We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Tidy”
Review of Mackay Rose Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mackay Rose Motel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean and Tidy”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here on a Saturday night......the restaurant was not open but is during the week....found that the in the bathroom you will need to relace the bath matt after one shower as it was soaked........but aprt from thatnot bad t all

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    41
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
47
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I booked this motel for one night in low season for $170 without breakfast and when I walked in I was disappointed. Tiles in the bathroom were ripped off and there were rusted surfaces on the show head. General cleaningness was fair but the room was below average. If I was paying half the price for this type of accomodation I would be satisfied. I don't think anyone should be paying more than $80 for a motel of this category.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreekOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Helpful and cheerful staff, tight smoking rules. Sometimes early morning disturbance from tradies loading their utes. Handy to good places to eat. On the main road but the rooms are set back so traffic noise is not a problem. In room facilities are well stocked. Over-all a good place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ausfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Average quality motel on the main (Nebo) road of Mackay. Quite dated and in need of (another) facelift. Room was clean, reception was friendly, didn't try the restaurant or room service. While on the main road, was quiet enough inside. Miners drinking outside the room till late one night would be a bit of a turnoff for families, but they weren't rowdy. Quite overpriced for what you get, $170 per night. But that is Mackay and the end of the mining boom has not bitten hard enough yet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Suited us for one night whilst travelling up the coast. Room was small and basic but was okay for one night. Like others have said before used by a lot of miners but this was not a problem. We had an early start which was just as well as the cleaners stood outside our room gassing for ages.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfielanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed for 1 night and thought it was over priced for what you got.
Want be staying there again,
Website said Austar, nope just flat screen with a faulty remote.
NO milk for coffee and the split system air made more noise than any box air conditioner.
Bed was very uncomfortable wan didn't sleep much.
Close to shops and not much traffic noise.

will upgrade next time !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveCQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

It has been a long time since we last stayed at The Rose ( 2008 ), what a difference, last time there were tourists and a few Reps etc but now, it is full of miners. As a footnote I too work in the mining sector and travel to Mackay every second week or so. It has become increasingly harder to find accommodation on the strip ( Nebo Rd ) and anywhere else for that matter of fact, so we pulled into the Rose, last Saturday. We got one of only two rooms available it was in the corner. When we got there it became apparent that the rooms around us were how can I put it, permanent residents, the doors were open and they had posters on the wall, fishing tackle and a boat in the corner, there were tables and chairs outside under the car port and further up kids toys etc. Anyway we walked past all the guys and into our room, great a no smoking room, plenty of room, two double beds and a flat screen TV. Off to a good start, the rooms are a little dated, I was unsure as to whether it had been changed at all since 2008 but it did not look as if it had. As excepted there were small flaws ie crack bathroom tiles but again it is not a 5 star hotel so some stuff you accept. Anyway time for bed and I pull the covers back a little and notice “bum fluff” my wife says it comes from the belly button but I dont care, so I pulled the cover right off and the bed had not been changed, pubic hair more fluff etc. So lucky there was a second bed, this had not been used but being so late what would we have done? So we got into bed and noticed that the room never had any glass panes in the window just slates so the guys who were sitting outside Talking, Drinking and Smoking no more than 6 foot away posed a problem, the smoke drifted in and out of the room. So the night was going to be uncomfortable as we are non smokers. But on the funny side was there was also a “working girl” staying in a room two doors in front of us and the conversations and timings of who was going next also drifted in through the slates. Luckly she must have tired them out as they did not stay up past midnight and they were pretty quite so we got a goodnights sleep and after all that is what were where there for! Next morning Karen called the manager to view the bed and they began to investigate which cleaner was on duty etc as we left. Overall unless I was desperate and all the other hotels/ motels were full would I never stay there again and actually on that anyone reading this travelling to Mackay region I would suggest you book your rooms well in advance, not long back we got caught out and had to sleep in the car !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IslandHopperQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
122 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#20 of 34 in Mackay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shamrock Gardens Motel
Shamrock Gardens Motel
#4 of 34 in Mackay
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Cay Resort
Coral Cay Resort
#13 of 34 in Mackay
162 reviews
1.5 mi away
International Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay Rose Motel

Property: Mackay Rose Motel
Address: 164 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn The Rose)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackay Rose Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include FREE hot breakfast of Bacon and Eggs !!! The Mackay Rose Motel is family owned and operated by John and Lynda Mifsud and their two children - Olivia and Dominic. All rooms have air-conditioning, free Redfox unlimited Wi-Fi and 10 Foxtel channels. Great home cooked meals and breakfast available 7 days a week. meals starting from $15.00 in our bistro. Packed lunches also available as well as conference room facilities. Relax and enjoy the outdoor resort style swimming pool and bbq area. The motel is conveniently located close to all facilities including Mackay airport, hotels, shops and fast food outlets and sporting fields. There is also a 24hr IGA supermarket within 2min walk. Mackay city centre is only 3kms away. We look forward to looking after you and providing you a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mackay Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing