We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location - shame it has been neglected”
Review of Eungella Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eungella Chalet
Ranked #13 of 18 Mackay B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We recently stayed in a cabin at Eungella Chalet. The location could not be faulted, being at the top of the range road. The chalet bar had fabulous views over the Pioneer Valley, and the hang glider launching pad. There were National Park walks beginning right next door. It was also central for a driving tour of the Eungella district.
The Cabins were comfortable enough, but things had been allowed to run down. As an example, there was an electric frypan - but the cord was in an extremely poor condition and I would not have felt comfortable using it. There was a radio alarm clock, but since the switch was broken it was unusable. The cabin was generally clean, although the outdoor furniture had not been wiped down in quite a while; however, the bed was comfortable and clean, and that is the main issue in rented accommodation.
The accommodation was expensive for its type, and perhaps we expected more for this reason.
We were definitely paying for location. There is limited accommodation at Eungella, and the law of supply and demand applies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Eungella Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Go for the view but eat before you get there, we had chicken soup which tasted like it was straight out of the can with some extra chicken added. Also watery tasteless pumpkin soup at a cost of $13. The saving item were the wedges with sour cream and sweet chilli sauce.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Harperfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently had an overnight stay in the hotel. It was a lovely experience with spectacular views from our window. The hotel is best appreciated when seen in the context of its interesting history. My husband has fond memories of staying there as a child in the 1950s. It is not 5 star and its rates are in keeping with its modest facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaJon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The chalet isn't 5 star, but the rooms are acceptable they are older and a bit musty, but we weren't expecting much more. We found the staff friendly and the food on the hotel was good pub food. The location and views were great

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judeandtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Unfortunately the view didn't make up for the cabin accommodation. I asked for air-conditioning and got the only cabin that didn't. We were the only people staying in the cabins. Payed way too much for a mouldy cabin that hasn't been cared for like it should. The view is amazing but it was really sad that the place isn't what it could be. A makeover would do is place wonders...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed in an upstairs room with a stunning view of the valley which was clean and tastefully decorated. We had an enjoyable dinner and a drive to Broken River to see the platypuses! The outside of the building and the pool area needs a good facelift but who cares really when you can relax and have a drink under the trees looking at that spectacular valley view! Bliss!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Ljh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The chalet itself is a little worse for wear from the outside but lovely on the inside. Seating is available either outdoors or indoors around a beautiful old fireplace. We stayed in a hotel style room and were lucky to have the full view over the valley (room 15B). The room was clean, nicely styled and spacious. The bathroom was also really nice & the towels fluffy. We didn't sleep too well due to mosquitoes which must have snuck in under the door but there wasn't much we could do about that other than chase them around the room.
We had scones with jam and cream on our first afternoon and chose to sit outside enjoying the sunlight and the live performer playing renditions of popular 70's and 80's hits. The scones were light and crumbly and tasted divine. We were a little disappointed that the cream came out of a can but you can't have everything. It was a pleasant stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PirateManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackay
2.5 mi away
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
45.3 mi away
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
#1 of 1 in Blacks Beach
40 reviews
45.8 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 mi away
Central Tourist Park
Central Tourist Park
#2 of 2 in North Mackay
27 reviews
44.5 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
217 reviews
42.5 mi away
Motel Northview
Motel Northview
#1 of 2 in North Mackay
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eungella Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eungella Chalet

Address: Dalrymple Heights, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mackay
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Eungella Chalet Hotel Mackay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing