We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a little love”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pioneer Villa Motel
Ranked #34 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pretty basic and needs a little love and attention. Some of the furnishings were broken and it wasn't a very attractive room. The bathroom was functional and clean though and the hotel was very central to most places you would want to go to in Mackay.

We booked it while it was on special so was very affordable, price reflected the facility though and wouldn't pay any more. We were just looking for somewhere cheap on a fly-in visit to Mackay so this suited us. I'd be happy to go back again if we were able to get a similar deal.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lyriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thanks you Kylie for taking the time to review. We are under new management, I am the owner and now back on site to bring the motel back up to the acceptable 3.5 star rating standard. While we have always been undertaking various maintenance and room upgrades of varying degrees we are currently improving many aspects of the motel to improve overall guest satisfaction. Obviously, being the owner, I will do all I can to make sure my guests are happy and catered for in whatever way possible. One guest recently reviewed on another site how great it was to be let into his room after he had locked himself out in the middle of the night with a smile.
We have always been known for good and fair value for what we offer and good meals but I am taking it to the next level, taking care of several things that have been let run down by former management.
We look forward to your next visit and staying with us again here at Pioneer Villa Motel Mackay. Thanks again from our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 62 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked the Pioneer Villa at short notice as we needed a stop en route to Airlie Beach. We arrived too late to have a meal in the Pioneer Villa but it is opposite a Kentucky Fried Chicken that was still open. It is one of a number of motels on the busy Nebo Road. it is set back enough off the road so that it is quiet. The motel has seen better days ( once upon a time the lights over the beds worked and the shower units were fresh and unworn) and at the beginning I thought the accommodation was basic but clean. The beds were comfortable, the bed linen clean, there was plenty of warm water and the wherewithal for a cup of coffee or tea was provided. However when we were leaving I looked under the beds like I always do to make sure we left nothing behind and the floor was really dirty so no, it wasn't basic but clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visittyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review. We took not of your comments about cleanliness under the beads and have since replaced with new cleaning staff. We have also cleaned all the irons. Of course it is an ongoing cleaning and maintenance schedule that has to be maintained to maintain a decent standard. Thank you for stating the fact that the rooms are off the road and not noisy as it is a busy road. Also thank you for commenting on the good beds, they are all new. We are in a great locations handy to everything and if you arrive late like you did there are fast food places close by.
Several of the rooms have been upgraded since your visit and we are currently replacing signage and pool fence so there is always work to be done on an older motel. We do offer good value compared with other 3.5 star motels in Mackay. Thank you from the Team @ Pioneer Villa Mackay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rooms are old badly in need of makeover, poor lighting, internet slower than dial up, AC old noisy in the wall, Bathroom old Taps dripping small shower. Meal was just edible and over priced. It is clean & staff friendly.

Note to ones self arrive in Mackay with enough time and energy to inspect rooms, no under the Vacancy sign was out!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bundy_Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review. We do accept some of the criticisms you have mentioned in your review. We have replaced all air conditions with new quiet split system units. Usually we get great reviews on our meals and service so we must of had a bad night in the kitchen that night if you were not pleased. Several maintenance items have fallen behind the repair schedule under former management and this is being attended to now as I have moved back on site to bring the acceptable standard back to the motel. Several of the rooms have been upgraded since your visit and we are currently replacing signage and pool fence so there is always work to be done on an older motel. We do offer good value compared with other 3.5 star motels in Mackay. Thank you from the Team @ Pioneer Villa Motel Mackay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It is a shame that the rooms are not as pleasant as the management and staff. Really getting to the stage of being and looking run down and is in urgent need for a refurb. Will need a makeover to be brought up to match other accommodation in Mackay.

On the other hand the management and staff were very helpful, friendly, served up very good meals and appreciated my patronage.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi Mike, we have to agree with your review. We do go out of our way in regard to service and we have an upgrade in schedule for the rooms. Several of the rooms have been upgraded since your visit and we are currently replacing signage and pool fence so there is always work to be done on an older motel. We do offer good value compared with other 3.5 star motels in Mackay. Especially our weekend special rates. Check them out on our website. Thank you from the Team @ Pioneer Villa Mackay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good, cheap, clean accommodation. Cost $135/night for queen room. Rooms are large. Heaps of hot water. Quick and speedy check in and out. Friendly staff. Heaps of off road parking. Even though it was on the main highway, road noise could not be heard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Manager at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for the very fair review. We hope you are still enjoying your travels. We do offer good value and service. With the rooms set back off the main road to try and limit road noise. Thanks again for the great review. From the Team @ Pioneer Villa Motel Mackay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are old, smelly and in desperate need of a refurb. The owners were very pleasant on check in and check out. Accommodation in Mackay can be hard to come by, but I would look elsewhere and book here as a last resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesColgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi James, we appreciate your review. We do go out of our way in regard to service and we have an upgrade in schedule for the rooms. We have a rigid cleaning schedule and try to air out the rooms as well. Several of the rooms have been upgraded since your visit and we are currently replacing signage and pool fence so there is always work to be done on an older motel. We do offer good value compared with other 3.5 star motels in Mackay. Thank you from the Team @ Pioneer Villa Mackay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very friendly management that go out of their way to look after you and want you to come back when you are in Mackay. Rooms may be rated as some as being "tired"- however, the beds are great quality and a good nights sleep is assured. Steaks are great Nd you are always made to feel welcome and you feel that your patronage is appreciated - sadly lacking in Mackay accommodation premises as over the years they have taken too much for granted with company bookings for their normally arrogant personnel who could not care. Repeat business and referrals are the best advert - I have, and will continue to recommend the Pioneer Villa for continuity of a pleasurable stay - when you are away from home it is nice to have as any as your home comforts catered for - the Pioneer Villa does it every time!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Manager at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for the positive review and we appreciate your comments. We do try and make whatever effort we can to make your (all guest) stays enjoyable. We are attending to several areas that require maintenance so we look forward to your next visit and staying with us again. Here at Pioneer Villa Motel Mackay we do offer value room and meals. Thank you once again. From the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.2 mi away
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 34 in Mackay
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#12 of 34 in Mackay
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Lodge Motel
Paradise Lodge Motel
#10 of 34 in Mackay
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#16 of 34 in Mackay
135 reviews
2 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alara Motor Inn
Alara Motor Inn
#19 of 34 in Mackay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Villa Motel

Address: 30 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range: $49 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pioneer Villa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new Management, all rooms have been upgraded, and feature brand new beds, and bedding, Digital TV and new split system air-conditioning. Book here now. Pioneer Villa is a small motel with great personal service. Our motel is very clean and comfortable with a large in-ground pool w/slide and on-site restaurant & bar. We also offer free WiFi, off street undercover parking and Foxtel sport & movies. Conveniently located Pioneer Villa Motel is on Nebo Rd 8 minutes from Mackay airport and 15 minutes walk from the City heart - well positioned for business or leisure! Mackay Bowls club across the road, great spot for weekend tournaments. We pride ourselves on the service we offer guests, both business and leisure and like to 'go the extra mile'. Our restaurant offers scrumptious hearty meals that will leave you feeling happy and full. Restaurant open for breakfast & dinner Mon - Thurs night. Room service at other times by arrangement. 24 Hour personal check in. Heavy vehicle parking available in side street Bagley St Cnr & Nebo Rd Come and visit us today in Mackay Pioneer Villa Motel and let us look after you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Pioneer Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Villa Hotel Mackay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing