On The Greens Bistro right next door - show your room key & receive members' discounts * Breakfast available daily * Enjoy a cold beer or wine in the garden * Swim in the crystal clear pool * BBQ on the terrace * View Foxtel with the latest free movies & all the sports channels * Get your washing done in our guest laundry. Your warm Mackay welcome includes spacious comfortable rooms with professionally laundered linens * 10 Different room types suitable for singles to families, including spa and self contained rooms * Ample undercover parking close to your room * Off street parking for larger vehicles * Great Position - We're just 5-10 mins drive to the airport, train, hospitals & CBD, walking distance to bistro, shops & takeaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your White Lace Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing