We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Shakespeare Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shakespeare Motel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very good Motel that is not on the Highway. Good location and easy walk into city for restaurants. Near the Showgrounf and close to Canelands shopping centre. We were late for breakfast but they quickly provided a continental breakfast. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Front Office Manager at Shakespeare Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
31
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very friendly staff, good location, rooms quite dated and in need of upgrade, a little noisy from adjacent busy road. Not good value for money however it appears that accommodation in Mackay is at a premium no matter what day of the week. The word 'International' is loosely used. Adequate accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocarinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Front Office Manager at Shakespeare Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your valuable review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We don't usually stay in motels due to the fact that the majority of people staying in them clatter around at all hours of the day and night regardless of the fact that other people may just be trying to sleep.
The Shakespeare International was different. From the moment I rang to enquire about accommodation, I was impressed. The member of staff I spoke with obviously enjoyed her job. She was helpful, polite and cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble.
Upon arrival, we were greeted with a smiley face, (not one of "oh, do I have to speak with you" type of face) from someone again, who enjoyed their job. Our checkin procedure was efficient and quick.
Our room was clean and tidy and homely. No, it wasn't as modern as some, but does this matter? No! It was clean and well kept even if the decor was a little old. Our only negative comment would be that due to its location, i.e. next to the kitchen, we encountered noises from the kitchen at the end of a night when taking out the rubbish and early in the morning when collecting ice from the fridges for breakfast.
All of the walkways were carpeted so no noise from passers-by which was a plus when staying in a motel.
The dining room was spacious, and the staff great especially our breakfast waiter who, after our 1st morning there, was ready to provide our requests from the previous day such as skimmed milk and vanilla yogurt.
The manager was very helpful and friendly too and so keen to be "on top" of everything including all maintenance as and when needed.
We would definitely consider staying here again, but we may just request a room a little further away from the kitchen next time.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the kitchen and dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISTechnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palms
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at the Shakespeare International in July, 2012. I found the staff extremely helpful and the room very clean (suite), although a bit dated. All accommodation in Mackay is very expensive at $160.00 per night for this room a bit top heavy compared to other destinations on the North Coast of Queensland. I did enjoy my stay and as said staff and mangement were wonderful and helpful. I had room service two nights and the meals from the restaurant were great (recommend the prawns and scallops in herbs and garlic - although a side dish were a meal in itself). The location was quite good and not as noisy as some other motels on Nebo road. There is undercover carpor for car (I had a hire car for 1 day) The only beef I had was that I asked for a late check out on my departure day for 11.30 am (as plane was leaving at 1.00 pm) which was okay the day before leaving, however on that day staff came to clean at 9.00 am (did not know about late check out) and then I was rung at 9.40 am and told I had to leave by check out time at 10.00 am (they did give me another 15 mins) as cleaning staff had to leave. I would stay here again, as close to my daughter. You still need to get a taxi to main shopping district from this location however as said great staff and spacious clean accommodation in the suite and restaurant meals were good. Having said that I had the scrambled eggs one morning delivered to room which arrived promptly but were the worst I have tasted in a long time - tasted like powdered ones and no taste. Overall enjoyed stay and as said would stay again.

Room Tip: Pick a suite upstairs - but you have to lug up your baggage upstairs - staff are helpful to carry fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxPacificPalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Qld
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here on a work trip, and my experience was positive. The corner room that I had was large and comfortable. It is not a new establishment (3 star), enjoyed the meals, the service was good, and the owner Michael knows how to do business. He is the epitome of efficiency and he would expect the same of his staff. Mini-bar in the room. Nice casual ambient drinks area before you have a meal and a small but adequate pool for a dip in the heat. Would have no hesitation in returning to the Shakespeare.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msqMackay_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Nice place to stay. We were here overnight, but could have easily spent more time here. Rooms were clean and comfortable. One of the few hotels in Mackay that caters for 'large' families - eg, 2 adults and 3 children. Would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed for two nights in a family room. We arrived in the evening & check-in was quick. All the staff we encountered during our stay were really friendly & helpful. Room was on the top floor. Furnishings are dated but really clean. Room had a main living area (sofa, table, chairs & kitchenette) which the kids beds were in, a huge bathroom & a separate bedroom. Lots of power outlets. Hubby was attending a course with three other workmates (all in their own rooms). They all ordered breakfast for 6am & it arrived right on time & hot for all of them. Even though the motel was very busy, we had a quiet sleep both nights. Comfy bed too. Overall, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.7 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#11 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#19 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#9 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Motel

Property: Shakespeare Motel
Address: 309 Shakespeare St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shakespeare Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and centrally located, the Shakespeare Motel is an ideal choice for accommodation in Mackay. The Motel is 5 minutes from the CBD, with a modern restaurant and superior facilities. Service is our priority, and you'll find every staff member friendly and helpful, making you feel like you're at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shakespeare Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing