We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pioneer Villa Motel
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rooms are old badly in need of makeover, poor lighting, internet slower than dial up, AC old noisy in the wall, Bathroom old Taps dripping small shower. Meal was just edible and over priced. It is clean & staff friendly.

Note to ones self arrive in Mackay with enough time and energy to inspect rooms, no under the Vacancy sign was out!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bundy_Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review. We do accept some of the criticisms you have mentioned in your review. We have replaced all air conditions with new quiet split system units. Usually we get great reviews on our meals and service so we must of had a bad night in the kitchen that night if you were not pleased. Several maintenance items have fallen behind the repair schedule under former management and this is being attended to now as I have moved back on site to bring the acceptable standard back to the motel. Several of the rooms have been upgraded since your visit and we are currently replacing signage and pool fence so there is always work to be done on an older motel. We do offer good value compared with other 3.5 star motels in Mackay. Thank you from the Team @ Pioneer Villa Motel Mackay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
9
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

It is a shame that the rooms are not as pleasant as the management and staff. Really getting to the stage of being and looking run down and is in urgent need for a refurb. Will need a makeover to be brought up to match other accommodation in Mackay.

On the other hand the management and staff were very helpful, friendly, served up very good meals and appreciated my patronage.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Mike, we have to agree with your review. We do go out of our way in regard to service and we have an upgrade in schedule for the rooms. Several of the rooms have been upgraded since your visit and we are currently replacing signage and pool fence so there is always work to be done on an older motel. We do offer good value compared with other 3.5 star motels in Mackay. Especially our weekend special rates. Check them out on our website. Thank you from the Team @ Pioneer Villa Mackay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good, cheap, clean accommodation. Cost $135/night for queen room. Rooms are large. Heaps of hot water. Quick and speedy check in and out. Friendly staff. Heaps of off road parking. Even though it was on the main highway, road noise could not be heard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Manager at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for the very fair review. We hope you are still enjoying your travels. We do offer good value and service. With the rooms set back off the main road to try and limit road noise. Thanks again for the great review. From the Team @ Pioneer Villa Motel Mackay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are old, smelly and in desperate need of a refurb. The owners were very pleasant on check in and check out. Accommodation in Mackay can be hard to come by, but I would look elsewhere and book here as a last resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesColgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi James, we appreciate your review. We do go out of our way in regard to service and we have an upgrade in schedule for the rooms. We have a rigid cleaning schedule and try to air out the rooms as well. Several of the rooms have been upgraded since your visit and we are currently replacing signage and pool fence so there is always work to be done on an older motel. We do offer good value compared with other 3.5 star motels in Mackay. Thank you from the Team @ Pioneer Villa Mackay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly management that go out of their way to look after you and want you to come back when you are in Mackay. Rooms may be rated as some as being "tired"- however, the beds are great quality and a good nights sleep is assured. Steaks are great Nd you are always made to feel welcome and you feel that your patronage is appreciated - sadly lacking in Mackay accommodation premises as over the years they have taken too much for granted with company bookings for their normally arrogant personnel who could not care. Repeat business and referrals are the best advert - I have, and will continue to recommend the Pioneer Villa for continuity of a pleasurable stay - when you are away from home it is nice to have as any as your home comforts catered for - the Pioneer Villa does it every time!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Manager at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for the positive review and we appreciate your comments. We do try and make whatever effort we can to make your (all guest) stays enjoyable. We are attending to several areas that require maintenance so we look forward to your next visit and staying with us again. Here at Pioneer Villa Motel Mackay we do offer value room and meals. Thank you once again. From the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moranbah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is good for families that need larger rooms.
We had a twin share room and there was plenty of room to move around as well as a good amount of space between the beds.
Will deffently stay again and make use of the pool.
Service was friendly and easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl W, Manager at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for the positive review and we appreciate your comments. Here at Pioneer Villa Motel Mackay we do offer value room and meals. Thank you once again. From the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Good accommodation in Mackay is difficult at the last minute because of the large number of fly-in/fly-out miners.

This motel was the best of what was available at last minute when I needed to visit Mackay. It was basic and needed a good update. The shower / toilet was old well worn but relatively clean. However, in saying that, the bed was acceptable and essentially it was a place for me to sleep.

On the flip-side, the food at the restaurant was great. The room was packed with other guests and the atmosphere was quite jovial. People were chatting together and between tables. Unfortunately, some guests kept partying late into the night but as my room was the farthest from the pool and the noise, I did not hear a things.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConsultantDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.2 mi away
Alara Motor Inn
Alara Motor Inn
#20 of 34 in Mackay
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
#18 of 34 in Mackay
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Paradise Lodge Motel
Paradise Lodge Motel
#10 of 34 in Mackay
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cool Palms Motel
Cool Palms Motel
#26 of 34 in Mackay
40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mackay Motor Inn
Mackay Motor Inn
#23 of 34 in Mackay
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Villa Motel

Property: Pioneer Villa Motel
Address: 30 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pioneer Villa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new Management, all rooms have been upgraded, and feature brand new beds, and bedding, Digital TV and new split system air-conditioning. Book here now. Pioneer Villa is a small motel with great personal service. Our motel is very clean and comfortable with a large in-ground pool w/slide and on-site restaurant & bar. We also offer free WiFi, off street undercover parking and Foxtel sport & movies. Conveniently located Pioneer Villa Motel is on Nebo Rd 8 minutes from Mackay airport and 15 minutes walk from the City heart - well positioned for business or leisure! Mackay Bowls club across the road, great spot for weekend tournaments. We pride ourselves on the service we offer guests, both business and leisure and like to 'go the extra mile'. Our restaurant offers scrumptious hearty meals that will leave you feeling happy and full. Restaurant open for breakfast & dinner Mon - Thurs night. Room service at other times by arrangement. 24 Hour personal check in. Heavy vehicle parking available in side street Bagley St Cnr & Nebo Rd Come and visit us today in Mackay Pioneer Villa Motel and let us look after you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pioneer Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Villa Hotel Mackay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing