We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marco Polo Motel Mackay
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked into the family room. It was so well presented. Separate bedroom with TV for the kids. Furniture absolutely beautiful. Friendly staff all round. Thanks. Central location on main road into Mackay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
14
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mackay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great central location, newly refurbished, clean, comfortable rooms but stand out for us was the Rialto Restaurant, one of the best menu's in town with the best quality fresh produce and cooked to perfection. The staff are only to happy to accommodate young children and very relaxed yet high level of service. I would rate the restaurant one of the best in Mackay and most certainly recommend it for the perfect dining out experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Last time I stayed here it was 10 years ago. Thankfully the rooms have been refurbed since then. The room is tastefully transformed with nice furnishings and a great bed. The down side to this was the lack of a peaceful night sleep. You can hear every noise from neighbouring rooms, including conversations. The motel is used by a lot of mine workers and or contractors so to top it off, they start moving (noisily) from 4am! My message to the owners would be install noise resistant windows panels which would alleviate some of the problem. Also, ban smoking right outside the doorways of the rooms as smoke from the neighbouring rooms comes under the door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Only stayed here for a night. The room looked to be recently refurbished. Was very comfortable and clean, All in all a very pleasant stay.

This review is for the hotel, not for the accompanying restaurant. It didn't live up to the same standards as the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I travel allot for work and stay in allot of motels each year
Actualy more then I am at home
And i would say that the marco polo is one of the best motels I have stayed in in great food super friendly staff willing to go out of their way to help and I would say the best of the buch for the price
And it is getting even better at the moment with allot of the rooms having been renovated it is a must stay when in mackay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wow congrats to the new owners of this motel. I have been staying there over the last 4 years and now with the renovations completed on most rooms I cannot believe its the same place. The new rooms are fantastic what a transformation well done! I will be back for sure. Cheers JJ

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 790JamesJ790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room, was clean and comfortable and checkin no problem.
Property was clean and tidy but very dated.
More expensive than the good four star hotel we stayed at in Cairns the following night.
Price may be a reflection of the cost of living in Mackay due to the nearby coal mines.
CBD and closest hotel is on the upper limit of walking distance.
If you are looking for a convenient place to stay a night then this is OK, if you are looking for a romantic interlude or a luxury stay forget it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
2.0 mi away
Ocean International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Alara Motor Inn
Alara Motor Inn
#19 of 34 in Mackay
47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#21 of 34 in Mackay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge Motel
Paradise Lodge Motel
#10 of 34 in Mackay
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#9 of 34 in Mackay
134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#28 of 34 in Mackay
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Motel Mackay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Motel Mackay

Property: Marco Polo Motel Mackay
Address: 46 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marco Polo Motel Mackay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean-style lush tropical gardens separating parking - Downtown. Fully rebuilt 4 star, renovated and refurbished, undercover parking for full weather protection, pool spa and sauna, restaurant, great location in MACKAYS accommodation strip close to the CBD, airport and Paget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marco Polo Motel Mackay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mackay
Mackay Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing