We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and a lovely beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Hadn't been to Mackay for over 20 years - boy has it grown. Very suburban and the park is in a quiet suburb on a lovely beach which looks out to the islands. I imagine the beach would look much better in the winter months, not just after a cyclone! Park was very well maintained and cabins very clean.
It was the most expensive cabin we stayed in on our trip through NSW and central Qld. I guess the mining industry has contributed to the inflated prices throughout central Qld.It's ashame as Australians are killing their own tourist industry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdnilAustinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 174 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a gorgeous place to stay in to experience a wonderful relaxing holiday.Perfect weather everyday. Spoiled ourselves and stayed in a great cabin. It was absolutely spotless, so roomy, and had everything we needed close at hand. We met some lovely people while staying in the park,including management and staff, who were so helpful with local day trip advice,directions, places to eat etc.
We really miss our early morning walks on the beautiful beach and especially listening to the bird life. So looking forward to coming back,felt so safe at all times and really enjoyed our stay.Thank you Blacks Beach Holiday Park.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in a cabin for one night during a very long road trip with our two children. The cabin was clean, tidy and well appointed. Park was clean and tidy with a small pool, lots of shade, beach is absolutely stunning, would be good to go in non stinger season and come back with our van.

The only thing that was disappointing was the welcome I received when I checked in. The manager probably needs to have a think about how she greets people on arrival. It doesn't matter how fabulous the park is, first impressions count and has left me with a not so good lasting memory.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shandykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MBBHP, Manager at Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our park and I am pleased that you enjoyed your villa and our park facilities. When you arrived at our park to check into your villa you were also towing a caravan which was a surprise to me and once again I'm sorry if my reaction to this came across to you as being unfriendly. You informed me that you had noted this in the comments when making an online booking and had spoken to someone in relation to this. Our villas only have parking space for one car however as we were not busy on the night we accommodated the car and caravan on one of our drive through caravan sites right beside your villa at no extra charge to you. Once you had checked in you sent me an email advising me again that you had noted this in your online booking, I apologized by return email to you for this error in communication. We have since reviewed our online booking policies to ensure this does not occur again. Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was an amazing spot for us. My husband and I camped here for almost a week. Beach access, clean, modern amenities and friendly staff. There is a BBQ and picnic tables (sheltered) near the camp sites but it's a little walk to the camp kitchen. We'll be back to Blacks beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamandAmy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked a two bedroom unit which was well appointed and spotlessly clean. Right on the beach front, the park is situated in a great location. There are some local shops nearby and the Woolworths (supermarket) is a 10 min drive. The pool looked small and uninviting but I think an upgrade is on the cards shortly. I met the female owner who was very surly but not quite the 'Basil Fawlty' some have portrayed, although there were plenty of signs and orders to be obeyed...you must not do this etc. Whilst not exactly a military boot camp, maybe this was a bit over the top? I can only imagine there have been others who have taken liberties.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank dollymogLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a fantastic park this is. Only stayed for one night as passing through Mackay and found the hotels in town to be a little pricey for what they were especially travelling with 3 young children.Hence we drove 15 minutes outside of the city centre to Blacks Beach and found this gem! Worth the drive ! Clean 2 Brm cabin with nice little vdah at front, literally a stones throw to the beach! Nice flat shady grassed area with BBQ on beach edge and pool. (Plans to upgrade shortly) but still perfectly ok for a dip! All amenities have been upgraded in recent years. Staff were very friendly and helpful! We were disappointed we couldnt stay longer!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mashdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent 3 nights in the villa right near the pool with family. A great location - had a car so distance from town was no issue. Good access to beach and upgrade plans to pool will only mean this place will become even more popular. Very clean villa and toilets.
Suggest a trip to nearby hotel on hill if time permits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timallen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Shores Holiday Apartments
6.3 mi away
Paradise Lodge Motel
Paradise Lodge Motel
#10 of 34 in Mackay
40 reviews
6.0 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#8 of 34 in Mackay
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#6 of 34 in Mackay
122 reviews
6.7 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
9.5 mi away
The Park Mackay
The Park Mackay
#8 of 25 in Mackay
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park

Address: 16 Bourke Street | Blacks Beach, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia (Formerly Seawinds Caravan Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Mackay
Price Range: $142 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park (formally Seawinds Caravan and Holiday Park) is perfectly positioned on absolute beachfront, overlooking the southern islands of the Whitsundays.Set on five beachfront acres, Blacks Beach Holiday Park offers guests modern facilities and services in picturesque surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing