We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Very clean and a good base to explore surrounding areas. Cleaning staff very friendly Did see a cook eating on the job which was a bit off putting....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hathersage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 120 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Room was clean, well appointed. Had the best nights sleep, makes me question my bed at home or was I just very tired? The beds looks straight, hard and somewhat uninviting, but I slept so well! Pillows were nice :) Had dinner in the restaurant and the service was very good, staff were smiling and seemed happy to be there. As usual ordered the steak and mushroom sauce. I ordered another side of red wine mushroom sauce as it was Very Very Good :) The steak sat upon a wonderful arrangement of fresh not overcooked vegetables with the sauce to the side. Loved every mouthful. More than happy to go back again for more.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msqMackay_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I have stayed here a few times when needing to go to mackay for business or shopping. I like the location, it's close to mt pleasant shopping area and only a short drive down the main road to the bigger and better caneland shopping centre. The motel does seem a little dated judging the room decor, but it serves it purpose. I do agree with another reviewer, the mould in the shower should be sorted out. It's the small things that matter the most. We did use the pool and noticed it hadn't been tended to properly hence the algae build up and cloudy water. We didn't stay in for long at all. Our wifi was not free, but for $5 you can use the wifi for 3 hours. The restaurant, bar area is convenient but some of the prices are a little over the top. the room facilities are good and the rooms are nice and spacious. One last thing, I 100% agree with reviewer gmert.....customer service is paramount and should be taken seriously within our Australian tourism and hospitality industry.....pay attention to detail.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishingangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed at this motel for two nights whilst doing a training course in Mackay. It should be noted this city in central Queensland is the centre of a significant mining boom area and at the moment very few hotels in the area have any vacancies. This place was also full for the two days I was there. Set by a small water feature (a lake I think) and as a result my room was full of mosquitoes and other flying "bugs". Room was average size, bed was hard although I did sleep pretty well. There is a seperate shower / toilet and a small refrigerator that is stocked with drinks. The motel also has a bar / restaurant that looks pretty good although I did not eat there. The course I undertook at the motel was catered by their kitchen and to be honest the lunch both days was very good. I suggest the restaurant would be as good ???

Motel has a pool and the rooms are either ground floor or one floor up.
This motel was opened in 2007 and the plaque on the wall states it was assessed as a four star property. It was also noted that this accreditation on lasts for two years (in fine print on the plaque). It needs to be reassessed, I doubt it would rate a four star property now.
No real negatives comments on this place but its not anything to rave about. I suggest the management need to look at a few minor issues. The first is this is a non-smoking motel but my room did have that faint smokers stench (covered up with a hint of cheap motel room deoderiser). The entry doors to each room share a common foyer type arrangement with the adjoining unit. The result is excessive noise. This was noted by another reviewer on this site. Not a lot that can be done about this, its just a woeful design. The only real negative was a significant build-up of mould in the shower cubicle. Anything in the shower near the water outlet is mould stained. The cleaners need to get a bit (perhaps lots) of bleech to fix the problem. Tea / coffee making equipment in the rooms and the free WI-FI internet is a real bonus. It was a significant point of applause, well done windmill. A final comment, I am really critical of poor service now a day. The service here was OK but motel staff in general at many establishments just dont go out of their way to be cheerful and friendly. Its a problem specific to Australia at the moment (in my opinion). The tourism industry here want Australian people to stay home and spend money but they need to look at this issue or people will continue to go overseas...!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor unit.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I found this motel to be very comfortable. While I was not there on a holiday, I needed somewhere close to the Mater Private Hospital and this is just a three minute drive away. All amenities were provided and I had a ground floor room that was very spacious. With a sliding door opening up to a small courtyard with table and chairs I could look out over the lake. Very pleasant. The air con was one of the quietest yet and the tv a good size. Meals in the restaurant were very good if not a bit pricey and breakfast was good. King size bed that was very comfy and large pillows. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have never stayed here before nut as all my Usual place were booked oout or cost $70 or more for the night I thought I'd give this one a try.

I booked doe a Studio Apartment and was quite surprised whn I got a large room. The recepetion staff were very friendly and I was able to organise Room Service. Har the Chicken Parma Rate it a 3 out of 5 and the Berry Cheesecake rate it a 4 out of 5.

Breakfast wasn't too bad not a great selection of Fresh Fruit it looked abit tired but the rest was fine.

Check out was easy quyick and friendly.

I guess the only thing against it is it is sort of in the middle of nowhere but it isquiet.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamnViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed in a 2br apartment at the last minute. The price was ok $235 and the apartment was a nice suprise having stayed there once before in a ground floor room and suprised that there were no windows.
The 2br was a huge improvement, large main bedroom with flat screen TV and huge shower over spa ( which you can watch TV in if you don't have children to run around after) there is also a toilet located in the main bedroom. The 2br is located close to the main bedroom (good if you have small children) and the 2nd bedroom is located opposite. The lounge and kitchen is a good size but bland and functional with a small balcony. The washer dryer is located in the hallway cupboard and noisy so get all your washing done before bed.
We needed to be at the Mater hospital the next day which was very close and the proximatey to Mt Pleasant Shopping mall and Canelands was very handy for everything.
Pros: All in all a good stay to get stuff done in Mackay.
Cons: The rooms suffer from the dreaded "black foot" disease (the floors will turn your feet black) Usually this is enough for us to demand our money back and leave but it wasn't hugely bad although it did cause your feet to be very slippery in the shower so be careful!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegionalQLDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
3.8 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
216 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#24 of 34 in Mackay
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#8 of 34 in Mackay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
126 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
1.9 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Motel & Reception Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Motel & Reception Centre

Address: 5 Highway Plaza | Bruce Highway, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range: $82 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Motel & Reception Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmill Motel and Reception Centre is located 1.7 km (1 mi) from Mount Pleasant Shopping Centre and 3.7 km (2.3 mi) from Jubilee Park. Highlights at this motel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and free self parking. All 63 rooms feature free WiFi, Foxtel and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Windmill Motel is in a perfect location for those who enjoy keeping fit with many running tracks located around the Gooseponds at the back of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windmill Motel & Reception Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackay
Mackay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing