We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Mid City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mid City Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

An excellent Inner City Motel- well run by a professional couple who were very friendly and helpful.

Good location convenient for good numerous restaurants and easy to find.

The Bathroom area was tired and suggest it was in dire need of replacement.

Swimming Pool was welcome respite from the humidity as the ambient temperature was as usual 30*C

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 102 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Appropriate amenity, good for an overnight-stop. It is located near the River and a few restaurants are in walking distance. We stayed there only for one night on our tour up to Cairns. Room was clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JFF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was our first time in Mackay and if you haven't been before, I would suggest this place as it is in THE best location. We didn't have a car so being located in town and walking distance to most things was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This motel is in a lovely location right next to the River. Ask for a room with a view. Very tired but comfortable enough. King room had a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. Bed was comfortable and reception lady was very polite. We walked along the boardwalk beside the motel to the restaurants at the base of the shopping centre. Pleasant walk even in the dark.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimleyCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Drastically in need of an update. Very basic rooms. Ants crawling all over my bathroom. No Wifi. Breakfast was good though, generous servings of bacon. Good location, short walk to centre of town. People at reception were nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yamharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Mackay is expensive so I expected to pay more than other areas. This was by far the most expensive place we stayed in .The room was dated and had enough beds to accommodate 5 people so it felt a bit big for 2 of us. The receptionist was more than helpful . It is conveniently situated near the walkway to a nice shopping centre and plenty of eateries.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I arrived at 10pm at night to find reception was closed. Okay, fair enough. Rang the doorbell and was rudely greeted with a 'do you know what time it is?' We were let in reluctantly. Turns out they thought we were going to arrive at 2pm even though we booked the place at 4pm... Ok, could have been more professional.

So we get to the room to find stained towels, broken cups, nothing in the fridge, soap with dirt all over it, nasty bathroom, thin blankets, doors that let mosquitoes and the draft in.

This place is truly the worst I've been in, in a first world country. Could have overlooked its flaws if the staff were nice, but not even this was true.

Oh by the way, if you want the internet password, don't call reception as instructed by the book, if it's after 9pm, the owner wants to sleep. I was hung up on.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lnfr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midcitymky1, Owner at Mid City Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I wish to respond to your review dated 17 July 2013.

Our office hours are 7am-9pm daily. There are provisions available for arrivals outside of those hours as noted on all booking sites.

Your reservation was made on line with an arrival time of 2pm. The mobile number provided was called 4 times from 8pm onwards, to clarify time of arrival. Unfortunately there was no reply.
By 9.30pm it was presumed you were not arriving.

If you felt you were rudely treated that is your personal opinion, but to ring after 10.30pm to obtain the internet password is a little inconsiderate.

With regard to the linen, this is professionally cleaned off site this is the first complaint of this nature.
The soap is in a sealed package I am unable to explain why there was dirt on it.
We pride ourselves of a high cleaning standard, our staff are very particular, if something has been over looked I apologise.


I wish you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
1.9 mi away
The Windmill Motel and Events Centre
2.7 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#9 of 34 in Mackay
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#25 of 34 in Mackay
205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 34 in Mackay
90 reviews
1 mi away
Coral Cay Resort
Coral Cay Resort
#18 of 34 in Mackay
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mid City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid City Motor Inn

Address: 2 Macalister St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range: $72 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mid City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mid City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mid City Motor Hotel Mackay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing