We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Mid City Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mid City Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Noosaville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I was recently in mackay on business and stayed at the motor inn, It is obvious that the bathroom had been recently renovated it was so warm and compfortable and a pleasure to stay there and will definatly be back!
The meals from the restaurant were fantastic thanks very much mid city for great service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
43
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The placed seemed clean and bed was comfortable.
It is a bit of a walk to the heart of town.
Light switches are a bit hard to find in the room and I found out I wasn't the only one with this problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago, and stayed here again recently after I left my unit in Mackay in preparation for leaving town for a new job.

It was among the best options for CBD accommodation a few years ago and it's still on my "go to" list. The Clarion's at the top if money is no object, but if it's a quick overnight involving business in the CBD that won't let me enjoy the Clarion's facilities or if I'm budget constrained, the Mid CIty is next on my list. Yes, even above the Mackay Grand Suites and the Quest, both of which leave me feeling like I'm staying in a fort. ;-)

Why do I like the Mid City, and why am I really surprised to see it ranked in the lower half of accommodation options in town? Spacious, clean rooms. Good management team. A nice clean pool AND the town man-made swimming lagoon a short walk away. Canelands, the region's largest shopping mall, less than 10 minutes walk away. Everything else in the CBD: no more than 10-15 minutes walk away. On the banks of the Pioneer River.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank PacNWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This would have to be the worst expereince I have ever had. The staff were rude and unhelpful, "Dining room" opens for 1 hour every night and room service ceases after 7pm! The room was so filthy, and I had to clean the bath before I could sit in it. At $200 per night, I do not expect to have to clean the bathroom! The motel caters very obviously for miners passing through and a great many of these were vomitting over the balcony outside my room. Will be ensuring no one else in our Organisation ends up in this hell hole.

Room Tip: Just stay clear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie-maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Qld
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Being in Mackay on business I had spent 1 night at the Mackay International Hotel down the road which had been booked by my head office, it was such a hell hole I asked to be moved.. That place is not on trip advisor, but I would recommend no one ever ever goes there, it must be 50 years old and the rooms reflect that, really ferral, especially for a woman on her own, I was not game to sleep under the sheets. I was woken at 4am to the sound of the rubbish collectors, and got out of there as quickly as I could, not staying for the breakfast.
Thank goodness there was the 'luxury' suite available at the Mid City. One room had a tv, small fridge, lounge, single bed and table and chairs, and the bedroom was large with a separate toilet and shower, and another tv. The bed was comfortable. Although obviously a little older it was spotlessly clean, the air conditioners worked well and there was no unpleasant smells. It was quiet and only a short walk along the river to Canelands shopping centre. My room No. 14 was down the end near the river, although no view it was quiet with no through traffic. Carol and Neil were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Qld
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Clean comfortable rooms that are far from new but they are clean. Pity the motel wasn't built to face the beautiful pioneer river it's side on. Although you can enjoy the views if you open the door or go sit on one of the benches that are very close by. Wonderful Caneland Central Shopping Centre just an easy and picturesque minutes walk away. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msqMackay_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This must be one of the first hotels in Mackay! Unlike one of the previous reviews, my room was very clean but very basic and you feel a bit 'lost in the sixties'. I think the only things that had been upgraded in the room were the television (flat screen) and the bed, which was very comfortable.The tiny and rather old bar fridge had been moved into the old television cavity to make use of the space which seemed like an odd thing to do!.

If you need a basic and central place to stay this will be OK but be careful of the pricing. I paid $190 for one night because I was desperate for accommodation. If you are paying this much and can get accommodation else where I suggest you do! Otherwise if you get a good price you will have a clean central location - but don't expect too much!

Room Tip: The river runs along one end of the motor inn. Maybe try for a room at that end. My room was at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtonsLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#8 of 34 in Mackay
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#21 of 34 in Mackay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
200 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mid City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid City Motor Inn

Property: Mid City Motor Inn
Address: 2 Macalister St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mid City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mid City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mid City Motor Hotel Mackay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing