We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compliments to the Chef!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marco Polo Motel Mackay
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Mackay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Compliments to the Chef!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great central location, newly refurbished, clean, comfortable rooms but stand out for us was the Rialto Restaurant, one of the best menu's in town with the best quality fresh produce and cooked to perfection. The staff are only to happy to accommodate young children and very relaxed yet high level of service. I would rate the restaurant one of the best in Mackay and most certainly recommend it for the perfect dining out experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
14
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Last time I stayed here it was 10 years ago. Thankfully the rooms have been refurbed since then. The room is tastefully transformed with nice furnishings and a great bed. The down side to this was the lack of a peaceful night sleep. You can hear every noise from neighbouring rooms, including conversations. The motel is used by a lot of mine workers and or contractors so to top it off, they start moving (noisily) from 4am! My message to the owners would be install noise resistant windows panels which would alleviate some of the problem. Also, ban smoking right outside the doorways of the rooms as smoke from the neighbouring rooms comes under the door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Only stayed here for a night. The room looked to be recently refurbished. Was very comfortable and clean, All in all a very pleasant stay.

This review is for the hotel, not for the accompanying restaurant. It didn't live up to the same standards as the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I travel allot for work and stay in allot of motels each year
Actualy more then I am at home
And i would say that the marco polo is one of the best motels I have stayed in in great food super friendly staff willing to go out of their way to help and I would say the best of the buch for the price
And it is getting even better at the moment with allot of the rooms having been renovated it is a must stay when in mackay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wow congrats to the new owners of this motel. I have been staying there over the last 4 years and now with the renovations completed on most rooms I cannot believe its the same place. The new rooms are fantastic what a transformation well done! I will be back for sure. Cheers JJ

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 790JamesJ790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room, was clean and comfortable and checkin no problem.
Property was clean and tidy but very dated.
More expensive than the good four star hotel we stayed at in Cairns the following night.
Price may be a reflection of the cost of living in Mackay due to the nearby coal mines.
CBD and closest hotel is on the upper limit of walking distance.
If you are looking for a convenient place to stay a night then this is OK, if you are looking for a romantic interlude or a luxury stay forget it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed a few nights at the Marco Polo in Mackay. The son's wedding and needed something central and wouldn't break the bank. Found it.

The Marco polo is a little dated, no pool however an excellent spa.

The rooms are again, a little dated yet are very clean and the bed was absolutely comfortable.

There is plenty of covered car parking and easy access to Nebo road in either direction.

The staff from the front desk to the housekeeping "girls" were friendly, professional and most helpful. Great smiles and lots of friendly banter if you want to participate.

The restaurant is good value with a modest yet well catered menu.

I was really impressed with the value for money I got from my stay and as I visit Mackay a few times a year, it will be one of the first seek out.

Room Tip: most rooms are back from Nebo Road - the main drag in and out of Mackay. I was in the back row and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bustardeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
1.1 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#23 of 34 in Mackay
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge Motel
Paradise Lodge Motel
#10 of 34 in Mackay
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alara Motor Inn
Alara Motor Inn
#21 of 34 in Mackay
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ocean International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#9 of 34 in Mackay
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galaxy Mackay Motor Inn
Galaxy Mackay Motor Inn
#28 of 34 in Mackay
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Motel Mackay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Motel Mackay

Property: Marco Polo Motel Mackay
Address: 46 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marco Polo Motel Mackay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean-style lush tropical gardens separating parking - Downtown. Fully rebuilt 4 star, renovated and refurbished, undercover parking for full weather protection, pool spa and sauna, restaurant, great location in MACKAYS accommodation strip close to the CBD, airport and Paget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Motel Mackay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mackay
Mackay Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing