We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if I stayed in the same motel as those that gave this 5 stars”
Review of Shakespeare Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shakespeare Motel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not sure if I stayed in the same motel as those that gave this 5 stars”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This motel was outdated and definitely not a four star motel. The room and the air conditioner smelt mouldy and there was actual mould on the walls of the bathroom. As a previous reviewer mentioned however the bedding was clean and comfortable. For $185 it was extremely over priced. The food in the restaurant was good but also very overpriced. Service was good. Would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank _VivvyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
31
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a very outdated motel. When I booked I thought (seeing the photos on the website) that the rooms were modern and furnished with nice, clean looking furniture. That's surely not the case: old interiors with brick walls, old furniture and kitchenette and worn out carpets. My sofa had blood stains on one of the cushions. The sheets, bed and bathroom were clean at least, otherwise I would have left after seeing the room. I know this is a mining town but at $ 165/night this is just a rip off. I won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PipMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Once again, the food and accomodation is a winner at this motel.

After another recent stay, I ordered a well done rib eye steak with toppings of prawns and scallops with a side of mushroom sauce.

Not only was the steak to perfection, the accompanying sides were fantastic as well. I commented that I sent back a completely clean plate without any fat or gristle present in the steak at all (I can't eat beef fat) and I'm completely picky about it.

The service was up to its' usual impeccable standard and the room was spacious, quiet and well presented as it was last trip.

You certainly have my business in a town of many other variables - well done to all your staff Mike, we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: This motel is off Nebo Road and does not have trouble with road noise - a good alternative from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

On a recent trip home to see my family I stopped in Mackay along the way to break up the drive. I ended up at shakespeare international motel and was greeted at the front desk by a very happy Receptionist which was a nice change as good customer service is hard to come by these days! I stayed in a deluxe suite and the room was really clean and nicely presented, I had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant "Romeo and Juliets" and was pleasantly surprised at how amazing and well priced the meals were!! I will definitely be staying here next time i'm in Mackay and have recommended it to all of my friends and family!

Room Tip: The deluxe suite is really spacious,nice and great value for money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helathy_Traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My partner and I had intended on staying here for a night on the 18th of February and could not stay in our room for more than 5 minutes. The room smelt like bleach, was extremely outdated and damp. Not good value for money at all. One of the staff members (Toni) was extremely rude however Scott did try and accommodate us however it was obvious that he did not know how to handle complaints. We ended up leaving 5 minutes after checking in and getting our money back. (Which was extremely difficult thanks to Toni seeing we did not touch or use anything in the room) Was extremely disappointed would never recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this place all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Having stayed here before I will certainly be staying again. Helpful staff and an in house restaurant make this stay easy.
Good food (a T bone steak that someone can actually cook to order) and substantial serve sizes make this stay value for money in a mining community.
Not the cheapest motel in Mackay but on par with most others around, but have always had a good night sleep as it's away from the main road and easy to get to.
Many thanks Mike and staff, made a long day's driving tolerable.
See you again soon.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are an advantage so you don't have to carry luggage up the stairs, two level mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very good Motel that is not on the Highway. Good location and easy walk into city for restaurants. Near the Showgrounf and close to Canelands shopping centre. We were late for breakfast but they quickly provided a continental breakfast. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Front Office Manager at Shakespeare Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.7 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#11 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#21 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#9 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Motel

Property: Shakespeare Motel
Address: 309 Shakespeare St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shakespeare Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and centrally located, the Shakespeare Motel is an ideal choice for accommodation in Mackay. The Motel is 5 minutes from the CBD, with a modern restaurant and superior facilities. Service is our priority, and you'll find every staff member friendly and helpful, making you feel like you're at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shakespeare Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing