We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money in Mackay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miners Lodge Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Hamilton Island, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money in Mackay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I travel to Mackay for business two or three weekends out of each month. Having stayed in a number of motels in town, I've found the Miners Lodge Motor Inn to be the best in its category for cleanliness, professional staff, and convenient location. The level of customer service and the genuine welcome is outstanding. If something's not quite right, one of the staff members attends to things immediately. I'll be back there next weekend!

Room Tip: If you want a little less traffic noise, request a room at the back of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
15
26
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

The best was the welcoming we had. The girl at the reception, who was extremely friendly and proffesional, told us everything we needed and more! Rooms are ok, clean as they can be, not very new but ok. Doble bedroom units contain a queen size bed in one room, and then there is another room with three single beds. Kitchen facilities are quite limited (microwave, kettle and fridge), but there is a bbq downstairs for you to use free of charge. Plates, forks, knives..etc are borrowed to the reception (they do the dishes for you!:). The accommodation is easy to find as it is located just by the road you are driving when you get to Mackay. You may need a car to move around.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dysart qld australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Staff very, very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the family room.

The two single beds were saggy and the main bed was like a plank of wood. It was akin to sleeping on the floor. Linen was clean and well presented but the pillows, only 1 each were well past used by date. Mine was 4 cm thick! I had to fold it over to make thicker and ended up rolling up a towel to use as a pillow. power points have no room for mobile phone adaptors and ended up using the one over the bathroom sink. Power points have only enough space for normal plugs not adaptors.

Room was very clean. Bathroom was old and very dated and the shower recess was tiny. My other half is 6 foot tall and he found it too small to shower in and shower curtain is very dated. Ceiling fan was knocking all night and the box aircon was very loud indeed.

The pool was full of black leaves so the kids weren't too keen on using it. There are no steps in pool, ladder or shallow end markers.

$20 each for breakfast (including young kids!) $80 for family of four was too expensive. It is also directly under the airport landing flight path! Kids just loved that !

This motel should be modernised and get new bedding and pillows.
I won't be staying again but the management are very nice and welcoming. My back will never be the same after the bed experience.

I noticed it was a 1 star motel on their sign. It is accurate.
Thanks but no thanks we will be staying somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Check out the room before staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justnikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Rooms old, but well maintained.
Certainly not modern.
Clean. Good bed. Reasonable internet included in tariff.
Personnaly didnt like the toiletry dispensers and their contents.
Check in and check out service were friendly.
Small pool, but didnt get to try it.
Restaurant on site, but unfortunately it was closed on the Saturday night I stayed.
Price was reasonable in view of the other very expensive options.
On a very busy road and noise could be a problem in some rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndPancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The rooms here are quite stylish and that is all very nice but they are not very practical. There was hardly any shelf space, not even a second bed as you find in most motels of this type, to lay your belongings on. I do not like putting my belongings on the floor. There was a sign, in small print at the bottom of the bathroom mirror which was about my navel level. Needless to say I didn't read it. The night that we spent there, this time, was punctuated by very loud aircraft landing at the nearby airport. All in all the room was not worth the $110 that we paid to spend one night. I have a tip for the managers: Spend a night in one of your own rooms with some luggage.

Room Tip: Our room was toward the front. there are units in the back that may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We found this room great compared to the horrible place we stayed in at rockhampton! It was spacious and the staff were great, We only stayed one night on our way to Airlie beach but would def stay again if we were up this way. Just be aware hotel is in the flight path to Mackay airport so you do hear planes going over every so often

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarz00711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Great staff, well presented room and grounds, great food. Bed was comfortable and totally needed upon finishing long drive. This has been put on the saved list and will be recommending to those travelling in the region.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100percentjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.1 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Motel
Paradise Motel
#11 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alara Motor Inn
Alara Motor Inn
#27 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cool Palms Motel
Cool Palms Motel
#23 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pioneer Villa Motel
Pioneer Villa Motel
#32 of 34 in Mackay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mackay Motor Inn
Mackay Motor Inn
#22 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miners Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miners Lodge Motor Inn

Property: Miners Lodge Motor Inn
Address: 60-62 Nebo Rd | Cnr Nebo Road & Lloyd Street, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miners Lodge Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at 60 Nebo Road Mackay , the Miners Lodge is situated in close proximity to the city heart, Canelands Shopping Centre, Airport, Hospital and industrial hubs. The Miner's Lodge Motor Inn offers 29 well appointed, comfortable air-conditioned 3.5 star (AAA Rating) Studio, Twi share, triple Share and 2 Bedroom familyUnits for short or long-term stays. Units can cater for between 1-5 guests, with the standard features designed to make your business or holiday stay with us more comfortable and convenient. Standard services include free WiFi, free Foxtel, plus fax and photocopying services, off-street undercover carparking, guest laundry,swimming pool, 'Ripples' licensed Bistro & Bar & room service. Owner operated, the Miners Lodge prides itself on its friendly and obliging service and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Miners Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing