We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls are paper thin.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Walls are paper thin.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding and reception was also here, rooms where very spacious but DO NOT stay on ground floor if the room above is occupied very noisy, had to pay $25 for a microwave on request which in most motels is a given.Some of the wedding reception staff very rude. The house keeping staff where great but management not very welcoming. Would I stay here again probably not.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank owlbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
37
13
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Like most hotels in Mackay the prices are overpriced for what is available. Although the rooms are clean and the staff are always friendly. It is close to Mt pleasant which made it a bit out of the way if you want to be in the centre of mackay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family and I stayed here in August 2011. Unfortunately I booked a standard apartment because I got it for a fairly reasonable price on wotif.com...big mistake! The apartment was very small, smelly and dingy, overlooking a main drag. Unhelpful staff right from the very beginning, bad parking and a ton of stairs to drag up the suitcases! I chose this place because it boasted having a lovely restaurant with an outside area, being right on the river front where the kids could run around and play. After our long drive, I thought that would be great for the kids while me and the Hubby had a couple of much needed drinks and enjoyed the view. Was not to be...as soon as we got there we were told we were not allowed to stay there and eat or drink because they had booked a "Wake" there! Obviously we were not considered important enough as paying customers staying at the hotel!! They should not advertise having these facitlities if at any time they are not going to be available to the customers who are paying to stay there! Then when we went to check out in the morning I was met with an extremely rude lady at reception! A fitting way to end this particular stay...Very unimpressed with this place on many levels. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed last weekend at this place. For premium prices I expected premium service - sadly lacking. Unfriendly Reception staff, shockingly poor restaurant service - I would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have stayed here on many occasions and due to booking late I had to take a family suite at $190. The price did not concern me but I was expecting a nice room at that rate. Room 222 is a somewhat strange room as it is another flight of stairs up from the first floor rooms. On entering the room it came across as one square room with a very tiny window making the room very dark. So dark in fact that I needed to keep the door open to get some light in. Looking out the window there was a view of the roof and also the 2 large exhaust fans that came from the kitchen I expect. Luckily I was only there 1 night as I would have gone stir crazy in such a dark room with virtually no windows. I must say that the other rooms I have stayed in here have been much better and I would not have a problem staying here again. The meals were very good as was the service.

Room Tip: Don't take room 222
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scowler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Having never stayed in Mackay before I feel somewhat careful the way that I write this review.. Holy hell, how can they charge $240 per night for this place when u can get a beautiful 2brm 4.5 star apartment on the water in noosa for half the price ??? This was my first impression. But hey, we came to the Windmill for a wedding, it was lovely. Rooms were clean, staff helpful. To cut a long story short, we are really spoilt in sunshine/gold coast for value for money accommodation. But if you want a comfortable bed and you don't mind about looking at a road from your room then definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmzzssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Very clean and a good base to explore surrounding areas. Cleaning staff very friendly Did see a cook eating on the job which was a bit off putting....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hathersage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
3.8 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#18 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
2.1 mi away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#9 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Motel & Reception Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Motel & Reception Centre

Property: Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
Address: 5 Highway Plaza | Bruce Highway, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mackay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Motel & Reception Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmill Motel and Reception Centre is located 1.7 km (1 mi) from Mount Pleasant Shopping Centre and 3.7 km (2.3 mi) from Jubilee Park. Highlights at this motel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and free self parking. All 63 rooms feature free WiFi, Foxtel and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Windmill Motel is in a perfect location for those who enjoy keeping fit with many running tracks located around the Gooseponds at the back of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windmill Motel & Reception Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackay
Mackay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing