We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical motel”
Review of Mackay Rose Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mackay Rose Motel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a typical motel on the Bruce Highway. The room was OK but dingy looking with one double and two single beds. The receptionist was helpful and there was a lounge area in reception where you could sit and read or watch TV. There was also a fridge in reception where you could buy drinks. We ate at the hotel in the evening and had a really nice meal but the waitress/manageress was having a meal with a family/ friends group at the same time as serving us so we felt an inconvenience. I had to ask a few times for water and when we asked for coffee, we were told the machine was broken but were not offered an instant coffee alternative. We did receive unlimited free wifi at this hotel which was generous compared with other hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Mackay Rose Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 138 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in August for work visit to Mackay. Arrived mid afternoon, checked in no problems. A little dated, but very clean and tidy. Room i had was spacious enough, with 3 beds. Clean bathroom. Foxtel chanels and digital TV. Breakfast at the in house restaurant was good, cooked to order, along with help your self continentals. Decent pub and bottle shop directly opposite. Pool was lovely and well kept. Good location. Decent value in an expensive mining town.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here on a Saturday night......the restaurant was not open but is during the week....found that the in the bathroom you will need to relace the bath matt after one shower as it was soaked........but aprt from thatnot bad t all

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I booked this motel for one night in low season for $170 without breakfast and when I walked in I was disappointed. Tiles in the bathroom were ripped off and there were rusted surfaces on the show head. General cleaningness was fair but the room was below average. If I was paying half the price for this type of accomodation I would be satisfied. I don't think anyone should be paying more than $80 for a motel of this category.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreekOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Helpful and cheerful staff, tight smoking rules. Sometimes early morning disturbance from tradies loading their utes. Handy to good places to eat. On the main road but the rooms are set back so traffic noise is not a problem. In room facilities are well stocked. Over-all a good place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ausfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Average quality motel on the main (Nebo) road of Mackay. Quite dated and in need of (another) facelift. Room was clean, reception was friendly, didn't try the restaurant or room service. While on the main road, was quiet enough inside. Miners drinking outside the room till late one night would be a bit of a turnoff for families, but they weren't rowdy. Quite overpriced for what you get, $170 per night. But that is Mackay and the end of the mining boom has not bitten hard enough yet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Suited us for one night whilst travelling up the coast. Room was small and basic but was okay for one night. Like others have said before used by a lot of miners but this was not a problem. We had an early start which was just as well as the cleaners stood outside our room gassing for ages.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfielanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
1.8 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
126 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#8 of 34 in Mackay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shamrock Gardens Motel
Shamrock Gardens Motel
#4 of 34 in Mackay
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay Resort Motel
Mackay Resort Motel
#19 of 34 in Mackay
16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shakespeare Motel
Shakespeare Motel
#7 of 34 in Mackay
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay Rose Motel

Address: 164 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn The Rose)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range: $73 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackay Rose Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include FREE hot breakfast of Bacon and Eggs !!! The Mackay Rose Motel is family owned and operated by John and Lynda Mifsud and their two children - Olivia and Dominic. All rooms have air-conditioning, free Redfox unlimited Wi-Fi and 10 Foxtel channels. Great home cooked meals and breakfast available 7 days a week. meals starting from $15.00 in our bistro. Packed lunches also available as well as conference room facilities. Relax and enjoy the outdoor resort style swimming pool and bbq area. The motel is conveniently located close to all facilities including Mackay airport, hotels, shops and fast food outlets and sporting fields. There is also a 24hr IGA supermarket within 2min walk. Mackay city centre is only 3kms away. We look forward to looking after you and providing you a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mackay Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing