We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miners Lodge Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We found this room great compared to the horrible place we stayed in at rockhampton! It was spacious and the staff were great, We only stayed one night on our way to Airlie beach but would def stay again if we were up this way. Just be aware hotel is in the flight path to Mackay airport so you do hear planes going over every so often

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarz00711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
15
26
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Great staff, well presented room and grounds, great food. Bed was comfortable and totally needed upon finishing long drive. This has been put on the saved list and will be recommending to those travelling in the region.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100percentjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed overnight (Saturday) when driving north. Room next to swimming pool, although not recently constructed, was freshly painted and absolutely spotless - the attention to detail when it was serviced could not be faulted. A minor criticism was that the bed was too hard for our liking. Being winter, the pool was not used by any while we were there; and although "next" to the highway, traffic noise was not intrusive. The Reception Staff were very welcoming and most helpful. Most impressive and greatly appreciated was their offer, without prompting, to post clothes inadvertently left behind on the Sunday; received on the Tuesday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

I travel all over Queensland and stay in lots of motels. I find the Miners Lodge a clean and freindly place to stay where nothing is to hard for the great staff to help with. I also find the food and room service great. I recomend this motel to all travellers coming up to North Queensland

Room Tip: room 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank content255073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We were travelling around Australia for 3 weeks and stayed in mostly 3/4 star hotels. We stayed here for 1 night and it was more than enough. Within 5 minutes of entering the musty room we stepped on 2 cockroaches that were coming from underneath the bed. Needless to say, we didnt feel like getting into the bed only that we had been driving for 10 hours so we had no choice. We took an extra blanket from the wardrobe and whatever was on it we werent long putting it back. We would have loved some tea but the cups had ants in them, there was bug-spray beside the tea- making facilities so we had to use it. My fiance told me the next day he didnt sleep as there was something moving around on the carpet all night and he didnt dare move from the bed. We didnt even stay for showers or my fiance didnt shave the next morning we were out of there so fast. And to make matters worse we had to pay for it but there was no point explaining all of our issues to management as we were so disgusted that these rooms would actually be let out to guests. To be honest it was the worst place we have ever stayed and we felt like we had an itch for the next 2 days from lying in the bed.

Room Tip: You will regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LoriG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen35520, Owner at Miners Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
We are totally shocked and disappointed by the review posted about your recent stay at the motel. Shocked in that we have a 6 monthly pest control maintenance program in place which it appears in this instance is ineffective, and disappointed this has transpired when we pride ourselves on our units.

Indeed we have received many positive comments about the rooms and have used guest comments in the past to further enhance our services, facilities and amenities. This is the first instance in the two years we have operated the motel where there has been a problem of this magnitude, so we are obviously anxious to have this resolved as quickly as possible.

Naturally we are deeply disappointed that none of the guests concerns were raised at any point during the stay as we would have conducted a thorough investigation at the time and either offered the guest another room or accommodated the guest at another motel here in Mackay at our expense if it was warranted.

We are simply at a loss to understand why the guest did not make a complaint immediately but hasten to assure that we have taken this seriously and will undertake an immediate investigation to ascertain why our pest control and housekeeping program has failed in this instance.

Without knowing the guest name,. what date they booked in or what room they occupied, we can only offer our sincere apologies in this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Cairns
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed here overnight on our way back to Cairns. The owner was really nice and told us everything we needed to know including the fact that there was a pool and a laundry insure.

The room looked comfortable and we were surprised by the big tv. The place was clean, but had a really strong musty smell in the room which smelt like the carpet had got wet and never dried properly. I woke up the next day with a sore back from a hard bed, but that has nothing to do with the owner, I'm just used to a softer bed.

We ate at the restaurant on site and it was really nice with massive portions. I cut my steak in half and gave it to my husband. He had the chicken parmijana, and said it was one of the best he has had. Oh and I actually only saw one (Im guessing) miner and the other people in the restaurant was a business man and a family.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmy155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

I'm a little confused by the positive comments about this hotel. We had, in fact, chosen this place based on the reviews written, and ended up very unhappy with the choice. The room was pretty dirty. There was actually web and coccoon remnants on the curtains. Along with the usual cups/plates/etc that are provided, you are also given bug spray. I think that says it all. The owners were very nice and helpful, but I just don't think I could recommend this place. I was traveling with another girlfriend and we knew that Mackay was a miner's town, and at first we hesitated to actually book a room at the "miners lodge" but we did it based on the reviews. We were actually very uncomfortable around all the miners.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Miners Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Firstly, thank you for your comments following your stay with us, as this enables us to regularly review and improve on the services, facilities and presentation of the property where required.

Unfortunately none of the issues raised in the review were brought to our attention, so that we could take immediate action to rectify the situation, hence this reponse now. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the units and have received many comments from past travellers, however we acknowledge that it is possible that something can be inadvertantly missed.

As Mackay is in the tropics, ants and mosquitos are a common pest particularly in summer periods, and are generally exacerbated by the amount of rain we receive. As a result, we draw guests attention to this via signage in each unit not to leave food items on benches. Equally guest comfort is particularly important so we ensure bug spray is readily available in every single unit particularly those located in the garden areas. We would much prefer that guests are not subjected to insect bites and are able to enjoy the barbeque facilities without being bitten.

Finally, our guests are from a broad background ranging from retirees, families, sporting groups, corporate travellers, company workers and overseas tourists with the majority staying between 1 - 3 days in duration. Indeed the majority of our guests are males 'not miners as implied' however it must be understood that Mackay is a strong bouyant mining, manufacturing and engineering city boosted by the sugar cane industry and tourism as well. As a result most occupations in these fields are predominantly male. 'Miners' are generally accommodated much closer to their work environment in and around the Bowen Basin area in accommodation villages known as 'Mac Camps' during their rostered period and return back to their families on days off.

We regret the guests felt 'uncomfortable around miners' but advise that one can not conclude that all of our guests are in fact miners. We welcome everyone at the motel, and ensure that one's safety is never compromised under any circumstances. Although our name is the Miners Lodge Motor Inn, this is purely generic in nature and more indicative of the industry Mackay is renowned for.

Again we welcome all comments as noted in our compendiums and appreciate the opportunity to furnish this explanation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.1 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#15 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Motel
Paradise Motel
#11 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alara Motor Inn
Alara Motor Inn
#27 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cool Palms Motel
Cool Palms Motel
#23 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pioneer Villa Motel
Pioneer Villa Motel
#32 of 34 in Mackay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mackay Motor Inn
Mackay Motor Inn
#22 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miners Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miners Lodge Motor Inn

Property: Miners Lodge Motor Inn
Address: 60-62 Nebo Rd | Cnr Nebo Road & Lloyd Street, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miners Lodge Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at 60 Nebo Road Mackay , the Miners Lodge is situated in close proximity to the city heart, Canelands Shopping Centre, Airport, Hospital and industrial hubs. The Miner's Lodge Motor Inn offers 29 well appointed, comfortable air-conditioned 3.5 star (AAA Rating) Studio, Twi share, triple Share and 2 Bedroom familyUnits for short or long-term stays. Units can cater for between 1-5 guests, with the standard features designed to make your business or holiday stay with us more comfortable and convenient. Standard services include free WiFi, free Foxtel, plus fax and photocopying services, off-street undercover carparking, guest laundry,swimming pool, 'Ripples' licensed Bistro & Bar & room service. Owner operated, the Miners Lodge prides itself on its friendly and obliging service and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Miners Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing