We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”

George's Paragon Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1,248 of 2,599 Restaurants in Gold Coast
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Eating at George's Paragon used to be an experience of class. Brilliant, attentive waitstaff, linen clothes, fine china and beautiful cutlery all in a delightful blue and white restaurant overlooking a marina. Oh, and the food was delicious. Everything is still in place - except the friendly waitstaff and the delicious food. Both now hover just above average.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GCBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
349 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely view, good service”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a delicious dinner at George's restaurant with some friends. The location is good and the view lovely. All our meals were fresh and delicious and we will definitely be be back. Service was good too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller77722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Every time I visit the coast I keep going back to George's as I always think it's overrated and I'm desperate to be proved wrong, but each time there's always something else that stops me from falling in love with the place.

This time it was a particularly arrogant waiter who seemed to look down his nose at us from the moment I asked for iced tap water instead of the overpriced mineral water.

Sure the food was good, my sons calamari was outstanding and the baramundi was cooked to perfection, my baruti was reasonable though the highlight was the waiter tossing the bug shells into the marina for the fish to devour.

I couldn't put people off this place, it's a great setting and in general the food is good, it could be that we were one of a small number of people who ate early (which comes with a 50% discount on certain dishes), maybe the waiting staff see value seekers as lower class people.

Quality was there, quantity less so, service not. Therefore a disappointing evening

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank UK2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food - Wooden staff”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We recently enjoyed a very tasty lunch at Georges at Sanctuary Cove. We stopped at Sanctuary Cove as part of a Sea World Cruise and decided to try the lunch special menu and we wernt disappointed (with the food that is). The food was fresh and absolutely delicious and such great value. I agree with other reviews that the waiting staff were attentive but in my opinion were a little "over attentive" at times fussing about placing napkins over laps etc. Also the 'meeter and greeter' on the front desk appeared slightly officicious and not at all welcoming - it was only the enticement of half price seafood that really attracted us. Perhaps we just encountered a couple of not so friendly staff members on this occasion, but to me dining is not just about the food, so although the food was excellent I wouldnt make a return visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacstar351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, well priced, speedy service. The souvlaki was excellent. We had the crayfish, octopus and snapper. All very good. The atmosphere is pleasing with all the Greek paintings and decor. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Sean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Paragon Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to George's Paragon Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing