We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came to the restaurant only. Not stayed at hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamrock Gardens Motel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beer was warm, food was cold and after a long wait for the food the meals came out wrong so another long wait. Taste of the food was pretty ordinary too and lady behind bar was rude. Don't come here for a feed. It's awful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank dan801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Shamrock Gardens Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 177 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went with friends to have a meal tonight.

Food 2/5
Service. 2/5

Very old, requires Re vamp.
Leaking roof.
Toilets dirty.
Staff serving food, English required revamp also.
Best part of night the company.

The owners need to take a long look at this, staff probably poorly paid, no upkeep on building. Fault ask yourself?

Mary Howard.

Room Tip: Rated on eating only.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ststbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Nice new tv in the room but does take attention away from the fact that they have many maintenance issues to address in the room. Marks on the walls that have been patched but not painted! Further, they have just thrown the tv on the old stand instead of spending 75 bucks and buying a new wall mount! Further the bed really needs to be replaced. Either Old mattress or very cheap one! The room was clean but some attention to detail and comfort would be good for 170 a night. Meals good in the ajoining pub!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here as an overnight stop over and chose this place because of the adjoining tavern. The rooms were basic and seemed clean. Was ok to use as a place to sleep but not worth the $170 a night price tag.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gypsy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Used this to overnight, and got last room. Mackay is a boom town, and most quality hotels are presently overpriced or booked out with contractors. This motel has been set up for that reason, with laundry facilities in room, and adjoining Shamrock Hotel (plus good eatery) connected by a gate. Meals/drinks can be charged back to your room. I found the room to be clean, but had a strange smell, which I think was used to mask a previous tenant who smoked. There were signs placed through the facility outlining rules for staying (Fines for smoking near or in rooms, extra charges for leaving dirty dishes, etc). This was a good location for extended business stays, but as a romantic overnighter, I will be trying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dutto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
217 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#8 of 34 in Mackay
222 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
126 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
2.5 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Gardens Motel

Address: 48 Donaldson St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range: $73 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shamrock Gardens Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shamrock Gardens Motel is your home-away-from-home... We like to provide you with all the comforts you'd expect from your home-away-from-home. When in Mackay, stay with us at the Shamrock Gardens Motel. You'll love the comfortable new beds, modern furnishings and the private balcony in the Shamrock's well-appointed units. In fact we feel sure you will love everything about your stay at the Shamrock Gardens Motel. We offer disabled facilities, non-smoking rooms, and access to landscaped gardens, pool and gazebo...and of course, right next door is everything the Shamrock Hotel has to offer. Just a short drive from the airport, the Shamrock Hotel is a multi-purpose destination venue with extensive bar, dining, gaming, sports bar and function facilities aimed at providing you with comfort, convenience and enjoyment throughout your stay. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, choose the Shamrock Gardens Motel and take full advantage of the great facilities on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shamrock Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing