We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a good place to rest your head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
1 review
“Always a good place to rest your head”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I travel loads with work and when in Mackay stay at and recommend the Windmill. The rooms are clean and the dining is excellent for cost. I have stayed here over 14 times and each time I'm impressed. Don't believe any negative comments about the quality or service.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hornet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    41
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
37
13
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
QLD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Mackay has a terrible reputation for adding a "resources mining tax" to everything from letterboxes (I kid you not) to houses (have you tried to find anything half habitable for under $500 K???).
This reputation is rightfully earned i"m afraid.
To live more than 150kms from Mackay and therefore require the occasional overnight stay to conduct personal business, well, we are also hit by this tax in the accommodation sector as well. Just check Wotif for rates during the week compared to weekend stays for accommodation in Mackay and you will see that the majority of their income comes from conference/mining related stays, not tourism.
All that said, for someone that has lived and worked in the area for more than 13 years, The Windmill has consistently provided a good, very clean and modern standard of accommodation for the coin (some beds are more comfortable than others); their restaurant caters for most tastes and their staff are professional and accommodating. The beds in the king spa suites and the self contained ones across the road from the main reception are the picks.
You can do much worse staying elsewhere, although the minimum spend here is $140 per night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Our organisation booked the venue for a conference and needed to postpone. I understand that the venue would have some costs but they were totally steadfast and would not even consider meeting us half way. The cancellation fees were exorbitant. We were going to use them again - just later in the year and have used them previously for other conferences. We will not be returning - there are plenty of good conference venues in Mackay so need to waste your time here.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed in a queen studio room for a few nights and was pleasantly surprised, the room was very clean and had everything you would need from a Motel
We used this as a base to explore Queensland around Mackay and its nicely located just off the Bruce highway, 5 mins drive into the CBD, but you definitely need a car to stay here (like most motels!) as its too far from anywhere to walk really, apart from a hungry jacks nearby
The food in the hotel restaurant was good and the service throughout our stay was very good, the staff were very friendly and impart with useful local knowledge should you need it.
The only downside for us was the noise, the walls in the room are thin so you could hear everything from above and next door, bring some earplugs and you will be fine

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PB1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

After booking a nights stay at the Windmill motel in Mackay, I had to cancel before i got there.
This motel is one I will never ever book or recommend to anyone, They where very unsympathetic to my problem and just wanted to debit my credit card.
All this motel is after is your money, I would worn people against booking in here.
Iv'e been told by others this is one to overlook.
I would not book in here if i was coming to Mackay again, in fact I would rather sleep in the gutter.
Good reddens to this Mob !!!!.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wonderingtraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed in the 2bedroom executive apartment for one night. We have a 10,12 & 2 y/o. The apartment had everything you could ever need. It was very spacious and modern. The main bedroom has a spa bath , t.v, r/c AC and is very comfortable. The kids bedroom had 2 single beds and a r/c AC. They also had their own bathroom/toilet. You have your own enclosed private balcony. There is a microwave,toaster,electric frypan & kettle, with a large sized fridge. The 2 sofas are comfy and the dining suite is nice. There was also a desk for your computer. Oh there is also a washing machine, iron & dryer in the apartment. We walked across the road and there is a swimming pool & deck with a pool table. You could also walk to a major shopping centre with cinemas and a hungry jacks was 200 metres away.We could have easily stayed here for a month or more as it was so comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2009

This place was great, the staff were great on the phone and just as happy when we checked in late the next night. I would recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a place to stay in Mackay. The room was nice and roomy and the breakfast was above average for a motel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warwickt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
3.8 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#19 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#15 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
2.1 mi away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#9 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Motel & Reception Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Motel & Reception Centre

Property: Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
Address: 5 Highway Plaza | Bruce Highway, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mackay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Motel & Reception Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmill Motel and Reception Centre is located 1.7 km (1 mi) from Mount Pleasant Shopping Centre and 3.7 km (2.3 mi) from Jubilee Park. Highlights at this motel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and free self parking. All 63 rooms feature free WiFi, Foxtel and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Windmill Motel is in a perfect location for those who enjoy keeping fit with many running tracks located around the Gooseponds at the back of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Windmill Motel & Reception Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackay
Mackay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing