We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Heads Resort
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quite tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have just returned from a 15 night stay at Dolphin Heads resort. We had an ocean view room which was probably better than garden or pool view even though they are a little cheaper. I found my room to be quite tired and in need of an upgrade. We chose not to have the room serviced every day as this added around $20 per day to the cost. The towels were replaced most days and the new sheets only given 3 days before we left. Our bathroom was a bit grubby when we arrived with hair on the floor and this never changed in 15 days. We only went to the restaurant once for breakfast and found the $25 charge to be way overpriced for a bit of breakfast which had been in a bain-marie for i don't know how long. Overall a pleasant stay but not really value for money

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAfricaMargie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    32
    34
    24
    26
See reviews for
60
31
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolfenbuttel, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

we have been there with a group of German Basketballplayers and their wifes a couple of years ago. We have been hosted very friendly and the resort was exactly what we have expected after a long tournament. Great value!

Room Tip: the rooms on the south side in the basement are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeJay150447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Great spot. Was really quiet while we were there so that was a bonus. Needs a facelift but all facilities are clean & functional. Nice to breath the sea air at night. Restaurant was ok for dinner. Bit overpriced for what was on offer but the lone waitress on duty was friendly and helpful and didn't mind that we stayed a bit longer than closing time. Would go back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Positives: lovely location overlooking ocean, very friendly, helpful staff; rooms decent (a bit old, but for what it is it's ok), everything works. The restaurant is better than it looks: thai beef salad was decent. The pool is pretty nice and there are lots of places to relax in the sun.

Negatives: full of screaming children and (dare I say? yes I do -) obese, tattooed, drunk Queenslanders and their oversized utes; on weekends they have weddings and it feels like half of Mackay has popped over to get in the pool, frequently it is very loud; if your neighbours smoke on their balconies your room will be full of smoke.

Overall - I would say this is a good place for families with young kids, not for couples or business people. The wifi internet is done by a third party and costs more than Telstra 3G; you can hear kids screaming all day - and they have fitness classes in the swimming pool which involve loud speakers; on sundays they have live music whether you like it or not and it is very loud; most nights we had to shut our balcony door because smoke from our neighbours was coming into the room... i'm surprised it's legal to smoke so close to doors/windows these days... anyway - it's probably a good place to stay if you like smoking.

Room Tip: Upstairs ocean room views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This place has so much potential it is sad to see it lag behind, so far behind.

GOOD:
The location is magnificent, the views from the rooms are unparalleled (ocean view)

The pools are well maintained. Food is good. Great room service. Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. I've stayed here over 20 times over the years and never had a problem.

BAD:

The rooms are in desperate need of a renovation, even the so called renovated rooms need further renovations. So much more can be done it's sad to see this place not keep up with the times.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DoctorTTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinHeadsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. Thank you for noting all the good aspects of our beautiful resort. Yes the location is amazing and we do always pride ourselves on good customer service. We are very happy to hear that you have stayed with us so many times ~ we love looking after our returning guests.

We take on board your feedback about the rooms and are currently in talks with the owners to make a plan to refurbish them We are working very hard at trying to make this happen. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moranbah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here recently and what a waste of a nice getaway and money it is! The rooms are completely out dated, it might have been an ''ocean view'' but it wasn't anything special. The two women working the bar were rude, ignorant and couldn't of cared less. I watched on as they rolled their eyes when certain drinks were asked for by other customers. When it came to my family being served, one of the women just looked at us and pointed. No ''hello'' or ''what would you like?'' The only thing that this lady said to us was ''$28''. There's no excuses for bad service. Later on that night around 8.30pm we came back from going into town to find rubbish, bottles, cups, straws scattered around the eating areas and the tables all a mess. The bar was closed and it looked like staff had just walked out and left it all. The next morning we went down to have breakfast (during highlighted breakfast hours). We stood there waiting and waiting and waiting to be served. Nobody was insight. I was very frustrated as I had a hungry whinging child to feed. I walked around to the reception desk to give some money for breakfast so we could just go sit down and start eating and not a person in sight! We have lots of friends and family that we have now told to STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!! If I could give the overall rating a 0 I would have.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Krystal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinHeadsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Krystal

Thank you for your review. We are very sad to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Dolphin Heads Resort in October 2013. Since your stay last year we have had a major overhaul in staff thanks to honest feedback, provided by guests like yourself. We agree there are "no excuses" for bad service and since then we can confidently say that those staff members you mentioned no longer work at the resort. We are working continuously with our staff to provide a high customer-focused service that will ensure our guests enjoy their stay.

We would like the opportunity to make this right. If you could please contact the resort on 0749 549 666 and ask to speak to Ben, advising that you are Krystal and calling in regards to the Trip Adviser review, that would be great. We will be able to confirm your personal details from your stay then. We hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackay hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Attended a wedding. Arrived and we did not have enough beds for people. Was told "we are very busy". I had made the reservation 12 months ago. On the day of the wedding, we went shopping in the morning. Returned at 1.20pm to find our room not serviced. Again was advised very busy and what exactly did we want. Replied we had a wedding at 3pm and would like towels etc. I had booked another room as well and the people could not book in. Just as well they didn't want to get dressed in the room. Room not available till 2.45pm. Other guests where told to have a plan B to get ready for the wedding. Dolphin Heads you have a beautiful area. If you are so busy put on additional staff to assist. The wedding was beautiful. The management lets down the rest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinHeadsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. Thank you for noting all the good aspects of our beautiful resort. Yes the location is amazing and we do always pride ourselves on good customer service. We are very happy to hear that you have stayed with us so many times ~ we love looking after our returning guests.

We take on board your feedback about the rooms and are currently in talks with the owners to make a plan to refurbish them We are working very hard at trying to make this happen. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
8.2 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Shores Holiday Apartments
6.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#19 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seabreeze Hotel
Seabreeze Hotel
#25 of 34 in Mackay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Heads Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Heads Resort

Property: Dolphin Heads Resort
Address: 6 Beach Road | Dolphin Heads, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolphin Heads Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Dolphin Heads Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing