We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pioneer Villa Motel
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Reviewed April 28, 2014

During my 5 days in Mackay on Business, I stayed at this Motel. It was Great. After my long trip to Mackay and long days working, it was a great place to come back to, for rest and relaxation, so quiet and restful.
> Loads of hot water in the Shower, great water pressure.
> My room was spotlessly clean.
> The Staff were very helpful.
> The bed was very comfortable.
> The Air conditioning was perfect.
> Very Hospitable manager (A sincerely lovely man, he really cared about our comfort)
> Great Wifi
> The pool was clean and the water does not sting your eyes like some places I have stayed.

The whole place has a welcoming, homey feel to it. I really enjoyed my stay. And next time I am in Mackay for work and play, I will definitely stay there again. And I completely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Manager at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Staying away from home for extended periods is often onerous, especially for business travellers who work all day and spend half the night doing computer work. We do ask guests at Pioneer Villa Motel to tell us if they need anything extra as sometimes they may have forgotten their phone charger or extension cord. We are always happy to help where we can, thank you for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

I can't speak for the rooms themselves as due to the incompetence of Virgin Blue we never made it, however the very kind manager didn't charge us for the room, even though we weren't able to alert him we weren't coming until the morning AFTER our booking. I had family that stayed here and they had no complaints.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank SydneyJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

We are not in the business of taking money for rooms that are not occupied if there are exceptional circumstances. This gentleman was travelling to a funeral so we had emphaty for him. Pioneer Villa Motel does have a 48 hour cancellation policy but unlike many of the big chains who have a rigid no refund policy, we do have consideration for others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The owner was very welcoming and went beyond the norm to help us feel comfortable. Dinner was well received by all. Slept very well.
The room we were in needs some updating as it was looking very shabby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mummygirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

More than half the rooms have been renovated, three new rooms have been added within the past few months, and the remainder will be refurbished with a modern bright decor. There is a saying that "everything old will be new again" but it takes time to complete everything.... but it is happening! All the rooms are clean with new beds and televisions so they are acceptable and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I know this site is usually only for those who have stayed at a certain motel. But I had to leave a note. Because this experience made me smile and lifted my day.

The morning I made my booking, I had called a number of Mackay motels. As I am in need of accommodation during my business trip. I am old school, I prefer making bookings etc over the phone rather than online. The staff of the other Motels I called, must have been having a bad day. They were impatient and I felt like I was being a pain by calling and directed me to booking.com etc. Also the room rates, of some of the other Motels in Mackay that were on the booking.com site were total fiction.
So after speaking to the last 5 Motel staff of other establishments, I had had enough.

I got a completely different response from Daryl from the Pioneer Motel, He was a pleasure to talk too. The lovely and friendly service I received on the phone when I was making my booking, really lifted my day and made me smile. He was even willing to give me directions, tell me what other services are located near the motel and gave me information about the traveling distance for my trip. He was Lovely.
So many businesses drop the ball these days with their customer service. I have found the staff of many different businesses a disgrace, I really don't know how they keep their jobs.
Old fashioned manners have taken a back seat. And thats sad.

Its a Breath of Fresh air to deal with someone like Daryl. So be assured those who are tired of grumpy and rude staff etc from the different businesses we all have to deal with, there is hope, because "Old fashioned manners and service are alive and well at the Pioneer Villa Motel" in Mackay. I am really looking forward to my stay. And meeting Daryl. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Blush ....we do get some wonderful guests and good service is a right, not an expectation, for those of us from the old school. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have stayed here on two occasions and have found the the staff amazing. On the last occasion I arrived at 7 am for that night and was able t.o immediately check in. Darryl and Mal provide amazing customer service with a smile. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with new very comfortable beds, austar t.v and not a lot of noise from the main road. The restuarant provides quality food at good prices.
Having worked in motels for over 5 yrs I have found the pioneer villas to be one of the best motels around.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydgal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

We have a policy at Pioneer Villa Motel to check in guests as early as possible, provided that the room is available and has been fully serviced and cleaned. Many travellers are weary when they reach Mackay so it is great for them to be able to put their feet up, have a cup of tea or coffee and a bikkie, and relax. We also provide 24 hour check in as sometimes travellers are delayed and the last thing they need to worry about is whether they will be able to check in to their motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed at Pioneer Villa Motel on 2 occasions when travelling up and back the Qld coastline.
On the first occasion things were in quite a state and needing repair as per guest comments below.

I have stayed here again in March and things are very different for good reasons. The old sign has been replaced, the pool fence has been replaced. The overall service was excellent and talking with other guests in the restaurant they were all happy with their meals and service.

The owner Daryl has taken over the management again and he is a real people person and will go over and above what most managers or people will do to ensure guest satisfaction.

The beds and sleeping conditions were fine and so was the air cond and fridge. Some rooms have been refurbished with new cabinetwork.

Talking to various guests who all complimented the chef on the Chicken Kievs saying that it was the better and far cheaper than what they have paid for a meal in most other establishments. I enjoyed the fish and got 2 pieces of pan seared Sweetlip reef fish. I heard another guest say the steak and pepper sauce was great to.

I understand under former management the restaurant was often closed and regular maintenance was not being undertaken. It looked like things have changed considerably.

I would recommend this place as good value, good central Mackay location and great service.
Thank you Daryl and team for looking after me very well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thanks for the kind comments and we have made significant changes since removing the previous managers. We operate 24 hour check in and give priority to a personalised service. It is a pleasure to look after our guests and we value them highly. New pool fencing and signage gives us a new profile in line with the improved levels of service. Hope to see you again and thanks for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

needs upgrading, one air con which did not have any effect on the 2nd bedroom, for that we had a pedestal fan that didn't work.
breakfast was terrible, didn't get what we ordered, restaurant aircon got turned on when we sat down so we sweated thru the meal.
bathroom in need of help

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank townsvillemiss65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Townsvillemiss, I apologise that you were not satisfied with you stay at Pioneer Villa Motel, it is my hope and intention for all guests to be completely satisfied based on the value of the rate they are paying for the service and condition of the motel.
Since you have not stated when your stay was I can only assume it was before we have started work on repairing many items that have been overlooked by onsite management.
Had we been advised during your stay we could have supplied another fan and supplied what you in fact wanted for breakfast.
I am the owner and now back on site to bring the motel back up to the acceptable 3.5 star rating standard. While we have always been undertaking various maintenance and room upgrades of varying degrees we are currently improving many aspects of the motel to improve overall guest satisfaction. Obviously, being the owner, I will do all I can to make sure my guests are happy and catered for in whatever way possible. One guest recently reviewed on another site how great it was to be let into his room after he had locked himself out in the middle of the night with a smile.
We have always been known for good and fair value for what we offer and good meals but I am taking it to the next level, taking care of several things that have been let run down by former management.
We look forward to your next visit and staying with us again here at Pioneer Villa Motel Mackay. Thanks again from our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.7 mi away
Paradise Lodge Motel
Paradise Lodge Motel
#11 of 34 in Mackay
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 34 in Mackay
90 reviews
2 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#13 of 34 in Mackay
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cool Palms Motel
Cool Palms Motel
#26 of 34 in Mackay
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reef Resort Mackay
Reef Resort Mackay
#32 of 34 in Mackay
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Villa Motel

Address: 30 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range: $51 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pioneer Villa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new Management, all rooms have been upgraded, and feature brand new beds, and bedding, Digital TV and new split system air-conditioning. Book here now. Pioneer Villa is a small motel with great personal service. Our motel is very clean and comfortable with a large in-ground pool w/slide and on-site restaurant & bar. We also offer free WiFi, off street undercover parking and Foxtel sport & movies. Conveniently located Pioneer Villa Motel is on Nebo Rd 8 minutes from Mackay airport and 15 minutes walk from the City heart - well positioned for business or leisure! Mackay Bowls club across the road, great spot for weekend tournaments. We pride ourselves on the service we offer guests, both business and leisure and like to 'go the extra mile'. Our restaurant offers scrumptious hearty meals that will leave you feeling happy and full. Restaurant open for breakfast & dinner Mon - Thurs night. Room service at other times by arrangement. 24 Hour personal check in. Heavy vehicle parking available in side street Bagley St Cnr & Nebo Rd Come and visit us today in Mackay Pioneer Villa Motel and let us look after you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Pioneer Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Villa Hotel Mackay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing